We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nira Caledonia

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland (Formerly Number Ten Edinburgh)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nira Caledonia
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    128
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
418
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (672)
  • Mar-May only
    (211)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nira Caledonia is a delightful boutique inn, a great alternative to your tiresome hotel chain claiming to be 4-5 stars. It’s a great place to unplug, relax, and unwind. We’re in an executive double room 10/13 (building 10 room 13) amenities included sitting area, mini bar & snacks, Nespresso, tea, kettle, safe, hair dryer, and laundry service, overall very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not for the physically unfit! Certainly not the top floor rooms! The climb up and down the well-padded stairs was a virtuous way to start and end the day. No wonder all the staff are young...and fit! The hotel comprises of two adjacent buildings. The reception and restaurant in one, possibly rooms too, and more rooms in the adjacent block.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Only stayed one night at this hotel so my experience is limited to that. Upon arrival the reception is in a tiny front entrance that require two doors to open. Carry large amount of luggage I struggled to get this into the front door. What was disappointing about this was that two staff members were sitting at reception the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel, beautifully situated. Arrived from the States late morning on a Sunday; the room wasn't quite ready, which gave us time to roam the Stockbridge market -- highly recommended, a real treat as it gets you into the flow and personality of the city straightaway. Arrived back to our room being ready, with bags in the room (helpful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here May 2014. Arrived to be checked in and our room wasn't quite ready so we headed for a drink at the bar, lovely barman, can't remember his name unfortunately. Soon enough our room was ready and we were taken by one of the staff who was very welcoming. The room was beautiful with it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Nichola H, Thank you for posting such a fantastic review. It was lovely looking after you both. I always love when there are some pictures too. Seems like the wine was going down a treat at Mark Greenaways that evening! As you mentioned upon arrival, we always try our very best to get all of our rooms ready before... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great breakfast, staff and Stockbridge location. Room, although boutique and stylish did not have enough storage space for our two small suitcases and to allow you to walk around the bed comfortable. Also the frosted glass door to the ensuite did not close properly and meant you had to be very comfortable indeed with your roomy.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear katiepia, Thankyou so much for taking a moment to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am really glad to hear that you have in particular, mentioned our staff and our breakfast service. Both respectively sit upon the top of the list of my favoure aspects of the hotel. I am dissapointed to read that you found our... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel, accommodation and service never fails to amaze me here. Staff are attentive, provide a personal level of service and remember all of the small things that make this a true home from home. The rooms are spotless and provide a level of luxury that make a stay, either for business or pleasure, such a relaxing experience. This will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Jon B, Once again you have outdone yourself and blown me away with a truly amazing review of Nira Caledonia here in Edinburgh. I can promise you truly that all of us including myself are delighted when we see that you are coming to visit us again. I feel that now we can safely call this place your home... More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A superb little hotel in a delightful area in the New Town. Attentive staff, restrained modern décor meets glorious Georgian architecture. Beautiful fixtures and fittings, thoughtful conveniences and a superb restaurant: a real joy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear DeeJBee, A very short, yet spectacularly wonderful review of Nira Caledonia. Nothing more needs to be said. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It seems that we really did hit the nail on the head which ofcourse is music to all of our ears. Stealing a phrase of your own, it... More 

Runway27
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two nights of pure luxury in a cricket-pitch sized room, close to the centre of Edinburgh and cocooned from any hassle, noise, imperfection or disappointment. Everything was as good as it could be and as a couple we are not easy to please, but we were blown away by the service, restaurant, cocktails and "nothing was too much trouble" breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Trav4114r, Your review for me reads exactly what I would imagine a perfect review to say! All of our staff pay close attention to TripAdvisor daily and I can assure you that your very kind review has not gone unnoticed. Thank you very much for posting. As you say 'Nothing was too much trouble', which is exactly the ethos... More 

Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start? From the suprise upgrade to the spacious jacuzzi garden apt, to the delicious (included) breakfasts to the fantastic restaurant recommendations, this was one of the best places we have ever stayed (and we are frequent travelers). The staff are all charming and take care of everything, making the stay in Edinburgh memorable

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShonGourlay, Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Jessica B, Let me first start of by saying wow! You have really made our day with such a fantastic review. It seems that we really achieved perfection with every aspect of your stay which is exactly what we strive to do day in day out. Our staff are without doubt our prize asset and really do make a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

404 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (171)
Viewed
Bellevue (Jacuzzi) Suite (35)
Viewed
Dean Suite (39)
Viewed
Executive (30)
Viewed
Petite (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighborhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighborhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities