We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Glasgow accommodations

City Apartments

401 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Apartments to your Saves list
City Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014
Cynthia M Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Overview
  • Reviews (15)
  • Photos (20)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the City Apartments associated with the Albion Hotel for a week. The staff were very gracious --- especially Marlene. We had a 3 bed apartment that was roomy and clean .It was a large studio with sofa, chair, dining table and small, well equipped kitchen area. The website photo is accurate. It was a ground floor unit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a two person apartment for three nights whilst visiting family. The area was great, right on the edge of the gorgeous Kelvingrove park, walks and arboretum and easy distance to loads of local amenities. There are express supermarkets, bars and food places within seconds walk of the apartment and a subway right at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the City Apartments for 3 nights. We found them to be handy for the underground ( Kelvinbridge ) so meant exploring the city very easy. The apartments were spotless, nice and warm and welcoming. We had a 2 person studio which at £50 per night was a terrific rate. ( we realise we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The apartment was poor,not very nicely decorated. The lights were also really dim and some wouldn't even come on. The bedroom light kept flickering which was quite creepy. The staff were not very friendly and didnt seem approachable.Stayed in a few apartments in manchester before and this has to be the worst one. Expect very loud noise aswell!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

Having checked our records we can find no trace of this guest, it does not read as if it is our apartments, there are actually 3 sets of apartments in Glasgow called City Apartments, it may be that the guest has confused ours with the one they did actually stay in. We receive nothing but compliments regarding our staff, and... More

Burton on Trent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently spent a week here, had originally only booked for 2 nights but had to extend as the reason for my visit was to see an elderly relative and unfortunately she was taken ill and was in hospital for a couple of days. The staff could not do enough for me and rearranged all their bookings so that I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for commending our staff for their helpfulness during your stay, hopefully you will continue to stay with us when in Glasgow. More

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with my wife in one of the apartments for the weekend, from start to finish a lovely experience. A warm welcome was waiting for us and we were shown through to a lovely apt, although there were just the two of us to fit in with other bookings we had been upgraded to a four person, this just made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our apartments, it is nice to be appreciated. We hope to see you again. More

Playa de las Americas, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were staying next door in the sister hotel but most our party was in the apartments and they were great especially if you need that extra space to get kids ready which we never had in a hotel. Apartments has everything. Small kitchen, perfect for cooking for a small party. Would struggle if catering for more that 5 though.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again. More

Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend who is a regular guest of the McQuade Group and also a Tripadvisor Reviewer I chose to stay at these charming apartments in the west end of Glasgow. The area is quiet but with plenty to do close at hand, including easy access to the city centre. Staff could not have been more welcoming,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff who were on duty during your visit, as you say recommendations can on occasion not be as good as receommended, we are glad we came up to your expectations and appreciate your returning custom. More

Derby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As a regular guest of the McQuade Group the City Apts was the only one I had not stayed at, now that I have I am glad to say that I can still recommend this group to anyone. The usual warm welcome, shown to a very nice large apt in the next door building. The apartment was spotless and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at City Apartments, responded to this review

As you remarked we are a family run business and we do appreciate all our guests but we do like to build a rapport with our regular's of which we have many, so thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you again. More

Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed in an apartment for three nights. 2 bedroom apartment with 2 single beds in each. One of the rooms contained a sofa and 2 armchairs and a small but well equipped ktchen to the side. rooms were clean and well maintained. jackie has switched oil filled radiators on in rooms prior to our arrival so rooms were warm. we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartments

Address: 401 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer