We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ten Hill Place Hotel

10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    418
    149
    56
    24
See reviews for
76
670
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1105)
  • Mar-May only
    (297)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (294)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (267)
All months
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently visited this hotel with my partner for an overnight stay with breakfast included. The room and facilities were very nice but unfortunately in the morning when I awoke my feet and ankles were covered in bites and were very painful. I did consider speaking with the hotel at breakfast time but thought maybe it was just some reaction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night this week, needing somewhere relatively central but accessible for car. Lucky to be upgraded to top quality room "Skyline" on 5th floor with lovely views to the east, and lots of space. Bed very comfy, bathroom huge, only used one of the 3 armchairs, and didn't have time to try the exercise bike! Very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed one night. Room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space. Bathroom was lovely. The room was at the back of the Hotel so was very quiet but no view. Light fitting above the television was broken and despite reporting it before we went out in the evening it was not repaired (it was a Saturday... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on 16 May with my fiancée for a night away. Couldn't have picked a better hotel, receptionist very helpful on arrival and reception area very trendy and nice. Superior room was outstanding, massive bed, plenty room and massive bathroom. All the amenities you would require. Had a drink in hotel bar as we waited on our taxi, bar man... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, very well located: not too far from the city centre and the old town. Airport is 15-20 min far. We got a large room: calm, nice furnitures. Delicious breakfast. Good service and welcoming reception desk. We stayed there for one night and I recommend it for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room and facilities were lovely, great little hotel in a really convenient location. We enjoyed being able to walk to the royal mile and the main places of interest. But, slightly disappointed in the two weeks it took for our deposit to be returned to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jobeth B, Thank you for posting a review of your stay, great to read you enjoyed your stay but had an issue with your deposit, I note your stay was September 2014, so you will be pleased to know that we no longer take this type of deposit on check in due to these issues, so the next time... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there for my first visit to Edinburgh. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Robert was my favourite staff member, he offered great tidbits of information and a greater insight into Scottish culture. I would definitely stay there again the next time I go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky J, Many thanks for posting a review on your recent visit, pleasing to read you found the staff so friendly and that you would return is a testament to them, I will ensure your special mention to Robert who assisted you so professionally is passed on, he certainly is a credit to the hotel. Regards Mark, Robert &... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend at the end of April and were very impressed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and allowed us to check in to our room early (I can't stress how much I appreciated this as I'm 6 months pregnant and was exhausted from travelling). The room was a great size and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy J, Many thanks for your very kind and informative review, Extremely pleasing to read you found the hotels location, staff and cleanliness all excellent, and further that you where able to sample our extensive wine list and relax to the sounds of our resident pianist in the wine bar. I do hope you will return soon. Regards Mark... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel but let down by staff. Expensive breakfast (£15 pp.) but we had booked online and got a discount on this. When we booked in they denied any knowledge and was asked to pay full price if we required a breakfast which we declined. Come dinner at 19.00 we ordered a drink and looked at the menu our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Ten Hill Place, I am extremely surprised and as you are disappointed that we failed to meet our normally high expectations this is something we strive to deliver to all our guests, to read this is the area that... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

friendly and efficient. Charming receptionist was delighted to help, producing sellotape to assist wrapping a 21st birthday gift quickly extracted from my hand luggage as I booked in before my son arrived direct from university 2 mins after me!! Congratulations all round! Loved the location - nice bedroom, pleasant dining room, light, bright and airy. Enjoyed hearing the clip clop... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 16birdsong, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, great to read you found the receptionist friendly and that they assisted you so well in preparing for your sons arrival, and further that the location and the square itself made your stay enjoyable for all the right reasons. Please contact the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

469 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (224)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighborhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighborhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay