We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grassmarket Hotel

#41 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
94 - 96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT, SAVE 10%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grassmarket Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The Grassmarket Hotel may be self-consciously hip buy that doesn't detract from the quality of what's on offer. It's difficult not to like Dandy wallpaper or the magnetic wall map of attractions. The signage probably tries too hard but underneath all that is a good hotel. Location is excellent, at the top of the Grassmarket, short walk to most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken M
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ken! Thank you very much for providing your feedback on the stay you had with us! It is very encouraging that you enjoyed the Dandy features we have on the walls in the rooms. We are definitely very lucky with our location, and I hope this allowed you to see everything you wanted to see in Edinburgh! Thank... More 

glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Funky hotel in great location. Great beds, tea & coffee with tunnocks tea cake in all rooms :) Have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and will gladly do so again. Reduced parking is available at Castle Terrace NCP which is a 6min walk to the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wemweb
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon! I am happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us and that the in-room Tunnocks and tea/coffee making facilities were to your liking! I am also very grateful that you choose to stay with us on more than one occasion! It's great to know that people fancy coming back once they have stayed! I hope you chooser to... More 

Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were exiting for staying at the hotel because of earlier reviews and pictures. When we finally arrived we got really disappointed. I would rather spend 100 GBP extra and stay at the Apex hotel right across the street. Our room was muggy and not too clean. The window was filled with mold, which is not what you expect when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anniedh
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Annie, I am sorry to see that you chose to write a negative review after we did our best to help with any issues you had - the choice was made not to move rooms despite our offering, and when we checked the window sill it was discovered that this was not mould - it was a stain... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I keep coming back to the Grassmarket Hotel, and I am currently planning my third visit. It is located in the old part of town, and close to the castle, a bunch of cool indie shops, vintage shops and restaurants. The rooms are quite spacious with comfy beds, and cool design. I love the products in the bathroom, the tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elin R
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Elin! Thank you very much for your further feedback following your most recent stay! I am very happy to hear you had another good time staying with us! I am glad you enjoy our in-room products! It's much better to have something fun rather than the bog-standard hotel stuff! Certainly depending on your position in the hotel the... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room might work for some but for us I'd did not. The hallways are tight and cramped, and smelled like cigarette smoke, and was above the noisiest bar in grass market as well. The bed was very hard. The room are small and cramped. I'd like know what they were thinking with a glass door between the toilet and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jm8697
64manager, Guest Relations Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for sharing your experience with us so that we can work to better our offering. Certainly some of our rooms are smaller and advertised as "snug", and perhaps looking for our larger "comfy" rooms would have been more to your liking. Grassmarket is certainly full of pubs that are busy and great for a night out... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Brilliant staff and lovely hotel, would recommend this hotel to everyone. lovely quirks also with Beano Wallpaper, built in ipod doc station in the wall and volume buttons everywhere and also attached to a pub which serves a lovely breakfast. the shower and bathroom were clean and looked amazing, shower was brilliant and easy to operate. Good size rooms and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jscott_549354
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jscott_549354, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - we really appreciate it! It's great to hear such positive feedback regarding the rooms, and the customer service you received during your visit - the staff will be so pleased with your kind comments :-) I hope we can welcome you back again... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Only stayed for one night but would have loved to stay a wee bit longer. I booked a quad room, which was great- very spacious, comfortable, bright and modern with a really big ensuite bathroom . The room had everything we needed for our overnight and would be a comfortable base for longer stays. The beds are comfy, there's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - we really appreciate it! It's great to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and appreciated the extra amenities in the bedrooms :-) I hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to... More 

Bacton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was suggested to us by a friend who gave us a rave review, luckily their advice was spot on. The hotel is right in a lively part of Edinburgh and isn't to far from a lot the transport routes. The hotel itself has lots of unique charm with features such as a magnetic map of the city in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
64manager, Supervisor at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Daniel J! Thank you so much for leaving this amazing 5 star review! We are so happy to hear that your experience with us lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed all of the unique features in our rooms. We are extremely lucky to be in such an amazing central location where we can also offer such... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the best, cheapest and central Hotels in Edinburgh. Made my stay in Scotland's capital all the easier being so central and the staff were more than helpful. Bar of the hotel was very nice too. Lastly anywhere that your room greets you with Tunnock teacakes is the best in my books :)

Helpful?
Thank Corey G
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Corey, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - we really appreciate it! It is fantastic to hear you found us to be great value for money, and that the hotel and customer service exceeded your expectations. I hope we can welcome you back again on your next... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to Edinburgh with one of my best friends, who was at that time pregnant and thus not super mobile. However with this hotel we could go everywhere where we wanted without walking or driving for ages as the hotel is very centrally located. The staff were friendly and our (bath) room was spotless, the bed fresh and crisp... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruby486
64manager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ruby, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests as it helps us to improve our offering! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and had such positive feedback about your stay and the hotel. It... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

595 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (320)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (219)
Viewed
'Comfy Double Room (60)
Viewed
'Comfy Plus Quad Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,279 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay