We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)

#39 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Special Offer
Rooms from £58
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    105
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
111
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions. It is ideally situated for visiting Edinburgh, bus and train services are a 1 or 2 minute walk away. The hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
stockton on tees
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a weekend, everything was how you would expect from a premier Inn.nice room,comfy bed and excellent breakfast.hotel staff were friendly and efficient as we're the staff in the pub next door.very close to bus and rail connections to take you into edinburgh city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello Dazbo15, I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback so that we can ensure we are providing our guests with everything they need to ensure a great experience with Premier Inn. I am so happy to hear that you found our team and the Cuddie Brae team to be friendly and helpful. All... More 

Thorpe Hesley, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An ideal location if you're planning to do some sightseeing around Edinburgh or the surrounding area. The rooms were modern, clean and looked as though they had been recently refurbished. Our room overlooked the railway line, we were already aware of potential noise from passing trains and were told this at check-in too, but advised that the 'triple-glazed' windows would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello Thorpe-Hesley_co_uk, I appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you like our rooms, which were refurbished almost two years ago. Our housekeeping team work incredibly hard, to ensure that the rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. I am thrilled that you found our team to be friendly and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip to the area. Usual Premier Inn standard, comfortable bedroom and very quiet surroundings, so I could do a bit of work in the evening, after my dinner. Excellent stay, would definitely stay here again. Enjoyed my meal at the adjacent restaurant - ?Cuddies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello platpeeps, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear that our hotel met all of your needs and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my team and the team at The Cuddie Brae Bar and Restaurant. We hope... More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night (Sunday). Could not fault anything about the stay- from the welcome and friendly helpfulness of all staff, the hassle free check in, the cleanliness, ambience and comfort of the room (especially the bed) and the overall quiet of the hotel. Breakfast, cooked to order (apparently not through the week) was a bonus- a very fresh and... More 

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello ColinFoot, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you were so pleased with our team here at Newcraighall. Each of my team members is happy to go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has a fantastic stay from start to finish. I agree that our... More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel itself was OK. Booked online and initially system would not give confirmation but instructed to book again. Did so and was charged twice for the one booking. Premier Inn refuse to return the overcharge (£54).

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello harrys623 I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with our Internet booking system. Usually it is a very reliable tool when booking a room with us, however I understand that errors can occur. Should you have any issues when booking in future, my team will happily assist you should you wish to contact us directly. We... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Best Premier Inn we've ever stayed at & better than many so called 4 star hotels we've had the misfortune to be lumbered with over the years. Our daughter "swim competes" & had to go with the team bus, team hotel etc and "swim parents" not allowed same hotel so we kinda stuck a pin in the map to find... More 

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello royston2015 I really appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good experience while staying with us. I agree that our location is perfect for trips in to Edinburgh City Centre, Musselburgh, shopping trips at Fort Kinnaird and many more locations. It is great to hear that... More 

Torfaen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stayed here while we visited scotland for the rugby for 3 nights. A great room with everything you need, very clean. Very friendly staff and great service. I put average for noise level only beacause of the freight line running at the back of hotel ,which wasn't often and really didn't bother us. Great location with the train station opposite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello Sharon H Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good experience while staying with us. I agree that our location is perfect for trips in to Edinburgh City Centre, with the train station being just across the road and running so regularly. Our... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed at this Premier Inn for 4 nights while on Business. Its a great Hotel, that was ideally located for my needs. Modern clean room, with all the usual extras you'd expect these days. The restaurant next door is great value for money, and serves some great food. Now has free Wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello Wayne A, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear that our hotel met all of your needs and that you like our refurbished rooms. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my team and also the team at the Cuddie Brae Bar & Restaurant next door. We... More 

scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Stayed at this premier inn and was allocated a room at the back . It was the worst stay I have had in a premier inn anywhere , due to the railway line at the back of the building . Worst sleep ever the trains run during the night it is a freight line. When mentioned to receptionist on checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaireNickerson, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review

Hello chinchalk, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests so that we can ensure our guests are receiving everything they need for a great stay. I am so sorry to hear that the train noise bothered you during your stay. Usually we have very few trains passing by the hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question