We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 89 Glasgow hotels

Acorn Hotel

3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland (West End)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Acorn Hotel to your Saves list
Acorn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
82%
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
sparksDurham Durham
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    84
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
84
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I arrived at this hotel with 3 other colleagues on a short business trip. We were given a warm welcome. We had 4 very good rooms, all the rooms were modern and comfortable my room had a very good bathroom and even had a TV in the shower. All of the rooms were quiet and we got a good nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with Mr W for a 1 night stay last Friday. Initially no vacancies were shown on hotel's own website but were available on Booking.com. Didn't want to book and then find out later there were no rooms available but a quick call to hotel and very helpful staff sorted it out. There is metered parking on the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Price was doubled during the commonwealth games. But it's fair I understand all the hotels doubled the price in Glasgow. First day was Sunday and their cashier was broken. The reception girl was kind and called me to bring cash. However I didn't have that much money on me when I arrived at 9.30pm. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a problem with the bar downstairs during your stay. Normally they close at 11pm as stated by our Duty Manager, during the Games some of the pubs etc in Glasgow did stay open a bit later, however we do not like our guest's being disturbed after 11pm, the do not disturb sign on the staff... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been in Glasgow with work. We stayed at this hotel. Very nice and clean, good location, friendly staff. The only low side is that there was no drinking water in the room. Normally in hotel rooms there is a fresh bottled water. I had to drink a tap water which was really horrible, especially in the morning (left at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay, we do not provide bottled water in the rooms as the tap water is some of the best in Scotland for drinking, if you let the tap run until the water is really cold it is lovely, any water left out in a glass over night will have a slightly stale... More

Taunton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here whilst attending the Commonwealth Games. This is a good quality small hotel. The décor is good and the bedroom and bathroom were well decorated, clean and large. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the hydro and 15 to 20 minutes walk from Glasgow central station and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moffat, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Location is a plus, only ten minute walk from the centre, therefore slightly quieter than in the city centre. The hotel a little disappointing. Described as a 4 star boutique hotel,the room although clean had some negative aspects including a mark on the throw on the bed and the carpet quite soiled. We were also allocated a room (room 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were misled by the 4 star rating, the hotel is 3 stars, as quite clearly stated on our website. We can only apologise for the soiled bed throw, this should have been picked up by our cleaning staff and on room checks by the Duty Manager. The carpet had been cleaned the day before you arrived... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found the hotel's location to be good with easy access to Kelvingrove Park, not too noisy at night and a 20 minute walk found you in the CBD. The room was adequate, not a heap of space but had a good ensuite. Be aware that there are no lifts at the hotel so lugging suitcases up to the top... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is the 1st time we stayed in The Acorn. We usually go for 4 star but were pleasantly surprised as this is a lovely wee hotel. The girl on reception was really nice, Louise I think her name was. She even serviced our room on our 1st day after the cleaner knocked our door four times on the Saturday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise if you felt that the housekeeper was over zealous, the person in question was relatively new and had not up until that point had any guest ask them to come back, she did eventually ask Louise what she should do and Louise informed her that she had to let you know that she finished at 1.30 and if... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good position for visiting the centre or the West End, entrance to Kelvingrove Park just down the road. Single room not over large, but nicely decorated, clean and a lovely modern bathroom. Bed comfy altho' pillows not too soft. For an old building the dividing walls seemed very thin and there was noise from the adjoining rooms which didn't aid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having just arrived after an overnight flight, we really appreciated the attentive service of the front desk. The room was not large but adequate with a nice view. The place was clean, although the carpet in our room could do with an upgrade. Parking across the hotel seemed to be always available at around £4 per day. The hotel serves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Acorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Glasgow with
any amenities