We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunedin

25 Townsend Place, Kirkcaldy KY1 1HB, Scotland
Dunedin
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
40
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worked booked us in. We were amazed by the wonderful large twin and smaller twin. Both were well decorated, clean and spacious. The breakfast options were fantastic n really well presented n served. An excellent family run business that give u quality and class at a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

This was our first visit to Dunedin, having stayed at other hotels in Kirkcaldy in the past. We sent four nights here. A lovely room facing south. Very comfortable bed, power shower in the bathroom. We had our own key for the front door and could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was a leisurely affair with plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week in Kirkcaldy and stayed at The Dunedin. We were made very welcome by Yvonne and Les who who recommended places to eat and places to visit. Great decor, Central location and fabulous breakfasts. Would highly recommend. Will definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear thehatlady2014, Thank you so much for you review of Dunedin. We have always been very fortunate that our guests post overwhelmingly positive reviews here and we truly appreciate each and every one of them. We're so glad you enjoyed your week with us and hope you'll consider another visit to Fife soon Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Needing to stay in Kirkcaldy on business, I really couldn't have made a better choice. Dunedin has a wonderful feel about it, and from parking up in the private car park and entering through the large and solid outer doors, I knew it was my kinda place. The room was large, with seating and a very comfy bed. A nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Dombott, Thank you so much for your review of Dunedin - we have it proved to us time after time that doing things "on the cheap" as you put it, definitely doesn't pay, and astute guests such as yourself will always notice when they are. Sorry if you felt the cereals might have been a little stale (and no,... More 

Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I've been thinking about this review. Dunedin House is a very good B&B on a good central location in Kirkcaldy. There are a lot of positive things to say about this house (the location, nice restaurants nearby, spacious room, nice shower, three choices for breakfast, private parking, walking distance to the station for visiting Edinburgh, close to Fife Coastal Path).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Sonnie2403, Many thanks for your overwhelmingly positive review of Dunedin. I do feel that some of the less positive aspects of your review would not be an issue had you looked at our website - yes, we are on a road but this is not busy main road and we are set back from that road by over 15metres... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My step-daughter and I were exploring historic properties in Fife and stayed in this lovely guest house. There is parking in the front which is rare to find. Warm welcome from Yvonne, who showed us to a large and airy room which was beautifully decorated. The recommendation for a restaurant was greatly appreciated (a short walk away), the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Julie T, Thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope your next visit to Fife will be a little longer. Haste ye back! Yvonne & Les More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Looked for a decent hotel on the web in Kirkcaldy, but all looked off putting, and mostly 20 years overdue a makeover, so went for a good B&B option, for an overnight stay whilst walking the excellent Fife Coastal Path. Glad we did, as Dunedin was well up to 4 star hotel standard. Large, clean, well furnished room, attractive old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear SteveF, Many thanks for your kind comments, We always try to make Dunedin a place WE would want yo stay in if we were visiting the area and the fact that you enjoyed the room and your breakfast confirms we seem to be doing (at least) something right!!!! We hope you will stay with us again soon and promise... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Yvonne & Les made us so welcome we stayed an extra night, they are well situated with great local knowledge about trains and how to catch them gave us so much confidence, as we live in NZ in the country, where there are no trains it was fantastic. The rooms are big and beautiful as is the breakfast. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear 666Peg, Many thanks for your review of Dunedin. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our advice helpful. We are fortunate in receiving overwhelmingly positive reviews on TripAdvisor and this always helps us gauge what we're doing right and what we're doing wrong. We hope you'll visit us again when you return to Scotland. Best regards... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This guest house deserves the best review. The minute you get in the front door you know you are somewhere that will not disappoint. Lovely clean room & super breakfast. We would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear JenniferP, Thank you so much for your positive review of Dunedin. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you return again soon. Best regards Les & Yvonne More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and a colleague stayed here on Monday night and we were very pleasantly surprised as to how beautiful the house was. Our rooms were comfortably furnished and very large and the bathrooms were clean and we loved the underfloor heating. We were made very welcome by the owners and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were delicious. As good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dunedin25, Owner at Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Anonymous561951, Thak you so much for your very kind review of Dunedin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast lived up to your expectation. You're right about the underfloor heating - it's a luxury when you're not used to it - but a necessity when you are! We look forward to seeing you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes
Premier Inn Glenrothes
#2 of 8 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
6.9 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities