We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SouthSide Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
7 & 11 Newington Road, Edinburgh EH9 1QR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
SouthSide Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a lovely apartment. In total there were six of us staying in the apartment. There were three bedrooms with double beds but there were also three sofas in the living room which could be used as sofa beds too. The apartment itself was clean and there were a lot of towels available. There are lots of little shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting our daughter for the holidays. We found the flat exactly what we were looking for. A nice kitchen area with microwave and clothes washer. The location is also a nice factor. Several local bus stops to get into town. Also is not that far of a walk into the city. We had Flat#1 at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights, totally loved the apartment! Its about a 20 minute walk from princess street, but its on a main bus route so easy enough to jump on a bus :) We had no problems what so ever and great price for apartment! would 100% stay here again :) couldn't fault it!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Lovely place to stay, very central and shops and resturants nearby. We went to a lovely steak resturant a two minute walk! Man on arrival was very helpful & informed us of luggage storage available at the bus station and to take the tram to the airport. He also saved us from a diaster- we left our keys at apartments... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

The location was central but finding the apartment for the 1st time is almost like trying to locate the platform 9 3/4 in Harry Potter - you will miss it if you are not used to the small hole-in-the-wall numbers. We spent almost half an hour trying to locate it based on GPS but ended up having to call to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jungfraujoch86
DH1310, Manager at SouthSide Apartments, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing feedback about your stay and glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh I am sorry to hear you found the apartments uneasy to find, we do provide the address and postcode on your booking confirmation and we are actually in the process of putting up our new sigange for the apartments Thanks again for your comments More 

Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

Getting the keys worked as described, although I'm not a fan of telephone numbers you have to call on arrival at the airport that pick up and put you in a queue. I'd prefer not to be on hold for a long time on my mobile. The flat was clean, pleasantly decorated and furnished and had everything we needed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vasco421
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

Fab location - we were in Edinburgh for a concert at Queens Hall and the apartment is a five minute walk away. The apartment itself could be fantastic, however was a bit tatty in places (needed a repaint, floor replacing in bathroom) and overall needed a good clean. WIFI, whilst free is very poor. Due to it's location, there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mich33
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Our stay started with a bit of a mishap. We were checking in at 7pm and were expecting someone to meet us there as there is no reception service and the door was locked. We waited for 15 minutes under the pouring rain and still no sign of anyone. I tried phoning them but the office was closed. Thankfully there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emilie V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

My friends arrived from Italy last week, and found the flat superb. My first impression when arrived there was, the same. I had visited on the the morning they were to arrive, to put food into the cupboards and make sure everything was in order, which it was. Beautiful and everything that was needed. Can't really say anymore, but next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary1949
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and would not return under any circumstances, we advise people to avoid at all costs. The apartments are average at best with shabby blinds,single paned windows which keep out zero noise and loud floorboards. The location is 15 minutes walk from the royal mile, although you can find nicer apartments cheaper closer by, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottfarmer1982
DH1310, Owner at SouthSide Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Scott Thanks for the review which we obviously find disappointing and we do wish you had enjoyed your stay better. I was the person you spoke to yesterday late afternoon and I said I would investigate this – obviously you have not given me time to respond prior to posting this review as I said I would investigate. To... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
The Salisbury Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay