We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 144 Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh Minto Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland (South Side)
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh Minto Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edinburgh Minto Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Leif C Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    52
    22
    23
See reviews for
34
103
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked one night here as I was attending a Burns supper close by, and to be honest for £35 I wasn't expecting much, all I was looking for was a bed for the night, that's all. Well, I've got to say I got a lot more than that! this is a fabulous little hotel, clean and modern furnishings throughout,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have never before felt the need to go to tripadvisor to mention any hotel, place or destination. The Minto Hotel is such a great hotel - I feel compelled to tell of my very pleasant stay. I wasn't expecting much because the price was more than reasonable, it started off with a very nice warm welcome when booking in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well! This isn't meant to sound as bad as it might, but all i could think a lot of the time was Fawlty Towers! But I mean that it the nicest possible way. Most of the staff were great, even when my best friend managed to set of the smoke detector with copious amounts of hairspray ( this was our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I initially booked The Minto Hotel based on the price and the modern look to the website. Unsure of what to expect my partner and I walked from Edinburgh Waverly station, which would have been much easier by bus! Although, it took us about half an hour in rush hour foot traffic with a suitcase and a stop off at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay I am so please that you enjoyed your stay I have passed on all your excellent feedback to all my team Marie More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly you would struggle to get better value in Edinburgh. 2 double rooms for 80 quid. Upon arrival we were greeted by a great receptionist. Down to earth, welcoming and really knew her job and the area. She was keen to assist us with her knowledge if the city and the hotel. Parking was very easy although if it had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback I have padded on your nice comments to the staff We are at the present time looking at replacing our beds so thank you for your comments There is no excuse for poor cleaning issues and I have now completed a training and check list for all housekeeping staff Bathroom Tap I am sorry... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hall didnt have enough seats or tables, bar staff didnt have enough training and i was short change and given excuses not results. Food could have been better. Easy access to bus centre and train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you feel that your visit to the hotel was not up to your expectations The room had extra chairs at the back as this is what was specified by the lady that booked the funeral The short change was dealt with on the day we did a till check and found... More 

Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a cheap hotel near the town center of Edinburgh. We found this hotel. It is 2 miles away from it, but you can easily go walking. The rooms are great and the price is really good. The breakfast is great and the staff very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay I have passed on your positive feedback to all my staff I hope to see you again soon Marie More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the minto hotel for two nights on the 30th and 31st to visit Edinburgh for the new year. The hotel was what we expected really, it was modern and in a convenient location. The breakfasts were beautiful with lots to choose from. The only negative thing I have to say is that the rooms need a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay There is no excuse for poor cleaning for which we apologise I have taken your comments into consideration and now that we are in our quite period we have just started a full spring clean We are also in the process of a refurbishment and I hope that you will... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got in and the personnel were very friendly but it doesn't make up for the room. The room was very small and you only get one key to open and lock it so it was difficult when someone had to leave the room. The carpet was old and wasn't vacuumed when we got in. The tv remote control was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to review your stay There is no excuse for poor cleaning for which we apologise we only wish that this had been mentioned at the time and we could have responded there and then We are in a process of upgrading all of our rooms and will take your comments into consideration when making... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Cons: -Cold rooms. -Old windows that let in a lot of noise and made it very cold. -Situated next to a busy road, not helped by the old windows. -Disappointed that I had booked a double room but the bed was just two singles pushed together, made for 4 uncomfortable nights, happy to be back in my own bed. -Asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mintohotel, General Manager at Edinburgh Minto Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay We pride ourselves on proving excellent customer service and it is disappointing that we did not deliver on this occasion We are in a process of upgrading all of our rooms and will take your comments in consideration when making the right choice I hope that when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Edinburgh Minto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Minto Hotel

Address: 16-18 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Minto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edinburgh Minto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Minto Hotel Scotland

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay