We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Glasgow hotels

Thistle Glasgow

36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Cowcaddens)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Break Offer
Save Saved
You added Thistle Glasgow to your Saves list
Thistle Glasgow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com Agoda.com
and 5 more sites!
67%
Ranked #42 of 88 hotels in Glasgow
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    396
    216
    83
    55
See reviews for
120
314
46
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel at a reasonable price so wasnt expecting the best room in the house.We had a twin room on the 2nd floor.The room was a little grubby but as there was a smell of paint in the bathroom along with masking tape it may have been getting an overhaul . Beds were comfortable and room warm enough.The window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple of days with friends while attending a concert. The hotel was lovely with welcoming staff. Huge clean room with two double beds as well as sofa and desk. Great location for shopping. Decor a little plain in reception .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staying on business and will be for some time. I book this hotel via a BA flight and hotel deal. Good size rooms (excellent if you do yoga as I do) and really good beds. Coffee shop was good - plus the snacks were nice. Staff friendly and helpful Grips! Breakfast is too expensive - I go to a nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was ok. Few marks on walls and furniture has seen better days. But was clean and welI equipped. I had a meal if the bar- Amy's sticky chicken, I didn't really enjoy it but could have just been my taste. When I went to check out in the morning I was told I had drinks to pay for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for the weekend, Got it for a good deal. hotel was lovely, and the staff were so welcome. the rooms were fab and the cleaning staff were lovely, always said morning etc. the breakfast was okay wasn't the best. the swimming area was lovely, very clean but didn't like the open area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks indeed for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you will see from previous reviews, we receive excellent feedback regarding our breakfast service, and I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with this. Our breakfast chef's are often available in the restaurant, and they... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We and a couple of friends booked a one night stay at the Thistle hotel so we could see our neice who was in the show Annie at the Kings Theatre. There were also coach loads of people from up north staying who were going to see the Dancing on Ice show, as such the hotel was quite busy. Pre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor, following your visit to Glasgow. We are very pleased to read that your were happy with your stay at the Thistle Glasgow. Our new cafe bar just opened a couple of weeks ago, after being refurbished, and we are delighted with the results, and have... More

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First stay at Thistle Glasgow (previous stays at the Hilton and Menzies). Great central location and easy parking underneath which is a real bonus. Lovely reception area and staff were very pleasant and our room was ready early which was great. Room was on first floor which was OK. Dinner in the hotel was very good (3 courses £19.95). Lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our city centre location, and yes the car parking is indeed a great asset. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our reception and staff and pleased you enjoyed your meal. I... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a frequent stayed at the premier inn it was fully booked and I found a room at the thistle for £60 and thought this was a bargain for a four star hotel, on arrival we wernt told were our room was until walking away from reception when we arrived at our room there were coffee stains all over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments posted on Trip Advisor. The hotel has a Guest Relations Manager available 24 hours a day, and we are very sorry that you did not speak with us whilst you were in-house, and given us the opportunity to ensure you had a satisfactory and enjoyable stay at the... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a great place with great size rooms,nice staff ,very helpful unlike other UK hotels,,they do smile and ask if there is anything else they would do to make our stay more comfortable. the WIFI is bullet speed ,,the leisure club is neat and organized. executive rooms are spacious,clean ..the location is ideal..CITY CENTRE will be my choice whenever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Your comments are encouraging for our staff to receive. We are delighted you enjoyed the service you received and our facilities, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you visit Glasgow. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love thistle / Guomen hotels but was a little disappointed in the leisure suite this stay, the pool had gravel type sand on the edges that was visible from mezzanine level mum reported it but day 2 still there. Drain in ladies had days worth of hair and lint in it. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was broken day 2 I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewing S, General Manager at Thistle Glasgow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your visit to our hotel. I am very sorry to read your comments regarding the Leisure Club and these have been addressed with the Leisure Club Manager. The pool area is hoovered once or twice weekly depending on the build up of sand that comes from the... More

Been to Thistle Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Glasgow

Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Thistle Glasgow Hotel
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Thistle Glasgow Scotland
Address: 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Glasgow makes an ideal base for exploring the many galleries, museums and other attractions of Scotland’s second city. We’re also a few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station, making it the perfect place to get down to business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.