We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

#20 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
Calum R Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    276
    111
    42
    17
See reviews for
124
254
39
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (687)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (181)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Me and my girlfriend stayed here when we went to a recent gig in Glasgow. The stay was nice and pleasant and the room was nice and clean. Good central location to stay in and breakfast was good in the morning but was just a continental breakfast with sausages, beans and scrambled eggs, could've done with bacon, fried eggs, tattie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dundee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would definitely recommend to others. First impression was family friendly run when we checked in. Pleasant smile from check in woman to us just said it all. Not much of a walk into centre of Glasgow. Say about 10 minute walk maximum. Breakfast was nice and filled you up for the day ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear family_travellers70s Thank you for leaving a great review on our hotel. I delighted to hear that your first impression was family friendly run hotel when you checked in, and that girl on reception gave you a nice welcoming smile i will be sure to pass on your nice comments to all staff. I am also happy to hear you... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked two rooms using my IHG points for a brief stay before attending a funeral. We arrived at 2am after a 11 hour drive from Brighton and none of us were in very good moods. However, Stephen and Gordon working the night shift made us feel so welcome and had our rooms all ready to go with no hassle. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear JBlanch1992 Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on our hotel Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to hear Stephen and Gordon on nightshift made you feel welcome and had your rooms ready for you arriving. We take great pride in our customer service i will be glad to pass your great comments to them both.... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really friendly staff in a fairly central location. Rooms are basic, but offered all that we needed (we had two interconnecting). Only criticism on the rooms being that the windows were not sealing correctly, so in a cold windy Glasgow week we had to request extra electric heaters to keep out the chill. No restaurant facilities and the 10% discount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear AndyPaulineGreer Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your latest stay at our hotel. It is good to read that you found the staff during your visit to be really friendly. I am also happy to see that you took advantage of the breakfast we include with every room. We would love to see you... More 

sunderland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second visit to this hotel, first was over Christmas, the second over the Easter weekend (room 321). The staff at this hotel are the friendliest I have encountered, the rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and the beds are extremely comfortable. The location is second to non, a few meters to Merchant City and Argyle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear dazzy Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you have chosen us a second time and there will be a third, We at the hotel take great pride in our customer service and love to make sure our guests have the best experience. I will be... More 

Bicester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a most enjoyable stay for four nights in March. Very helpful staff and a great breakfast. Very handy ice dispenser in the lobby which ensured ability to have a cold drink in the room. The bar is also reasonably priced and the hotel location was perfect. Only negative comment would be the lack of it's own car park but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Pooley-1, Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside. I am thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt our staff were helpful. It's good to hear you enjoyed breakfast and felt the bar was reasonable. It is unfortunate that we don't have a... More 

Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for the 2nd time on easter sun this place has the friendliest staff especially dave at reception ,this is our place to stay anytime we are in Glasgow wouldn't go anywhere else. Would highly recommend and free breakfast what more could you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear shonaw202, Thank you for posting your fantastic five star review of the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside. I'm extremely pleased to read that you chose us for your second stay in Glasgow. Thank you for your kind words of Dave and our staff, I will be sure to pass on these great comments. I'm also glad you took... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel early due to going to a matinee show, we were hoping just to dump our bags and check in later, however we were allowed to check in...fantastic. close tostation where you could get train to get to secc and hydro. Very comfortable beds and air con, breakfast good and much better than what we have had at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear worldtravellerswife1, Thank you for posting your review regarding to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am happy to read that front staff offered you earlier check in even if you didn't expect it. That's great that bed was comfortable and you enjoyed free breakfast. I am glad to read that your stay was great value... More 

Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like a lot of chain hotels, this has little real character but the staff are cheery. The room has tidy, clean, and warm. Breakfast was surprisingly tasty. The location is not too far from the city centre. Overall, good value for a basic night or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Ronank. Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you have a good 2 night stay with us. Its also great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offered at the hotel and you thought it was tasty. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. Kindest... More 

Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Glad we chose this hotel. We only stayed one night but would come back if we want to stay in Glasgow again. Handy for Argyle Street, St Enoch's shopping centre and that part of central Glasgow. Very helpful and friendly, mostly Scottish, staff. Nice, nearly new hotel. Very quiet room, so good night's sleep. Good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Chr1sgould, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very happy to read that you have had a great stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside. I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be both helpful and friendly. It is also good to see that the hotels location was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question