We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ten Hill Place Hotel

4.0 of 5 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    381
    145
    52
    22
See reviews for
68
618
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1010)
  • Mar-May only
    (249)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (293)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (221)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

having booked as a mystery hotel .. i was very pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was . . staff most pleasant. i had contacted the hotel prior to visiting and the manager responded most urgently . which spoke volumes . as we didn't eat at hotel or visit wine bar i couldnt comment but from how busy it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a pleasurable stay at this hotel. My children were happy and the wife loved it. Breakfast was as you would expect, but what set it apart was the staff. Everything was clean and there hotel provided plenty of information after we established we were first time visitors to this beautiful city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear our team were able to make the difference to your stay. When you get people that takes the time and effort to look after you and provides some local tips it can make things so much more pleasurable. I am pleased you family loved our hotel so much and... More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was quite small but furnished nicely, however, one of the panes in the sash window was broken. Was disappointed with the bathroom as no toilet brush or extraction fan didn't get clean towels or new toilet roll on the first morning. Skirting boards & lamps had lots of dust on them and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is indeed a great location in a quiet Georgian square minutes from all the attractions. We receive lots of positive comments about our bedrooms and cleanliness so I am disappointed to read you were not pleased with your room. The issues have been reported to our housekeeping and maintenance teams. On the... More

Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful hotel. Very clean and quiet and the location was great. Just a few minutes walk to all the attractions and pubs. We took the night train from London to Edinburgh and arrived at the hotel around 7:30am. We were exhausted and figured we would give it a shot to see if they could let us check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay and we were able to accommodate you so well after your long journey from London. Our wine bar is a great place to relax and unwind especially with access to our free wifi across the hotel. The luggage store also offers great flexibility allowing you to... More

Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived just after midday and , as expected , our room wasn't ready but our bag was stored safely for us. After a busy day in Edinburgh we returned about 11pm and picked up our bag. As it was a rugby international weekend I think the prices were a bit inflated. The room we had was large and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your kind review. I am glad you were able to enjoy a calming stay with us on a busy rugby weekend. We do have a great location not offered by many city centre hotels - close enough to see all the attractions but tucked away in a quiet Georgian square away from the bustle. All the... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. Nothing exceptional. Bedroom was small but adequate. Nice and clean. The Glass door in bathroom is wrong! Very bad condensation on windows in bedroom all the time. Wouldn't like to stay here in deep winter as would be very cold. Single glazed sash windows. Hotel was a 5 min walk to royal mile perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found hotel quiet, clean and a good location to get round all the city centre attractions and to really experience the City. The sash windows are part of the Georgian style of our hotel that we believe gives the hotel its character, however we also have a modern extension that has... More

Peebles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is indeed a great hotel, which is in a great location for all Edinburgh amenities, the staff seem attentive and hard working. Check in was polite, straightforward and efficient, there is limited parking so I would book ahead. The room are well appointed and spotless and I must admit to a great nights sleep! Breakfast was well cooked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found our hotel to be a great experience both from location and our team. Pleased you have had a great night sleep and found the room to be spotless, our housekeeping team are pleased to read such positive comments. As we are one of the few hotels in Edinburgh we... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can walk to all the attractions from this newly furbished (2006) city Hotel.The rooms are small but comfortable,the staff well trained mixture of locals and Europeans. There is no toilet brush in the en suites and the doors are opaque glass which does not make for a relaxing seat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. I am glad you found the location good with it just being a short walk to the Royal mile yet set within a quiet Georgian square. We do endeavour to provide a great service to all our guests in all areas of the hotel and its great to hear you had a positive experience from... More

San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can walk from this small hotel to Princes Street and the Royal Mile, the heart of Edinburgh. Owned by the Royal College of Surgeons, which is a little strange. Staff were great, rooms were comfortable with every amenity. Restaurant had good food. Breakfast included with room rate. The only gripe was that the heating in my room did not work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is located in a great location just a short walk to all the main attractions yet still in a quiet Georgian square so you can have a peaceful stay. We are proud to say the hotel is indeed owned by The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and all our profits from the... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great hotel. Great to reach all attractions. Excellent service, great staff and the room was amazing. The breakfast was really lovely and the staff really happy and friendly. The Reception staff too were great as answered all questions and really helpful. The cleanliness, food, staff and everything was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. Our staff do take pride in giving our guests an excellent service to make every ones stay enjoyable. Our reception, kitchen and housekeeping teams will appreciate such positive comments. All the Best Neil & Team More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ten Hill Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place Hotel

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ten Hill Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay