We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kelvingrove Hotel

944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelvingrove Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    187
    160
    75
    32
    15
See reviews for
74
154
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (469)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms need updating and a good clean! Hairs on and in the bed and a shower that didn't work properly! No double bed given, just two singles! The rooms are very small with a bathroom that did not lock and you can hear EVERYTHING around the hotel- including all reception conversations in our room! Not worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly we have checked the original booking that was made and this was for twin room, not a double and on the details we received from Expedia it clearly stated 2 single beds which was allocated to you. The room you were in has been in constant use for the last 3 months and no other guest has mentioned a... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our twin room was very small (not enough room to open two suitcases), the floor squeaked very badly, the cleaning was variable, the bathroom tiny and, overall it did not live up to expectations set by the generally positive Trip Advisor reviews. It didn't help that the room was in the basement. However, the hotel location is good, with plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review, regarding the comment that the room was too small to open 2 suitcases, we are at a loss to understand this, the room you were in has a walk in wardrobe which is quite deep and more than capable of holding 2 suitcases, there is enough vacant floor space to have them in the body... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish we were looked after by staff at the hotel...they catered to all our needs and were very flexible, going out of their way to help continue our stay, on a daily basis. He was an absolute credit to the hotel. Rooms were basic but clean and affordable, location was excellent near to cool bars and cafes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really pleased with this hotel, all that we wanted/ needed. 10/15 minute walk to the centre but plenty of pus and resteraunts close by. Really quiet, and we had a room at the front of the hotel, on the main road. Only downside is that there is no bar!! Staff friendly and courteous. Wouldn't definitely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated, however we assume the last sentence is a typing mistake as you title your review "Would stay here again". There is no bar as we are surrounded by pubs and restaurants within 5 mins walk. More 

Bramshill, Hants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three day stay while attending a conference at the Exhibition Centre which is about 15 minutes walk away. I had a room at the back looking out onto a garden area so no traffic noise. Room was well decorated and an up to date bathroom. Cooked breakfast was good but the cereal option was poor. Away from the centre of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, our cereal option consists of muesli, cornflakes and Weetabix, although not a cereal as such porridge is also on the menu, this has been refined over many years taking into account the majority of guest preferences, however we are always open to suggestions for different cereals to be... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location. Friendly staff - especially Ann was most helpful and engaging. Ian was initially very brusque but the following morning in spite of his all-night shift was much friendlier. Room adequate but every time we used the toilet it sounded like Armageddon was upon us. I awoke one morning around 4h00 wondering if there was an air-raid! Seems that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that some aspects of your stay with us was not as expected, some of the rooms in the hotel are fitted with Saniflo type toilets and they do make a noise, this should have been pointed out to you on arrival. Given the configuration of the building we cannot have a lift, if you had needed help... More 

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I stayed here the last night of a week in Scotland and it was a dismal way to end an otherwise fine vacation. The young man attending the front desk was rude, unhelpful, even menacing. When we checked in, my name and address were wrong on the form. Not a big deal. But when I pointed this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

With regard to your comments regarding the address on the registration form being wrong, the details were the ones given at the time of booking by the person who made the booking, they were perhaps not the address of the person signing in, but that does not make them wrong, we can only go by the information given. We do... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

The Kelvingrove is a small Hotel conveniently located within easy walking distance of several great restaurants, supermarkets and train stations. While I stayed here for two nights to prepare for my walk on the West Highland Way I enjoyed - the well-working wifi; - the well enough equipped room with a flat-screen TV and tea making facilities; - the full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments re your stay with us for 2 nights from the 5th July 2015. We have noted from our systems that you checked in to the hotel in the middle of the afternoon and you were allocated Rm23, this room is located down stairs and at the back of the hotel, you did not make any... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Well pleased with this hotel. Very good location for Hydro and variety of restaurants round about. 10mins from Buchanan Bus Station by 77 Bus with stops very convenient to hotel. George friendly and helpful. Room had everything we needed, comfortable bed and very quiet. Certainly would use again if doing an overnight in Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed in the hotel July 2015 and found it a perfect location for the SECC. The room was small but spotlessly clean with a hot shower and toiletries. I could also put the heating on which was lovely being a cold creature. The man at reception was very helpful and made us feel very at home. Plenty of places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#37 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
West End
No photo provided
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 92 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#60 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#56 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay