We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nicolson Apartments

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
28 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DD, Scotland
Nicolson Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #39 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Michelle M Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Family and I recently stayed with Nicolson Apartments in Edinburgh and I already want to go back! The apartment had everything we needed and so much more, it was like a home from home. Centrally located near all the city sites The Royal Mile, museums, theatres, and the train station, everything was in walking distance which is definitely a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Located only a short walk from Edinburgh’s world-famous Royal Mile, most popular tourist attractions, public transport links and local conveniences these apartments are ideal for those who want to make the most of all Edinburgh... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The apartment is near the old city center close to a lot a little supermarkets or bars. It was big enough for 5 people with 2 bathrooms, 2 rooms for 2 and 1 room for 1 person. All the equipment was good, so there is possibility to cook for example. Really nice for a short stay in Edimburgh. The bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our Drummond Street apartment. Located in a converted Victorian schoolhouse this property is situated in a historic building but the interior has been luxuriously designed and furnished with your comfort in mind. Offering two double bedrooms, a single room, two bathrooms and open plan living room... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed at the apartment in the quartermile area, the apartment itself was lovely and a lot bigger than I thought it was going to be! Location was great, literally a couple of minutes in a taxi and you were in the centre of town, will definitely rebook if I'm ever staying in Edinburgh again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in an online forum and are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. This deluxe one bedroom apartment is ideally located only minutes away from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, the Grassmarket and the Meadows (Edinburgh’s favourite public park) making it the ideal... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Very nicely furnished apartment, the only downside was the mattress on the bed was very thin, but tolerable for a two night stay. Good location from which to explore the city. Staff in the officer are amongst the most friendly and helpful people I have met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We select our furnishings and bedding based on the comfort level that will appeal to the highest number of guests but please accept our sincere apologies if the mattress was not to... More 

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Visited Edin and stayed here with my girlfriends family last summer, we really enjoy our time here . Location is good not too far from train station and city centre. Lots of restaurants, bar and pubs are around and a Tesco express near there for you to shop. We will come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in our fine city. Located only a few minutes’ walk from local conveniences, public transport links and most major tourist attractions each of our luxury apartments offer a fully functional home away from home for the... More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We booked a couple of apartments for a stag do and they were great. Really good location, bang in the middle of edinburgh near grassmarket and cowgate. Accomodation was realy good as well - decent size kitchen and living room which are ideal for groups who need some communal spaces to hang out. No complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Jevon, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh. Our properties are ideal for groups such as yours because they offer the luxury of a boutique hotel with the functionality and space of your own home. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and should you return to Edinburgh we... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

What a great little apartment - ideal for couples or a lone traveller! Mike who we organised our visit with was extremely helpful and attentive to all our needs. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a great location in the centre of Edinburgh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments and I have passed your comments onto Mike who sends his regards. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh again soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I stayed here this week for one night, booked last minute for one night, great location on West Nicolson Street which was ideal for the Festival Theatre. Shortbread and complimentary water in the room which was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesaptsedinburgh, General Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Grant, we are delighted that you enjoyed you time with Apartments Edinburgh. We strive to ensure our guests are given a warm welcome with complimentary tea, coffee, shortbread, mineral water, complimentary hospitality toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company as well as chocolate mints on the pillows on arrival. It is a pleasure to hear that you will be... More 

Athboy, Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed three nights in top floor apartment. .stairs were tough after a night on the grog..only place to hang your clothes shirts etc was on the coat stand in hall as no wardrobe...plenty of drawers for your socks and jocks though...none of the above was a hassle though and apartment was spotless. ..loved the slanted roof and the wee windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sven, thank you for taking the time to leave such kind and amusing feedback. It was a pleasure having you with and we are delighted you enjoyed the apartment’s facilities and design. Since receiving your feedback we have now installed hanging facilities. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh and should you return for a night “on the... More 

Lydbury North, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Beautifully appointed ground floor self catering flat in a great location with a decent cafe and a Sainsbury's within a minute's walk. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, excellent kitchen and dining space. Excellent welcome at office when picking up keys. Problem with the eating was dealt with politely, promptly and satisfactorily. We would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Graham, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Each of our apartments is located within a short walk of local conveniences, tourist attractions and public transport links. I am sorry to hear you that you experienced issues with the heating... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighborhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighborhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities