We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Glasgow City Hotel

201 Ingram Street, Glasgow G1 1DQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Glasgow City Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

689 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    99
    239
    227
    88
    36
See reviews for
53
265
70
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (689)
  • Mar-May only
    (196)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (205)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For its very central location, i found the noise to be not as bad as expected. The room size was okay. There is wifi available, which is free of charge. Housekeeping is okay, if not perfect. When I came back to the hotel at around noon, the room was not cleaned, which is no problem. But there should be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. I appreciate your feedback,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great weekend in Glasgow this hotel is in super location for everything . Only advise would be request a room not facing onto the lane . Rooms are large great size comfortable beds . Showers could be updated . Over all great experience would definitely staff again . Staff are great especially Hazel she Made my stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel location. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve... More 

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Came here last year with my best friend as we were going on a night out! As soon as we entered the hotel we were givin a warm friendly welcome. Our room was fab, just the right size for us as we were only really needing it to get changed and sleep in. Had a great night out and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.... More 

Kildare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here in July for a weekend & really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is In an excellent central location and it was a great base for shopping & sightseeing. The room was rather small & compact but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I'd stay in this hotel if I was visiting Glasgow again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel ideal location for exploring the city. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our room 501 had two large cracks in the basin plus the cold tap could not be turned off. Consequently, there was water dripping all the time. The bathroom needs upgrading. The room and the bed were very small. As Gold Accor members, we should have been given a better room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is... More 

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh dear. Table not cleaned. Extremely poor vegetarian choice. Inattentive wating staff, and room not worth the money asked. Broken toilet seat. Broken bathroom worktop. Parking is not included. Water is free however. So is the noise. Bed comfy:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Poor standards of housekeeping and maintenance are not acceptable and I have passed on your comments to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good points: Great location Friendly and attentive staff Comfy beds Clean The bad points: The noise! My room was at the front of the hotel on the 1st floor, clean and well equipped. However, the road noise was just horrendous! When the busses are outside it literally vibrates through the bed. It would be a pleasanter stay if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotels ideal location. I am sorry if your stay was spoiled by noise from busses. The good news is that since your... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great service from start to finish. Rooms very a wee bit compact when you first walked in but to be honest they were spotless , they had everything. We needed and more. The bed and pillows were so so comfy I wanted to take a pillow home. Great location for going out drinking. Kept window open at night as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen M, Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at the Mercure Glasgow City hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in your room. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel has some of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in! There is no air conditioning! The room is directly over a very busy street by a major bus stop; so lots of noise and no chance of opening a window. For some reason there are only about 10 channels on the very poor quality TV; you don't even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen M, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. Being of an older design, the room sizes can vary and unfortunately there is no airconditioning however, we can provide fans if that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#20 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#6 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#24 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - George Square
City Centre
Millennium Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay