We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nira Caledonia

4.0 of 5 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nira Caledonia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nira Caledonia
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    100
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
39
306
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arriving at hotel, staff were very pleasant and and were very helpful. Room was amazing we felt like royalty Everything was spotless and on several occasions during the evening staff came to see if we had enough coffee, biscuits and water. The only disappointment was the food this may have been because we had booked using a voucher. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and my colleagues. I was disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with the menu in Blackwood's Restaurant and also the breakfast... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights with a voucher. On one of the nights dinner was included. From the website the hotel looked really luxurious and we were looking forward to our stay, however we were quite disappointed. The hotel is situated in the Stockbridge area about a 10 minute walk from the city centre. We actually really enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are disappointed your expectations were not met and we have discussed your feedback with the relevant departmental managers. There are a number of our rooms having room care at present and apologise the first room you were offered was not to standard. I... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here whilst on a 3 day visit to Edinburgh. We had a jacuzzi suite and our room was amazing and very cosy! The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the hotel was a close walk to all the shops. All in all we couldnt of asked for a better few days in Scotland and a lovely hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, from the perfect location for exploring Edinburgh, our spacious rooms and our hearty Scottish breakfast. I have shared your comments with our team and we all look forward to welcoming... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for just 1 night. I stayed in the Scott suite, when I arrived at 2:20pm (check in was at 2pm) the room was not ready, this was the only bad point of my stay, staff took our luggage and we went out into Edinburgh. Arrived back at 5pm and was shown to the room which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your recent visit and for your kind comments. I do apologise that your room was not available when you arrived. We do try our utmost to have all of our rooms ready for 2pm.... More

Ballater, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hidden gem is worth finding.It is i a nice part of Edinburgh called Stockbridge. Only minutes from restaurants and quality shops. On arrival the staff were welcoming and efficient The rooms were of high end furnishings and large. ( upgrade to executive room.its worth it ) We were a group of 4 couples celebrating a 70th birthday so i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel bedrooms and our location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed... More

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in January with my partner, the staff were lovely, we dined in the restaurant the first night and the food and service was great, rooms were immaculate and staff were falling over themselves to ensure all of our requirements were met, would recommend and return for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the timeto write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia in January. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious dinner in Blackwood's Restaurant to the luxury surroundings of your room. Your comments regarding the attentiveness... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for two nights whilst on a leisure break to Edinburgh. I was unsure about what to expect as i didnt really know much about the hotel. It did not disappoint at all. The entire experience was outstanding. I stayed in one of the petite double rooms which was extremely nice and had a lovely view over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and my colleagues. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were particular impressed with the little personal touches we do.... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm just home from two nights' stay at Nira Caledonia on a voucher deal. We booked for two nights' stay and dinner to celebrate my birthday. The hotel itself is very well situated on a quiet street just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Edinburgh. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were shown straight to our room. Having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and as a valued guest, I was disappointed to read your comments that you may not return to Nira Caledonia when you next visit Edinburgh. I have spoken to our Maintenance... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Nira Caledonia, late January. The staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. The room was luxury at its best, couldn't have asked for more. Had a meal in the restaurant and breakfast each morning, the food was fabulous and the scottish breakfast will set you up for the rest of the day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast, fabulous dinner in Blackwood's Restaurant to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments... More

Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our first trip ever to Edinburgh and we couldn't have asked for a better place! The property is quaint and just what one imagines Georgian houses would be like. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully done. The best part was the little garden and the back. It had a pretty lawn and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

228 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay