We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn St Andrews

Hotel website
23 St. Mary Street, St. Andrews KY16 9XP, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The New Inn St Andrews
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just back from a very enjoyable 2 night break over new year. The staff in the hotel are amazing, very friendly and nothing is a bother. The rooms were clean and cosy and the breakfast menu very varied. We had a very enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in going back.

Helpful?
Thank Rhoda A
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

thanks so much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The New Inn More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

It was only after visiting I spoke to a number a regular who informed me the New Inn has recently changed hands and a number of changes have been made meaning a lot of the other reviews are now irrelevant. Most strikingly is the change of menu, I ate there on a previous visit and found it to be fairly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stella_M992
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

I would like to clarify that The New Inn has not changed hands. The same person ( myself) has owned The New Inn since 2009. What has changed is the chef so whilst it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your meal I can assure you the macaroni does not come out a tin ! I will... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Having booked after reading the reassuringly good reviews on this site, and given that the rates are more than budget cost, I had expected more. In fact, this was possibly the worst night's sleep I have ever paid for! Our room (Kinkell) was directly above the pool table and we were therefore kept awake until 1am, listening to the jukebox... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahc39
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although its not the great news for us. During the winter the bar closes at 12 on Saturday however we had a couple of folks who were proving difficult to move on, Sadly its difficiult to legislate for the behaviour of others. So this led to noise going on later than we wished. We have... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

A group of us booked this friendly cosy hotel for a University reunion weekend. We had a great time, the owner Heidi and all the staff could not have been more helpful. They bent over backwards to make sure we were fed and watered. They are a great team. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept very well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bunterboy69
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, We really enjoyed having your group at The New Inn and look forward to welcoming you back next time the reunion hits St Andrews. More 

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Situated at opposite end of village from bus station. Good food and atmosphere in the bar. Music provided by an X factor star. Fair size room facing the street. Drinks reasonably priced and good selection.

Helpful?
1 Thank roosmith
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the New Inn. We hope to welcome you back to The New Inn some time soon. Jade Richards was the former X factor contestant singing in the bar, she will be back on 28th November More 

Newport Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

We booked sort of last-minute and the reviews online looked good! We originally thought we would stay for two nights and enjoy the environs of Saint Andrews. The room was so dirty and clearly had not had a thorough cleaning in years! My garage floor is cleaner than any surface in that accommodation! The rate includes breakfast which we paid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra F
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the New Inn. For such a massive issue with your room I would really have appreciated you taking the time to speak to me The Owner, I am in fact a woman, perhaps you were too busy rushing out the door to notice. Whilst in your opinion our bedrooms are dirty I... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We were delighted with this find. Just a short walk from the St Andrews town centre we stopped here for dinner. One of the main attractions for us was it was pet friendly so our best pal could join us. Have to say the welcome was exceptional and the dog in particular was made to feel very welcome with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnyrigger
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

My brother and I stayed for two nights in May 2015. The room and bathroom were spacious and well kept. The bar/restaurant was a nice addition with good food and well priced drinks. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Great time staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This is in a great location for getting to the centre of St Andrews on foot and we were even able to park right outside the door. There is a car park just around the corner. Ideally placed for a walk on the beach, although from the pictures I had seen I thought it was closer to the beach. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria3744
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Good location, walking distance to town, value for the money, refurbished bathroom and nice beds. Breakfast only after 8 which could be earlier if I could choose. Pick a room not directly above the bar, otherwise nice place. Always available parking directly outside on the street.

Helpful?
Thank Mats B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#14 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#15 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#12 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ogstons On North Street
Ogstons On North Street
#17 of 19 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay