We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalmore Lodge Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
14 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Dalmore Lodge Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #110 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Maryse065 Balllnasloe Ireland
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
42
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Balllnasloe Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For me its Location, Location and Lotation and I certainly had it at Dalmor Lodge Guest house. Would certainly recommend it, also very comfortable and quiet.Phone ahead and you will be given exact details of location and you will be guaranteed to get what you request. Location is on the old road into Edinburgh and opposite the Zoo and more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
53 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Hi stayed here for 3 nights, we were welcomed with a smile and taken to a lovely room and offered lots of local info to help us on our stay. The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with real quality furniture. The rooms are not fussy but very comfortable with really good quality Beds and fittings there are Tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, many thanks for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you again at Dalmore Lodge. Remember if you are booking again, contact us direct for better rates :) Iain and Dot More 

INVERBERVIE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Stayed here on Sat night (my mum was there for 5 nights while father was in hospital). We were made to feel really welcome and it is more like a mini hotel rather than guest house; all rooms are ensure. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms/bathrooms very clean and modern. My dad was given a mini fridge and cereal in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased the op went well. Hope the kids had fun at the ice skating! See you again if you are ever visiting Edinburgh again. All the best, Iain and Dot More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Delightful. Spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Very close to bus stops with lots of services into the city centre. Good breakfast. I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment very highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review to TA. Glad you had a fantastic stay and hope to see you again if visiting Edinburgh Iain and Dot More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Just spent 2 nights here and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Edinburgh for a city break. Great value for money, ideally located near a bus stop to the centre (15 mins at most), clean well decorated rooms with a hit shower. Breakfast was nice and the owners very friendly and accomadting. Can't fault them and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and will see another time when you visit Dalmore Lodge. More 

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

We made the booking after seeing the excellent reviews on TA. Excellent choice for us. Right on the main bus route into the city center, we had no longer than 10 minutes to wait for a bus. Free on street parking and the guest house has a couple of spaces at the rear if you are lucky enough. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your great review. Pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again anytime you are visiting Edinburgh. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Iain and Dot More 

East Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We stayed for one night and have absolutely no complaints. We parked up and took our luggage in at about 10.30am. Spent the day at the zoo, caught a bus into Edinburgh and returned after having something to eat at 7pm ish. We were left to our own devises in a very clean, spacious and comfortable room - absolutely perfect!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Happy that you had a fantastic stay. We pride ourselves on keeping the place spotless and Iain's breakfasts are always appreciated. Hope you will visit us again on a future trip to Edinburgh. Iain and Dot More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We were in room 1 ground floor. Asked if we could check in early because my wife was keen to see the pandas and enjoy Edinburgh. No problems there. Checked in and luggage taken from us. Our room had a balcony and en suite. All beautifully clean and tidy. Bed really comfortable and slept really well. Breakfast well cooked, coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your great response. Good to get your feedback. Very glad you enjoyed your stay and had plenty time to spend with the Pandas :) See you next time. Iain and Dot More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Me and my partner recently stayed here whilst we visited Edinburgh. We were greeted by a friendly man who was very helpful in giving us information on how to get into the town centre, which buses we could catch and what time breakfast was served daily. We stayed in one of the double rooms which was beautifully decorated and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. Glad you had a great stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed Iain's cooked breakfasts and hospitlaity. We look forward to your next visit with us at Dalmore Lodge. Iain and Dot More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Discovered the Dalmore Lodge via TripAdvisor and booked after seeing the good reviews. The B&B is located less than 10 mins to Edinburgh Airport and the bus to the airport is conveniently located just outside. Dalmore Lodge is a perfect location for the zoo as it is directly opposite. The bus into town is across the road and very reasonable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DOTIAINEDINBURGH, Owner at Dalmore Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Dalmore Lodge and hope you visit us again in the future. Iain and Dot More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question