We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ten Hill Place Hotel

10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Hotel
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    412
    145
    56
    24
See reviews for
75
661
52
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1085)
  • Mar-May only
    (277)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (294)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (267)
All months
Calhoun, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved the location. Room size was great. Associates at the hotel were so wonderful. Couldn't have been better. Made an anniversary vacation something to remember. Anything that wS skied if the staff from house keeping to front desk were pleasant , helpful , and caring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a short break. Excellent location, so close to everything, castle, town centre and train station all within walking distance. Staff were amazing!!!!! Room really nice. Breakfast really good and dinner in the restaurant amazing! Will be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie79Holt, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your recent stay here at the hotel, It was great to read you found the hotels location ideal for the local attractions and all within walking distance. Also pleasing to read you enjoyed both your breakfast and dining experience and found the staff amazing. The next... More 

Durham
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday treat and was certainly not disappointed. About 15 mins walk from Waverley and less from the Royal Mile, ideally situated to explore Edinburgh. Staff very friendly and helpful able to check in earlier than advertised, both rooms we had booked were very clean, comfortable and well maintained. Good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Durhamguy, Many thanks for your great and informative review, Pleasing to read that you found the hotel centrally located for your needs and that you enjoyed your dining experience in the wine bar, further that all staff you encountered where friendly and delivered good customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel the next time you are... More 

Kilmarnock, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through Last Minute.com having been given only a rough idea of location and knowing it was 4 star. Less that 10 mins from Waverly station it is a perfect location and we could not fault the room in any way. Spacious, very comfortable bed, clean and a good shower. We were on a room only basis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KillieBoab39, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel from your recent stay with us. Great to read you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. We do also do a breakfast roll and hot drink offer for £5.00 to takeaway if the buffet option is not for you. Please contact the hotel... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, fantastic room. Reception staff very helpful. However breakfast underwhelming and chaotic towards the end of service. Would go back to hotel but wouldn't bother with breakfast given numerous alternatives at doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RussellAS, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, overall I can see that you enjoyed your stay, however it is disappointing to read that breakfast was not of the desired high standards we have set ourselves. Please when booking next time contact myself directly so that I can personally ensure... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found this hotel online as we were visiting the playhouse , this hotel is tucked away down a side street away from all the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh but only a 5 min walk to royal mile so this is a perfect location, we managed to get a space at the back of the hotel in their secure parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tammy A, Thank you for your kind review, Great you found the hotel centrally located and within easy walking distance of all the main tourist attractions in Edinburgh. Our breakfast offering has received great feed back happy you enjoyed it and found the wine bar relaxing and enjoyed the atmosphere with our resident pianist. Next time you are planning... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the hotel, we visited Edinburgh last august during the festival , and decided to take another break here for a few days. We booked one of the skyline suites, these rooms are lovely ,plenty of space with a huge king size bed , im glad to see that the clear strips on the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spoons26, Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us, great to read you are a loyal returning customer and pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. We have started a process of filling in the strips within the bathroom doors that required it and have recently re-launched our breakfast offering so I am glad you... More 

Durham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, only let down by the fact that the toilet in our bathroom was dirty - I actually had to use toilet paper to rub congealed blood off the seat - ugh! The toilet rim had also not been cleaned properly. Other than that the hotel was absolutely fine. The gentleman on reception was friendly and polite, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katmel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, It was pleasing to read overall you enjoyed your stay, although extremely disappointing that our very high standards of cleanliness have let us down on this occasion. Please contact myself directly at the hotel the next time you are planning to visit Edinburgh so that I can personally... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a superior room facing the square, there was some noise from passers by but not so much as to spoil a good nights sleep. The beds were comfy and the room clean. Every staff member that we spoke to was friendly and polite. One even stayed after his shift to talk to us about places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs_L14, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us, pleasing to read all the staff you encountered where friendly and polite especially Andrew who I believe stayed on after his shift to help you with the local attractions. Please contact the team directly next time you are planning a return visit so we may offer you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with another couple on Friday 27th of march till Sunday the 29th . We had a early flight from Dublin .Our rooms were not ready so we left our bags there and explored the city .I spoke to Patrick at the reception and he gave me some advice on what to do .so map in hand we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iano1975, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, Great to read you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotels location ideal for the local tourist attractions. Our 10 for £10 menu has proven popular in the Wine bar, the kitchen team will be especially pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. Regards Mark... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

449 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighborhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighborhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question