We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Glasgow hotels

Swallow Glasgow

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Swallow Glasgow

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
39%
Ranked #78 of 88 hotels in Glasgow
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
colin d Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    98
    65
    80
See reviews for
56
136
21
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time contributor to tripadvisor. Having read some bad reviews about the Swallow prior to our stay I felt I had to write a review of my own after our stay at the weekend of 12th April. Yes its a little tired and dated but our rooms and from what else I could see was spotlessly clean and tidy, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oxford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights, as it was my retirement celebration. It was a great location and staff were really helpful. Alot of the party stayed in the hotel with us (through my recommendation) everyone enjoyed their stay so i was really pleased. Robert Stewart from elgin

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon. More

Carlisle UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Swallow Hote lGlasgow We found the staff were very friendly and helpfull the room was clean and comfortable and at the rear of the hotel a little road noise which disappeared with the windows closed at night,excellent breakfast with plenty of food and choice would stay again. Reading some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Haste ye Back. More

Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the food is good apart from rocket every night with 1 or 2 starters- it is totally unacceptable for me travelling on business needing an ironed shirt to find on my first morning the iron safety label on the plug says next test due April 2011 (3 years earlier!!!) , its leaking water & the flex is threadbare in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

I have looked into your iron issue that you brought to our attention on your third week staying with us - Thanks for bringing this to my attention, PAT test label on the plug was out of date and left there in error as the current label was on the rear of the iron which you did not notice till... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading previous reviews was dubious of Swallow Glasgow. What a pleasant surprise! The Hotel was very clean, the bedroom spacious, bedding spotless, everything smelt fresh! The staff were friendly and the food was great with a great self service breakfast, real value for money. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Glad to be of service. Hope to see you back soon. More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed the weekend at this Hotel and pleasantly surprised considering recent reviews. Reception very friendly and welcoming, as were all the staff. Room satisfactory and very clean. Breakfast really good to cover all tastes. Full Scottish or Toast Cereals etc. Nothing was a problem to the staff. Some rooms have been re-furbed so perhaps ask for them. The girls at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon. More

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from the hotel and it was terrible!! Would advise anyone staying here to wear overalls, full of dust! Toilet soiled. 1 towel for 2 people! Kate on reception was not helpful, very rude! Would not stay here again and suggest noone else to!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you are not among the vast majority who enjoy their stay. I am astounded that anyone would be upset or think Kate was anything but polite, friendly and happy. I am truly sorry that you thought otherwise. Please note : second set of towels are always available in the wardrobe. More

Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Swallow 3 times now, the location is great, just out of the city centre, 5 mins walk from Ibrox Stadium, Ibrox and Kinning park subways are easily within walking distance, the hotel is in great need of an update, it is tired and showing its age, carpets are frayed and the paintwork is way beyond its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are not the newest hotel but always aim to provide good value and great customer service. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner stayed here on business and when we spoke she was upset at the state of the hotel:- Room was dirty. Door had been forced open at some time and not repaired corectly. Bathroom dirty all over. Fan in bathroom would not switch off so had very bad night. Hotel itself was well below the standard of a one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Sorry we were not the correct choice for you. thanks for your comments More

Edinburgh,UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for an overnight at the Swallow due to its close location to Ibrox stadium. Yes the property could do with an upgrade but at a fraction of the price of city centre hotels you can't go wrong. Our room on the second floor was spacious, clean and had a good powerful shower with plenty of hot water. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Hope to see you back soon. More

Been to Swallow Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Glasgow

Also Known As:
Swallow Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Swallow Glasgow Hotel
Glasgow Swallow Hotel
Swallow Glasgow Scotland
Address: 517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 88 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Glasgow 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel located 3 km from city center & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swallow Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swallow Glasgow to your Saves list