We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kelvingrove Hotel

944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Kelvingrove Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Glasgow
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tirell Berlin, Germany
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    187
    157
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
74
148
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My son and I stayed here the last night of a week in Scotland and it was a dismal way to end an otherwise fine vacation. The young man attending the front desk was rude, unhelpful, even menacing. When we checked in, my name and address were wrong on the form. Not a big deal. But when I pointed this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kelvingrove is a small Hotel conveniently located within easy walking distance of several great restaurants, supermarkets and train stations. While I stayed here for two nights to prepare for my walk on the West Highland Way I enjoyed - the well-working wifi; - the well enough equipped room with a flat-screen TV and tea making facilities; - the full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments re your stay with us for 2 nights from the 5th July 2015. We have noted from our systems that you checked in to the hotel in the middle of the afternoon and you were allocated Rm23, this room is located down stairs and at the back of the hotel, you did not make any... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well pleased with this hotel. Very good location for Hydro and variety of restaurants round about. 10mins from Buchanan Bus Station by 77 Bus with stops very convenient to hotel. George friendly and helpful. Room had everything we needed, comfortable bed and very quiet. Certainly would use again if doing an overnight in Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the hotel July 2015 and found it a perfect location for the SECC. The room was small but spotlessly clean with a hot shower and toiletries. I could also put the heating on which was lovely being a cold creature. The man at reception was very helpful and made us feel very at home. Plenty of places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good sized room with fresh decor, and good hot shower. Lots of steps to lower level, but can't be avoided in these old buildings. Well placed for SECC/ hydro. Unfortunately fewer seats for breakfasts than beds, so I couldn't get breakfast here. Ask when book for breakfast, don't wait until check in. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated More 

Tarland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed here a few times and never been disappointed.Very friendly helpful staff. Nice rooms with tea/coffee AND biscuits!! Breakfast is excellent, cooked to order and served on hot plates.What more do you need!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Kelvingrove Hotel July 2015 for Bette Midler concert at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow. Lovely clean hotel, with good facilities. I had a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel. Good sized room with a really comfy bed. Lots of coffee, tea and biscuits in room. En suite room with shower. Even though hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in glasgow with my sister and her friend on Tuesday 07 July 2015 to see Neil Diamond in concert at the Hydro. On arrival at the hotel the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming and gave us great advice on how to get to the concert venue on foot and also he recommended an Indian restaurant we should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated. More 

New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our last couple nights in Scotland and had a wonderful stay. We arrived late, just before 9pm, and as soon as we approached the steps, the receptionist opened the door for us and checked us in. He was extremely helpful anytime we had a question. When we checked out, we were headed straight to the airport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated More 

Melrose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as we were attending a concert at the SSE Hydro and this was well located for this venue. We were checked in by George (Manager) who could not have been any more helpful. Our room was downstairs and to the front of the building and was very clean, bright and spacious with all normal facilities. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, they are much appreciated by our staff, George may get a Gold star this week!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#37 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 92 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#8 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top