We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow

56 Berkeley Street | Charing Cross, Glasgow G3 7DS, Scotland
Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow
Add Your Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    0
    1
    44
See reviews for
2
9
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The people who invited me to visit Scotland and promised me the support to stay in Glasgow for few months didn't show up so I've had the serious problem to find a good place to stay when I've arrived in Glasgow. I've spent all the day searching for some serious, clean and - of course - not expensive hotel /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I visted glasgow and was sceptical about staying in hostels, however this was a an excellent hostel, with friendly staff, very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The recepcionist and his boss are always drunk and drug. I can´t believed the authorities alowed this dangerous place, I went alone, and I practically have to scape from that horrible place, someone advice me to do it. Please don´t go, it´s really dangerous. I have to go to the police and put my statement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
seejLaPalma, Guest Relations Manager at Globetrotters Hostel Glasgow, responded to this review

As you appear to be one of agroup of reviewers who joined tripadvisor to write just one review which is so skewed ,we are sorry but cant really believe this is genuine. More 

istanbul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I had to stay over here just because the hostel we asked for a place didn't have any and guided us here. There were sigarette butts and platic bags behind the sofa in the room that we slept. So, I had even doubts if they had changed the bed linens. I nevers used the shower or toilets because they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

this hostel is one of the worst one ever: dirty, dirty, dirty, delapidated ... more over, the boss never paye his staff please avoid it !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cascais
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Adorei.. A simpatia do dono foi realmente espectacular, e sem duvida alguma tenciono voltar. 'E um lar quentinho e muito acolhedor.. Perto do centro, it couldnt be better!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bad Salzuflen, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

worst accommodation ever booked, very filthy, disgusting shower rooms, dirty linen, no staff around when needed. sorry, I wouldn't recommend it at all

Was this review helpful? Yes
chester
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

As we registered trays of sherry and port came round with mince meat pies and shortbread ,a special welcoming touch for hogmonay ,The staff had arranged our new years eve dinner {we were 28} with a special discount and the spectacle of enjoying Newyear in Glasgow just got better an better.Glasgow is the only city in Scotland to have both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

My friend and me had to stay a night in Glasgow in September 08 on the way. We reserved via phone beds in the cheapest (12bed) dorm, but when we arrived at the appointed time (22 o'clock) the girl at the "reception" (which looked more than a dingy internet cafe) pointed out that there were only more expensive beds left.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
on the road
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

During my time traveling I have surely seen my fair share of dodgy dives; this one, however, tops the list. Staff appeared to be constantly drunk or stoned, which is admittedly understandable if you consider the surroundings. Sheets were stained, the mattresses infested with bed bugs, the carpets in the restrooms soiled, the kitchen sticky and highly odorous, the showers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question