We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edinburgh Minto Hotel

16-18 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh Minto Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #115 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kevin L London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    59
    22
    24
See reviews for
38
112
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel on 13 May 2015. My reservation was handled in a very friendly and efficient Megan. When I arrived at midnight after a long train journey from London, the night porter was at his desk waiting to check me in. He went to pains to explain the excellent wifi. Over all this trip was great value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to the hotel solo as a women it is a little bit daunting for two nights ! I was greeted when I arrived which was nice but then the receiptionist handed me the key to my room which was on the first floor and I thought I have to carry my suitcase which was heavy and found out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, we appreciate all feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I have taken all your feedback on board and I will use this for upcoming staff training. I do hope you do decide to return to us and see the improvements for yourself! Thanks Claire Adams General... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am originally from the area and came "home" to be a tourist with my husband. The hotel, room (bed was amazingly comfortable) and food were amazing. The staff were second to none, hospitality and friendliness were 1st class! We'll be back, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel to attend to a family wedding. Arrived at 11 and wasn't able to check in until 14 which was fine. Went out to meet up with family but when we arrived at 14 we were told that our room still wasn't ready and it could take up to 2-3 hours before they could clean the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

We loved staying at the Minto Hotel Edinburgh, the room we had was great, very clean and tidy as was hotel it's self. All the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Really made our stay special. Will definitely be back up hopefully later in the year. I like to say a special thanks to Gill and Mell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaz,Bill & Al Thank you very much, we all look forward to welcome your on your next visit to the Minto Hotel. Kind regards Ismet More 

Val Morin, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Although we knew when we booked the hotel that it was not central, it was still a bit too far to walk to the Golden Mile, but buses are readily available. Not too many restaurants nearby, however. My one big complaint was with the size of the room. We stayed for 3 nights and had difficulty finding a place to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol and Jean Paul I hope you had a nice holiday visiting Edinburgh. Rooms at the Minto Hotel vary in size and cost, I’m sure that if you asked the reception staff they would have done everything they could to make your stay more comfortable. I’ve passed your nice comment to our breakfast chef. Kind regards Ismet More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

As an Edinburgh-born native, exiled in England some 47 years, I look forward to my return trips 'home' and the guaranteed warm welcome from the staff at The Minto, a welcome extended to all guests, native or otherwise. I have only eaten breakast in the hotel (relative-visitng so, so time-consuming) but if the breakfast is anything to go by it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you very much and hope you don’t stay away for a lomg time. Ceud mìle fàilte Kind regards Ismet More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

My friend who has mobility difficulties recently spent 4 nights in the Minto hotel where the staff could not have been more friendly and considerate of her needs. They looked after her really well, absolutely above and beyond all expectations. She was unable to leave the hotel due to her mobility issues and the staff took time to chat to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

It was pleasure having Mrs Butchart staying with us at the Minto, and from us all we wish her a very happy birthday. Kind regards Ismet More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Came to Minto quite recently, which looks great, nice and homey, friendly staff (mostly) and generally well equipped. A few gripes, however...After paying for a double room, we were provided with a double sized bed frame with 2 single mattresses on the frame. Total pet hate of mine when staying in a hotel, but got on with it, even if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. As you expect from a city centre hotel the noise pollution may vary every day. The back garden would have been accessible for you if the bridle suit was not occupied as it happened on that day. We hope to welcome you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We came to Edinburgh for a wedding of my partners son, and we chose the Minto hotel as it is close to his home, the first night we found our room was a bit small for us , so we asked if we could move , the lady on reception grabbed a key and came up with us to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thank you very much for your kind comments, it was the least we all can do. So sorry you had that bad cold but I’m sure that now you are in sunny Spain, you’ll feel better. See you on your next visit Regards Ismet More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (135)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Executive Suite (19)
Viewed
Honeymoon Suite (26)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Twin Room (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay