We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

Hotel deals
2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Up to 20% Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardgowan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ardgowan Hotel
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    105
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
101
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 3 days and the staff were super friendly and helpful but other details were sadly lacking. The bed in my room was uncomfortable and covered in a plastic sheet which made my fiirstnight before I discovered it very unpleasant. Breakfast doesn't start until 7.15 which means the kitchen staff don't arrive until 7.15 which meant the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel does not have a car park which I thought would be an issue but there is plenty of side road free parking and a free car park nearby. The staff are friendly and helpful the room was large, clean and had a massive comfortable bed, so no complaints there. The breakfast is tasty and there is plenty of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mauser03! Wow! Thanks for the great 5* review! We're so glad that we were able to tick all of your boxes while you were with us. You're right, there are several free places to park within a short walk, or just next to us, and we're glad that you took advantage of this while you were with us! And... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking for a reasonably priced twin room, sharing with my brother, having a night out with old friends. Staff were helpful and friendly, the room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. Facilities were good and breakfast excellent. The price for the room was good too. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Callum, We are so thankful that you took the time to give us a review for your stay! It's nice to hear that you and your brother enjoyed everything about your stay with us, from your clean and comfy room, to our delicious cooked Scottish breakfasts in Playfair's! Next time you find yourself in St Andrews visiting friends,... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ardgowan hotel is ideally situated if you are planning a trip to the Home of Golf . The staff are extremely helpful and the rooms are very clean and cosy !. I would not hesitate to stay there again .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kenny, Thanks for sending along your "short and sweet" review for us! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, as we enjoyed spending time with you while you were here! Hopefully, next time you are in St Andrews for gold, we'll be able to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe More 

glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All good - just one thing - I hate it when two single beds are pushed together to form one double - with an annoying ridge in the middle ! But apart from that it was great - and the food in the restaurant downstairs was supberb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Jamesmikeuk, Thank you for giving us a review! We're glad to know that you found your room to be comfortable and convenient for your stay in St Andrews. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with our zip and link beds, as guests usually find them to be comfortable and spacious. However, if you prefer, we do... More 

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in St Andrews to visit the University on the open day for prospective students. This hotel was a great find. It's really close to the University buildings and shopping areas. We caught the bus from the train station at Leuchars and arrived at the bus station in St Andrews around 15 minutes later. The hotel is only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello the_flying_goose, What an amazing review! We are absolutely thrilled reading your comments about your stay with us. We always love to welcome in students and their families visiting the University, and we're so glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed everything, from our perfect location, to our comfortable beds, and amazing cooked breakfasts! It really is the best way... More 

Penicuik, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upstairs: really warm welcome from the lovely Carmen, room was comfortable and adequate for our 1 night stay, the bed was clean and very comfy, all the facilities worked and the bathroom was fine. Shower gel etc supplied as were lovely white towels. Friendly and kind breakfast waitress serving an ok breakfast (perhaps not as good as the website made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alastair, Thank you for leaving us a review for your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a warm welcome and that we were able to tick all of your boxes with our comfy rooms, soft white towels, and friendly service. I am sorry to hear your comments on the service that you received in Playfair's Restaurant,... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relaxed Hotel with friendly Atmosphere. Only criticism is lack of lift which we knew beforehand. Helpful Staff gave us a ground floor room. Food in the restaurant below was excellent and so were the breakfasts..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jill! Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to make you feel at home. You're correct, we do not have a lift, however, as we did with yourself, we are always willing to give guests a room on reception... More 

England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

stayed one night with husband & son in triple room great deal dinner bed & breakfast , excellent size room & very comfortable, friendly & helpful staff, will come again when we visit St Andrews again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello fpmac24, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us! We are so glad to see what you enjoyed everything about your stay in your Deluxe Room, especially your kind comments about our staff. We take pride in the care that we give our guests in the hotel, and I'm so glad to see... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a table at the Hotels Playfair restaurant which we had eaten in befire and is superb and decided to stay overnight. Excellent hotel. Rooms were finished to a very high standard. We were in rom 24 and although there is double glazing you could still here people chatting outside the hotel. That said it was a Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Clive, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are so glad that you were able to dine with us twice over the last few weeks, and that we were able to treat you to an overnight stay as well. We are so privileged to have such a talented team of chefs in our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question