We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 167 Edinburgh accommodations

Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE , Scotland (Cowgate)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart City Hostels Edinburgh to your Saves list
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
71%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sandra Y Cork, Ireland
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    151
    71
    26
    30
See reviews for
41
48
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hostel is perfect, at the center of everything. It felt safe and secure. My room was basic but clean. Had an ensuite which was great. The shower was very nice but when you showered it didn't drain properly into the hole in the floor so the whole bathroom floor was soaked for ages after. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hostel this one, spacious and clean rooms with basic but more than adequate facilities. The large bar and lounge area caters for those who want a quiet corner to relax in or a place to meet others and mingle! The food was good and the atmosphere was very chilled, helped along by friendly staff. I went along as part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for choosing Smart City Hostel and thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back. Remember if you are coming with a stag party we offer the cheapest rates direct - email groups@smartcityhostels.com. Kind Regards, Anne@sch More

Lopez Island, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Party hostel for sure! I stayed for 6 nights, maybe slept 2 hours each night even with good earplugs. Doors slamming all night, band in basement bar playing louder and later than reasonable. Every time I turned my back something was stolen, especially food from the kitchen. The toilets (not sinks) in my dorm room were only cleaned once in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review Smart City Hostel. I am sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on anne@smartcityhostels.com so I can look into this more, Kind Regards, Anne More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here as a party of four for one night as we were in the city for a gig. We needed a place to stay literally to sleep in but were so impressed and satisfied with the hostel. We couldn't ask for a better location - right off the Royal Mile and a mere walk from clubs such as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hostel. We do have a 24 hour reception and we are always happy to help with noise complaints but we can't help if we are not aware so I would say informing reception would be the best move. Still I am glad this did not disturb... More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is in an excellent location and right off the Royal Mile. Massive and modern with large dorms. Very clean and with a very large common area including a bar/restaurant. Great for meeting travellers and perfectly central for going out. Friendly staff and I didn't even realise there was a kitchen until seeing the pictures on here! Edinburgh has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. I am sorry you didn't realise we had a kitchen, all of our guests are welcome to use this. I am a bit concerned about the 'extra guest' in your room, if you could give me some more information on anne@smartcityhostels.com I can try to get to the... More

Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The attitudes of security staff and duty managers in this place were terrible, didnt know playing pool was a crime..the hardened bouncers waited till i went to toilet to then tell my partner to stop playing pool as we were drunk..sorry but we were not drunk and your bouncers didnt need to force us out..ie dont lay your hands on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, As we have previously discussed we have both got a different version of events of your experience at our hostel. We have a high level of customer service at this hostel as you can see from our reviews. Again I am sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay which is why we refunded you as requested... More

Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Maybe the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. That's my first thought about the Smartcity Hostel. Of course, you're not in Edinburgh to sleep. This was my first, and hopefully last, hostel stay. The teenagers I was with LOVED it, though. They liked the way the toilet and shower were basically shared space and they could have cared less... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel, I'm sorry you felt the bed was uncomfortable but I am glad the teenagers enjoyed it. I would suggest if you come back again you try one of our family rooms which have a double bunk bed, you may find this more comfortable, Thanks Anne@sch More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I arrived at this hostel right after New Years. Unforunately, we made an error and arrived at the hostel about 12 hours early. After asking the reception to see if we can check in early, they said that they were out of space for that night (originally booked a 12 bunk room) but they arranged us to stay in an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to wright such a detailed review of Smart City Hostel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the future, Thanks, Anne More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were upgraded from an 8 to 6 bed dorm for free which was nice. Breakie was good. However beds were unmade and without sheets. We had to chase this up with reception. Beds were squeaky and uncomfortable. Free wifi was a bonus but didn't work on our floor which was annoying

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghSmart_city, Front Office Manager at Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review Smart City Hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, we think breakfast is a great way to try haggis while your in Edinburgh. We are sorry your bed was unmade this should have been ready for you on arrival, I am also sorry to hear about the... More

Been to Smart City Hostels Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Scotland
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 167 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Smart City Hostels Edinburgh 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Smart City Hostels, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Smart City Hostels is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Smart City Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Smart City hostels really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Smart City also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Smart City Hostels is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart City Hostels Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.