We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 439 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Gladstone House

90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gladstone House to your Saves list
Gladstone House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
92%
Ranked #114 of 439 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013
PamBlas Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

By far one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in (as frequent international travellers, this says a lot). The accommodation was superb (spacious and well appointed) as was the breakfast (home cooking at its best). The hosts, Hamish and Tom were more than friendly and attentive showing a passion for their bed and breakfast lodging. The location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franktown, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The decor in our room was very good and we felt very much at home. The range of food available for breakfast was enough for anyones needs and of course was more than tasty. We would be pleased to return to this friendly B&B where nothing was to much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here from 21st Nov for 3 nights, it was our 1st time in Scotland and we had a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful city. We would highly recommend Gladstone House, lovely large room and a nice hot breakfast and Tom & Hamish were very welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to the Royal Commonwealth Pool on the Dalkeith Road. Edinburgh Old Town / Royal Mile about a 15 - 20 minute walk away, but very regular buses nearby that take you there in a few minutes. The Royal Park and Arthur's Seat a 5 minute walk. Had 4 nights here - no complaints at all. Rooms clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again next time you are here to research your family. More

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was by far the best experience I have ever had traveling. The room was very large and comfortable. I loved the sunken bathroom. The view was lovely. The food was out of this world. Tom and Hamish are gracious, kind, and extremely helpful host. I highly recommend beautiful Gladstone House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your high praise. It was such a pleasure for us to have a real Southern Lady come to stay. More

Montserrat
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed while working at the Royal Highland Show, as I had to leave to early for breakfast, a breakfast in a box was arranged. On my last day I was able to enjoy a cooked breakfast, which was excellent. A huge range if information is available from places to eat , bus routes and walking routes to town. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Our packed breakfasts are very popular. They give guests who have to go out early the freedom to take their breakfast with them and eat them when they feel like eating. We are glad you enjoyed them, but also that you had time to have a sit down breakfast and a chat before you left us. Thank you for taking... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at gladstone house while at a conference in Edinburgh. My room was really nicely decorated and very clean. The owners of the place were very charming, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious! Minor issue was that the room was cold during the day because its on a timer. So the one day when i stayed in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Guesthouse and got a chance to see some of our beautiful city between conference events. You certainly got into Scottish culture with your enthusiasm for Ceilidhs. Hopefully your ankle is all better by now. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant 3-days stay at this loveley guesthouse. Our room was a very comfortable and beautiful room with garden view. Everything was perfectly cleaned. The owners are so friendly and helped us with any query. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast with a great offer of different breakfast menus. The town center is just 1,6 km away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words here and in our visitors book. We try to make sure that our guest get the very most out of their visit to our city and it is so pleasing to know when we have achieved this. Luckily the weather allowed you to make the most of our varied and we hope interesting walks... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Positives: Nice furnishing/clean Reasonable location Negatives: We felt that this place was generally unaccommodating, uncomfortable in terms of hosting skills and poor value for money. It felt like we were children at school and we were behaving badly and therefore being punished. We felt that the hosts had an attitude where they felt that their place was better than any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positives and the high score for cleanliness. We are sad to read of your disappointment with your stay with us. When you booked with us, the agency site you used did state arrival times and that we reserve the right to charge for late arrivals. This was further made clear when we sent you our own... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was watching a TV program that was set in Edinburgh and wanted to see if the B&B that I stayed at in 1996 was still there. Yes, it is and now has a website that brought back lovely memories. My friend and I found Gladstone House through the "I" station at Edinburgh rail station and were so lucky! Convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghOwner, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this review

It is good to hear that your visit to our website brought back fond memories. You will have noticed a lot of changes since your last visit. We have made many improvements since you were here and the biggest achievement would be the award of another star by Visit Scotland (our Scottish tourist board) making us now a four star... More

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Also Known As:
Gladstone House Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 90 Dalkeith Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Gladstone House we offer our guests elegant four star bed and breakfast accommodation less than a mile from Edinburgh City Centre and within easy walking distance of many of Edinburgh’s historic and cultural "must see" locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Gladstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gladstone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.