We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 442 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland (Corstorphine)
Hotel amenities
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dalmore Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
88%
Ranked #144 of 442 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Triciamaw Duluth
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
35
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Duluth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights before flying home to Canada...I loved it! My room was comfortable,well appointed and tastefully decorated.The breakfast was delicious with an excellent selection! It is located right across from the zoo so I started my day there.it is on a bus route and in just 10 mins or so you can be sightseeing/shopping on Princess... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review. It is good to know you had such a great stay to end your vacation. Hopefully we may see you again at some time in the future. Iain & Dot More

Moreton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The perfect location for a visit to the Zoo. Beautiful, clean, comfortable and homely. Excellent breakfast. We have already recommended this guest house to friends and family and we will return when we next visit Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you recommending us to friends and family already. See you next time. Iain and Dot More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Wonderful stay, Iain and Dot very helpful and brilliant breakfast. Location superb, very easy access into town with bus stop opposite. For price, was very good value and excellent service from both hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to add a review on our site. Great to know you had such a great stay and hope to see you again at our home. Iain and Dot More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Myself and my partner booked a room here for the Commonwealth games. We were sent an email a week before about the buses to get to the hotel which was extremely helpful. When we got to the hotel we were shown to our room. Clean, had everything we required and beds were extremely comfy. The guide in our rooms explained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. It is always good to know we are appreciated. Hope to see you back at Dalmore Lodge in the future. Iain and Dot More

Arnemuiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Clean and very friendly. Not much noise from the busy road. It takes about 10 minutes by bus to the centre of Edinburgh. And right in front of the Zoo, which is worth to visit. We will come here again.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to put on a review for our home/business. Look forward to seeing you again at Dalmore Lodge. Iain and Dot More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked here after seeing the great reviews on here. We wernt disappointed! The room we stayed in (2) was really nice, very clean, good size, lovely decor. The bed was so comfy (wanted to bring it home with us!!). The ensuit was also very clean and decent size. Iain cooked us fab breakfasts that kept you going for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It seems like Room 2 is getting a lot of good reviews for the mattress! Always good to know especially if we need to replace any in other rooms. Hope to see you again if you're back in Edinburgh. Iain and Dot More

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at Dalmore Lodge because I was conducting research at the zoo so the location was perfect with only a road to cross! On arrival Iain was very welcoming and showed me to my room (room 2) where he told me about breakfast for the next day and asked if I had any questions. The room was beautiful, very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. It's always nice to know we are appreciated. We have a lot of return guests who work/do research at the Zoo and we hope you will be one of them :) Iain and Dot More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Found Dalmore Lodge via Trip Advisor and booked direct, very straightforward and no problems. We were able to leave our cases as arrived at 10 and was advised re the way to the city centre!! Very easy, any bus from right outside takes you there. My daughter likes Four in a Bed so has done the review for me!! Cleanliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your "Four in a Bed" review :) It is appreciated and we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. Hope to see you again at Dalmore in the future. Iain and Dot More

Banbridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having been disappointed for a flight to Belfast my niece and I along with another couple had to find somewhere to spend the night. Having found this guest house on booking.com I rang and spoke with a very pleasant lady (Dot) who said she had just 2 rooms available. I asked her to hold them for us and we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to have been able to accommodate you after your stressful day! Assuming all went well on your return journey and hope to see you again under better circumstances :) Iain and Dot More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the rugby and was extremely impressed with how lovely this b&b is! We were welcomed and shown to our room (3) which was well decorated and had everything we could have needed. We got the bus directly opposite the hotel into town and the same back at night so perfectly placed for getting around. Breakfast was superb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found it convenient for city centre and rugby amenities. Hope to welcome you again in the future to Dalmore Lodge. Iain and Dot More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dalmore Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Address: 14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalmore Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dalmore Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Lodge Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay