We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Dunedin to your Saves list
25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Dunedin
Ranked #3 of 8 Kirkcaldy B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcaldy
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
37
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My step-daughter and I were exploring historic properties in Fife and stayed in this lovely guest house. There is parking in the front which is rare to find. Warm welcome from Yvonne, who showed us to a large and airy room which was beautifully decorated. The recommendation for a restaurant was greatly appreciated (a short walk away), the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Julie T, Thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope your next visit to Fife will be a little longer. Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Looked for a decent hotel on the web in Kirkcaldy, but all looked off putting, and mostly 20 years overdue a makeover, so went for a good B&B option, for an overnight stay whilst walking the excellent Fife Coastal Path. Glad we did, as Dunedin was well up to 4 star hotel standard. Large, clean, well furnished room, attractive old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear SteveF, Many thanks for your kind comments, We always try to make Dunedin a place WE would want yo stay in if we were visiting the area and the fact that you enjoyed the room and your breakfast confirms we seem to be doing (at least) something right!!!! We hope you will stay with us again soon and promise... More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Yvonne & Les made us so welcome we stayed an extra night, they are well situated with great local knowledge about trains and how to catch them gave us so much confidence, as we live in NZ in the country, where there are no trains it was fantastic. The rooms are big and beautiful as is the breakfast. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear 666Peg, Many thanks for your review of Dunedin. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our advice helpful. We are fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews on TripAdvisor and this always helps us gauge what we're doing right and what we're doing wrong. We hope you'll visit us again when you return to Scotland. Best regards... More

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This guest house deserves the best review. The minute you get in the front door you know you are somewhere that will not disappoint. Lovely clean room & super breakfast. We would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear JenniferP, Thank you so much for your positive review of Dunedin. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you return again soon. Best regards Les & Yvonne More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed here on Monday night and we were very pleasantly surprised as to how beautiful the house was. Our rooms were comfortably furnished and very large and the bathrooms were clean and we loved the underfloor heating. We were made very welcome by the owners and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious. As good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Anonymous561951, Thak you so much for your very kind review of Dunedin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast lived up to your expectation. You're right about the underfloor heating - it's a luxury when you're not used to it - but a necessity when you are! We look forward to seeing you... More

Sheffield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room and the rest of the B&B were excellent. I had stayed a few years before with my wife but was alone this timebut I was still treated with a lovely welcome. Breakkfast was brilliant, everything you could ask for. I asked about local restaurants and was given an Indian restauarant which proved to be as good as recommended.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear den54wort, Thank you so much for your review and we're delighted you feel you were treated like family - that is our intention. We'll do our best to live up to your review when we see you next. Best regards Yvonne & Les More

Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My sister and I loved this B&B. The house, grounds and our rooms were perfect. We were treated like family - the owners were friendly, helpful and treated us to a full hot Scottish breakfast in an elegant setting. We loved the fact it had parking in the front yard, not on the street. I would recommend this B&B to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Faith F, Many thanks or your review of Dunedin and we're so glad you intend visiting us again! We may not have Sarasota's sunshine but like to think we make up for it in other ways Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les More

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a lovely welcome on arrival at Dunedin by the owner, shown to the room and given some info then left to our own devices. The room was lovely with a view of the garden, well decorated with lovely furniture and linens. The room a twin came with a separate bathroom, a robe was supplied (or a modesty cloak as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate when guests take the time to give us feedback and all comments are always considered. We're glad you liked your room and your breakfast, and hope to welcome you back to Dunedin again soon Best regards Yvonne & Les More

Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Dunedin in June, as he was on business in the area, and I had chosen to come along. I was surprised to hear that the house was built in 1865 as the interior would never reflect its age. It has been beautifully maintained. Our room was in the front of the house,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear geismom, Many thanks for your review of Dunedin. You have stayed at dunedin on a couple of occassions now and it is clear you and your husband are seasoned travellers therefore your excelent review is all the more appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit to Dunedin Best regards Yvonne & Les More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

i came from northampton to see the kirkcaldy links market and i really loved the hotel and the free wifi was great and i will be going again love the rooms the service was great very helpful to directed me i found it well from the train station

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear fairgroundking, Many thanks for your review of Dunedin and we're glad you found our directions useful. We look forward to meeting you again anytime! Best regards Yvonne & Les More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin

Address: 25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kirkcaldy, Scotland

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kirkcaldy with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you want superb “boutique” style accommodation in the heart of Kirkcaldy - stay at Dunedin. Large, comfortable en-suite rooms with a modern contemporary feel. Off-street parking and free wireless web access for all guests. Breakfast is simply superb and if you’re tired of the “traditional” cooked breakfast try the fresh salmon, scrambled eggs and croissant – you won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer