We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nira Caledonia

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nira Caledonia
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    508
    137
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
58
448
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (712)
  • Mar-May only
    (218)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at the Nira Caledonia for 3 nights on business, taking advantage of the lower rates that hotels have in January - what a find! The hotel is situated in two buildings that are UNESCO Grade A, meaning the interior and exterior cant be changed - I was lucky enough to get room 1008, which was huge! The decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Hi Dp46. I read your review out to everyone at our morning meeting and it set everyone up for the day. Thank you for taking the time to post. I'm glad you enjoyed room 1008, it really is a beautiful suite and certainly one of my favourites. It was fully refurbished in December and I really feel now that it... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Just home from a two night stay, what a fantastic hotel. Great location, Stayed in a suite number 1008, gorgeous room, it was pure luxury with plenty of room, huge bed, tv, bathroom etc... Antique style decor was beautiful. The room had all we needed and more. Staff were great, they made us feel special right from the moment of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

KevinF It was really great to meet you and your family . Your review of 1008 is a great room for couples with children as it is so big . We loved looking after the three of you each day at breakfast and I am glad you got to sample one of our Highland Drover steaks from the Josper. We... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived early, room was ready. Needed late check out, no problem. Staff were brilliant, pleasant and really helpful in finding local restaurants. Rooms decorated beautifully and a small special requested on the booking was met. 5-10mins walk away from the main shopping streets and in a quiet and affluent residential street/area. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear igkenworthy. Well your reviews says it all! Thank you. We are a Great little hotel. We aim to supply a guest centric experience that creates a home from home feeling. We are refurbishing all our rooms and this will finish in March 2014 , as I write this we only have 5 rooms left to complete. Your room has... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here between Christmas and New Year (2013-2014) we absolutely loved it.. better than your usual drab chain hotels.. we stayed in the executive room which had its own private jacuzzi which was great.. the breakfast's were nice and the staff were great, they couldn't have been more helpful.. even more so when my partner had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Hi LJONTOUR. Funny how 3 little words can really capture the essence of our hotel. "Great boutique hotel" We believe that personal service with bespoke rooms , each with their own personality and quirks really make us stand our from faceless chain style hotels. I was involved in finding your partners bracelet and getting it back to you safely. Sir,... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

shame, nice location in stockbridge / new town. room it self was nice (some bits showing there age). no way of regulating temperature in the room, so freezing when i got there then very hot when trying to get to sleep... room was really noisy. they took all the wheely bins out at 10.30 PM right outside my room. noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

AlexDragon. As you were aware we did not have any knowledge of your booking as you turned up and we had only one room left. On checking the booking you claimed you made we discovered that you had booked for next week so we gave you the only room we had left in the hotel. I'm sorry your room was... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here as a couple between Christmas and New Year. The location is lovely, close to Stockbridge and the West End. The hotel and its furnishings are attractive. Our top floor room had a great view. We booked a small double as that was the only one left but although it was well equipped, I’d recommend paying extra for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Future guest, This review has now been removed twice by tripadvisor as we have sent evidence of the fact ALL our rooms have thermostats. The previous reviews included hate speech and language not in keeping with the terms and conditions of the site and thus were removed, however the reviewer has decided to keep on posting so I thought... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wow, that's all I can say when they opened the door to my room (No.1011) - candles, petals, champagne and large Jacuzzi! My husband booked this for a surprise for my 50th birthday and all I can say if you want to treat your partner this is the way to do it. The suite was gorgeous and I would highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Hello lel701 Nothing says romance like champagne and a jacuzzi suite. I'll let you into a secret, it wasn't all us. Your husband booked our romance package and made some extra tweaks. 1011 is a stunning room and with candles, petals and our special Nira chocolates I think its one of the best rooms in Edinburgh. I spoke with you... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family & I (6 adults & 2 children) had a fantastic holiday break during the Christmas period -staying 4 nights in total. We arrived early, after a 3hr drive and was welcomed by Rory (General Manager) who helped alongside other staff members in unpacking our many sets of luggage/presents from the car(s) into our hotel rooms. My overall impression... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Well Cal12jan. Thank you for reviewing us. Looking after your extended family over the Christmas period and sharing the day itself with you was great fun. Thank you also for the name drop, always humbling to see my name in any review. All the team mentioned were delighted also and your review goes up on our staff notice board for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was lucky enough to win a couple of nights stay at the Nira Caledonia and we visited in November. Since then we've already recommended it to friends and had a client stay there. The room was in the building next door in the basement, it was a lovely large room overlooking a garden. The only shame was it didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Tavia14999 5 stars is amazing, thank you for taking the time to review. I note that your room didn't have a high ceiling and was in townhouse 10. I think this would be room 1004 , not all rooms have that as a feature but many do, if you stay again I'll put this in your profile and see... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I recently decided to splash out on a mini break at Nira Caledonia. The website was very impressive and promised much. However, I'm sad to say it was a very disappointing experience and I felt I would have been much better off paying for a cheaper chain hotel. I had booked a petite double and was expecting a room of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Schmetterling753 Your review took me by surprise today. Overpriced. After investigating it seems you stayed during August and The Edinburgh festival. I'm sorry to say that all hotels in Edinburgh are very expensive during this peak month. You mentioned you booked at "petit double " but expected a "moderate" sized room, perhaps the clue is in the name..? Petit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

421 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (171)
Viewed
Bellevue (Jacuzzi) Suite (35)
Viewed
Dean Suite (39)
Viewed
Executive (30)
Viewed
Petite (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 146 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#6 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,362 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#5 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighborhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighborhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay