We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 439 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Broughton Hotel

37 Broughton Place | Newtown, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland (Broughton)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Broughton Hotel to your Saves list
Broughton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
93%
Ranked #88 of 439 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
KarenRichardson85 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    98
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
146
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Broughton on the weekend 11th-13th of April with my family. On arrival in town we had a short walk from the Waverley train station to get to there, We found the location great for all the local amenities and sites to visit. It was clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are very pleased with everything! Love to return and absolutely recommended. Nice and clean rooms. Not directly in the tourist roads, but very near which we think is much better. Safe, friendly and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fiona and Freddie are operating the hotel with their heart. We stayed there for 2 nights and returned from St Andrews for another night. The location is within walking distance to most of the attractions. In fact we did walk to all places we visited during the 3 days. Our room with a street view and the surroundings were quiet.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent the weekend in this great City; but the accommodation made it for us. It's only 10 minutes from the railway station and City centre; so a great place to stay at reasonable prices. The owners are very friendly and ultra helpful. Room was great, all we needed, very clean & tidy and as for their breakfasts - Great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location for the Waverley rail station, theatre and main attractions in Edinburgh. Very helpful host. Good value for money. Leaving our bag until late afternoon on our last day was a real bonus. We didn't use the room during the day but it was nice to know that we had the ability to call back if necessary. Prefer this... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Broughton Townhouse (formerly the Broughton Hotel) has all you want from a B & B. The rooms are cozy with good beds and a spacious bathroom + all the trimmings… hairdryer, tea and biscuits, Wi-Fi and adapters (if you come from continental Europe). The owners, Freddi & Fiona, are kind and help with whatever they can and serve a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strabane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a super weekend in Edinburgh where my daughter,mum and myself stayed at The Broughton Hotel - B&B.The owners Freddie and Fiona were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. Breakfast was first class with plenty of options. We had a triple room which was small but very clean and comfortable. The location... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite a lovely location, excellent breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Our room had a real issue with the shower; the handle was broken and the knob did not turn on properly. It was moulded and the bath-mat was greyish white. The curtains did not close properly and the hairdryer did not work after 5 minutes!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Discofred57, Owner at Broughton Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a few problems on your short stay.1 the bath mats are cream not white but a few persons have made this comment that they look grey! We have replaced them with pure white. 2.The shower holder was cracked but like many things if we are not informed we can't fix it (fixed now) 3.as with the shower... More

Banff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small B&B style hotel in Edinburgh's New Town. Perfect location for city centre, restaurants, etc and has it's own private parking. Owners are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast is freshly cooked, with good quality ingredients and is excellent. Rooms are small but very well equipped and clean. A very fast, free wi-fi service is available in every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A warm welcome from both Fiona and Freddie- more than willing to help with any queries/ recommendations of where to visit/eat and how to get there. Small hotel (only 6 rooms) but that just makes it feel more homey. Central location close to the sights, shopping and the theatre- and when they're up and running easily accessible to the trams.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Hotel

Also Known As:
Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 37 Broughton Place | Newtown, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with free high speed wifi, free private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broughton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.