We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Special Rate
Book Direct Up to 20% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    142
    132
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
122
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a great spot for our needs as we only stayed one night and I played the old course. The room was very basic but was sufficient for our needs. I would recommend but don't expect a tonof extra frills.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in the Fairmont on the Saturday night for the golf, so decided to go down on Friday night and make a weekend of it. Couldn't get into the (totally "Americanised") Fairmont - bonus!! This is a lovely little hotel in the town centre. Close to loads of restaurants and the Old Course Golf Club and also decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall we were satisfied. Disappointed with the size of the bedroom/bathroom - like a cupboard in the loft- for the money charged and having to climb 3 storeys. Staff very friendly and helpful and courteous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Patricia D. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with the size of your room. We do offer larger rooms for guests requiring a bit more space, however, due... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, clean and friendly hotel. If I'm honest the room was small but it was very homely, we booked a junior double. The room was also at the top of a pretty steep stair case so bear in mind if stairs are an issue, you'll need to ask for a lower floor. The staff were all lovely, Efficient check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SJC1402a, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, from your comfortable room, to Playfair's, our amazing restaurant, to our friendly and helpful staff. With regards to your comments on room size, our Junior rooms are our smaller rooms, however, we do... More 

Reno
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located on the near side of the town. So walking to play the Old Course in the morning was ideal. They have a very friendly staff and really big rooms in the back of the Hotel. We had the King room and it was big enough to store our golf clubs inside without cowding the bed. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello PikesonBikes, Thank you so much for your great review of us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are so glad to see that you enjoyed your Classic King room. I have passed along your comments to Denise and Lorrène, and they are so glad that you enjoyed your time with them in... More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice little hotel in a pretty good location but a little noisy if you are the early to bed type due to a noisy kitchen below the rear facing windows. The same restaurant does serve up a nice Scottish breakfast in the morning though. The beds were comfortable with one firm/one soft pillow. And the staff friendly and helpful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant during your time with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the noise that you heard from our kitchen. We are now in the process of addressing the issue with our kitchen... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in a fabulous location within walking distance of all of St. Andrews sights and amenities. The staff were very welcoming and the facilities excellent. The room was very nice, if perhaps a little small, but very reasonably priced. We'll definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our amazing location and friendly staff. We always try to make our guests feel at home while they are with us, and we're glad to see that you felt that way. We're glad to hear that you will... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay. Room in annex was slightly tight but very comfortable nonetheless. Breakfast was first class and meal we had in the restaurant was excellent. All had steak and it was all cooked exactly as ordered and if very high quality. Definitely hope to be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 976graemem, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us on Tripadvisor. We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the amazing breakfasts and your meal in Playfair's Restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe More 

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This moderate size local hotel is located within a 5 minute walk (around the corner and down the street) from the Starter for the Old Course so most conveniently located. While it features its own pub and restaurant, it is located next to one of the most notable pubs in town, the Dunvegan. The rest of the town and local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Clubsecretary, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed our perfect location in St Andrews. As we are on North Street, we are just around the corner from the Old Course, and a short walk from the beach, town centre and the University, so we really are a great location for any stay in... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

comfortable beds, good soundproofing and easy access to fab restaurant on a busy weekend in St Andrews Didn't realise it was Lammas fair and streets taken over by shows, but we were in a quieter part of town and heard none of this. Couldn't fault the hotel in any way

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Rhona, Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review for us! We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us at the Ardgowan Hotel. The Lammas Market is always a fun event every August, and we're glad you were here to experience one of Europe's oldest surviving street fairs. Please let us know if you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Country House Hotel
Rufflets Country House Hotel
#1 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#13 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#7 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#9 of 20 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay