We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acorn Hotel

140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Acorn Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Acorn is a very respectable 3 star hotel and I'm going to say the good before I get to the bad - which was very bad as I was freezing most of the time in my room. Very clean, well located, and has a breakfast. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. The room was a reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdnfamilytraveller
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for taking the time to review the Acorn Hotel. We are glad that George our Duty Manager kept you entertained during your stay and appreciate your kind comments about the Hotel's cleanliness and excellent location. Sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the heating in your bedroom. We have had an engineer test... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a great location for the west side of the city. Rooms are modern yet very comfortable and quiet (purposely requested). Didn’t avail of the bar or breakfast but loads of places to eat/drink/shops within a few minutes walk away. Staff couldn’t be any more helpful – big shout out to Alan! Only downside – unmanned reception after... More 

Helpful?
Thank cl m
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay, it is very much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon ! Regards Robert More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed here on 9th January it is a very nice hotel a 5 minute walk from the city centre. The hotel is modern,clean and the rooms are very comfortable.There is also loads of places to eat close buy.we were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and had a lovely breakfast in the morning we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 290Carries
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments, they are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Very friendly clean boutique style hotel.The rooms are modern and clean with every detail a traveler would require taken care of. We have just returned from a new years stay at the Acorn and cant thank them enough. We will certainly be coming back later this year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bozzy1969
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your New Year's stay at the Acorn Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best Regards Robert More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I are originally from Glasgow so we were exactly looking to stay in this area. The hotel is 15 min walk from the city centre but close to the nice and upcoming pubs and restaurants of West Wend. For those who are interested, the Hydro and the SECC are like 10 min walk, Kelvingrove park is just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiGajdi
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be ideal for the many restaurants/ bars and attractions in the West End. All of our double rooms have a standard double bed and perhaps you missed the dispensers of shower gel and hand soap which are located in all of our en... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

I was here got a concert at the SSE Hydro. Nice clean single room. Lovely shower room. Comes with coffee and tea making facilities and a little flat screen TV. I walked everywhere from the train station, to the hotel, to the stadium. Ate downstairs at the Scaramouche which was also great. Would be happy to stay again.

Helpful?
Thank jordanboy
robertmcq, General Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Acorn and found our location ideal for the Hydro. Hope to welcome you back soon ! Best Regards Robert More 

Maghera, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I were over for a concert from Northern Ireland, he had stayed there before and highly recommended it, he wasn't wrong. Lovely clean room, nice decor and above all exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, namely George and Alan. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the next time I frequent Glasgow I will stay at this Hotel. First... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
robertmcq, General Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your amazing feedback about our hotel and staff. It is always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Robert More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable and pleasant hotel, staff very helpful,excellent location and will definitely be returning in the future,highly recommended,we,attended a concert in the Hydro and this hotels location was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank Eugene R
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments about the Acorn Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future ! Best Regards Robert More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I stayed in the Acorn Hotel for a total of ten nights over three weeks. It's conveniently located, just off the section of Sauchiehall Street west of the M8 and about fifteen minutes walk from Central Station. It's right on the doorstep of Kelvingrove Park so it would be ideally located for a stroll on a summer evening. Also nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeD186525
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments about the Acorn Hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our prime location, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best Regards, Robert More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

My partner and I stayed here for two nights last weekend. am just leaving after staying for 2 nights at this hotel. I was very disappointed of the stay especially when I paid a price I could have got a place in the city, the hairdryer was not working which I did get another one. I explained to the man... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nita O
robertmcq, General Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Acorn. We do just wish to pick you up on a couple of the issues you had with your stay. After the hairdryer was reported, it was immediately replaced (as you say), and you were informed at the time of reporting a problem with the phone, that the switchboards were in the process... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#33 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#8 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,047 reviews
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay