We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Up to 20% Off
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardgowan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ardgowan Hotel
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    95
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
42
90
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I turned up early (0900) on the Saturday, and had to be elsewhere for a business seminar for 1130. I was initially told my room would not be ready until 1200 by the receptionist. I was welcome to leave my baggage and it would be put in my room for me in my absence. I agreed and sat for a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello spottedidick, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your time with us. We are proud of the hard work that our housekeeping staff puts toward cleaning and preparing our rooms for our guests, and we're glad that they were able to have your room ready a bit early for... More

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ardgowan Hotel was perfect for our needs. Although the room was small it was very warm and cosy and the beds were extremely comfortable. Very clean and tidy with helpful, chatty staff. Breakfast was good except I couldn't find any fresh fruit which I would have liked.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Katie S, Thank you for taking the time to give us your great feedback, and a 5 star review! We're so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were the perfect place for you to stay during your stay in St Andrews. We are so fortunate that we can offer our guests a... More

Hanoi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, clean and well fitted rooms. Staff were excellent on both occasions I stayed. Didn't make it down for breakfast but the restaurant looks great! Less than a minutes walk from the old course 1st tee (and the dunvegan bar) and a £10 taxi ride to the Fairmont golf courses. Couldn't ask for more

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryFoster, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andy I, It certainly is a joy to read your review, and thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It was such a pleasure being able to welcome you not once, but TWICE to the Ardgowan Hotel within a week! We're so glad that you enjoyed our perfect location and that we were able... More

UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ardgowan always gives a very warm, friendly Scottish welcome. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with lots of lovely tartan. Centrally located. Fabulous breakfasts in the restaurant which is furnished in a well-designed contemporary Scottish way, with a relaxed atmosphere but efficient service and a good menu choice. Will definitely be returning (again). Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello UkDevon, These are indeed the kind of reviews that we love to read! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that we're doing a great job. We're glad to know that you were able to dine in our excellent restaurant, Playfair's, while you were with us. I have passed along your comments to our restaurant staff... More

Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very warm and friendly greeting from the receptionist, gave me a free upgrade room and told me all I needed to know. The room is very spacious and clean a very comfortable bed had a great night sleep. The shower is powerful easy to use. Wifi is excellent. The breakfast was superb as were the staff. The only things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andrew T, Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as it helps us to know the things we're doing right and the areas where we're needing a bit more attention. We are glad to know that your check in was a smooth process, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your... More

Cupar, Fife
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ardgowan was the selected venue by my wife for a Sunday evening birthday meal. Great choice, wonderful evening. My choices were muscles, fish stew and crumble. All were excellent choices with superb flavours and well presented. Staff were attentive and extremely helpful. One of the first requests I made was for a change of music and this was actioned without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Richard B., Thank you for giving our restaurant, Playfair's, a glowing review! We are so glad that you were able to celebrate this special time with us, and that you had a wonderful experience. Our chefs work hard to create an amazing menu, and our staff work tirelessly to serve each of our guests in a way that is... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our stay at the hotel and we found our room very welcoming .The staff were all very polite and did everything they could do to please us.The breakfast was top quality and we could find any faults with anything.I am so glad I did not take any notice of the negative comments on here because... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andrew B, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review! We always value our guest feedback, as it points out the things we're doing right and our opportunities for improvement. I have passed along your comments to all of our staff, from reception to housekeeping to the restaurant, and we are all pleased to know that you felt welcomed and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Ardgowen Hotel, very friendly staff, book in was quick and simple, the room was extremely spacious, the bathroom was very large, large shower, large deep bath, had to put my arm bands on. The playfairs restaurant is of the highest standard, small and compact, dinner was fantastic, rec the sea bream, superb, the service was excellent,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello GRR52, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Ardgowan Hotel! Our staff always strives to give our guests the best service, and we are glad to know that our efforts have not gone unnoticed. I am also delighted to hear that you were able to dine in Playfair's during your stay.... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

I felt that the room was quite small and it was either freezing or roasting didn't seem to be a happy medium. For the money we paid I felt slightly disappointed that there wasn't a bottle of water at least in the room, my partner and I don't really drink tea or coffee so it would have been nice to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 2310x, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Although we are disappointed to hear that you were not happy during your stay, we welcome constructive feedback as we are always looking for opportunities to improve our guests’ experiences. I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be too small for your taste.... More

glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

After meandering through the East Neuk of Fife we arrived at the Ardgowan Hotel in St Andrews on a sunny afternoon to be warmly welcomed by Darren who proved to be a very attentive host. Our accommodation on the top floor was very comfortable and offered lovely views over the skyline of St Andrews. The hotel is ideally situated for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArdgowanHotel, Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello oldcastlerock, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a stellar 5* review! Our staff is so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Ardgowan Hotel, and that you were able to experience the best of St Andrews while you were with us. I have passed along your comments to our staff at Playfair's,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay