We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Glasgow

4.0 of 5 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistle Glasgow
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Glasgow
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    486
    264
    92
    58
See reviews for
161
377
53
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1222)
  • Mar-May only
    (307)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (310)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (355)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (250)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thistle Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good points;- Good city centre location, 5/6 minutes drive from the motorway, on-site parking. Good-help full reception staff. Room presentation & cleaning was of a high standard. Negatives, our room was on the first floor adjacent to the air-con units on the roof, the loud humming noise produced would have been disturbing to a light sleeper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Very kind of you to post your review following your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful reception staff, and I am pleased you enjoyed your room. I am sorry to read of your comments regarding the humming noise, and I shall forward your comments to our maintenance department. We hope... More 

edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel nice and comfortable, very hearty breakfast to set you up for a day's shopping. Eat as much or as little as you like! Swimming pool adequate for a relaxing swim before hitting the city centre for the night out. People use this for its central location. Some of the rooms are a bit dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am so pleased to read that you found our hotel nice and comfortable, and I agree there is nothing like a hearty breakfast to set you up for a good day's retail therapy. I am glad you were also able to enjoy a relaxing swim and I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back... More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Thistle Hotel many times and I have never been let down. The reception staff are polite, helpful and always smiling. The bar staff have excellent knowlagebl of the menu and selection of drinks avalible - especially the whiskey. The restaurant is of an excellent standard and offer a fixed price menu. The hotel is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is very encouraging for us to receive reviews with comments such as yours, and thank you very much for your continued support at the Thistle Glasgow. Our staff are delighted to read your nice comments and thank you for them, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, hopefully soon! Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart,... More 

Montrose. Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a very enjoyable one night stay, great location and spotless room. Breakfast was fantastic, the chef came round every table to check all was ok. The car parking was a major plus for us and very good value being in the city centre. We will definitely use this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for yourvery nice review following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Comments like yours are just what are staff like to read and we look forward to your return visit! Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Thistle hotel in Glasgow is located very close to the city centre and bang in the middle of the shopping area. A great location but the hotel itself is pretty basic. I stayed there for 6 nights and for 4 nights I was made to stay in a room with twin beds and a view of what looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I am sorry that our Guests Relations Manager was not aware of your dissatisfaction with your room, and given the opportunity to ensure you were completely happy with your stay with us. Commencing at the beginning of next year will be the refurbishment of the lower floors, and... More 

Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in an Executive Double Double. Very comfy room with lots of space. We made use of the Otium health club which was great, although the rickety spiral staircase up to the sauna/steam room was a bit scary. Breakfast was great apart from the black pudding - dried out with a horrible 'perfumed' taste - avoid (tip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel, about the same time last year. My room was large, comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the usual amenities, large flat screen TV, in-room tea / coffee and two complimentary bottles of water. (No mini-bar) The room was pleasantly furnished with black and white prints etc. The bathroom was clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We were delighted to welcome you back to the Thistle Glasgow, and I am very pleased that you found your room to be extremely comfortable. We do not now provide mini-bars in our bedrooms, however we can provide a small chiller with a selection of drinks on request. The hotel as you say is ideally situated and at... More 

scotland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this hotel is perfect for city centre shoping, we were upgraded to a delux king size room and found it very quiet through out the night. the room is clean and very comfortable. the only down side was the price of the breakfast £12.50. this is not a problem as their are plenty of nice cafes only a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
229 hotel reviews
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip in September 2012 for 3 nights. The room was comfortable, a bit worn, but provided everything I needed. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre and lots of restaurants are close by. Nothing special to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have visited Glasgow several times and each time we keep coming back to this hotel. The location for shopping and a vast selection of restaurants is great. Not the most modern but ticks all the right boxes. We booked an executive double room this time which gave us loads of room. The rooms themselves are comfortable, clean, with a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Business Hotel in Glasgow

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
3:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay