We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beverley

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
40 Murrayfield Avenue, Edinburgh EH12 6AY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Beverley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #57 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
weemusicwoman Northern Ireland
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    49
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
92
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Beverley for 2 nights for the 6 nations rugby at Murrayfield. This is about the fourth time we have stayed with Judy and Hutch and it just feels like home from home. The Beverley is looking fabulous with its newly decorated rooms. Room 6 was gorgeous with views over the rugby stadium and the reworking of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Very many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Needless to say we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the refurbished Beverley. Glad that you got home safely and hopefully we will see you in 2017 when Ireland grace Murrayfield again. More 

Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at The Beverley last week. This boutique guest house is fantastic and Judy, the owner, is very welcoming and helpful. We found the location perfect with easy access to bus service for city centre with on street free parking. We had a nice clean room with bath, on the top floor and we enjoyed a delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your extremely kind comments. Thank you. More 

Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

had 2 nights here for 6 Nations. Had a very warm & helpful welcome from Judy. Plenty of information on buses into Edinburgh city centre (10 mins or 20 min walk), local attractions. & restaurants. Full breakfast was great, plenty of choice if not what you want. Haymarket Station & Murrayfield Stadium only 10 min walk. Room was clean, bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Beverley. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I visited the Beverley for 2 nights last October as my boyfriend had booked us in for a birthday treat, the hotel is fantastic and the owners are very welcoming, we were given lots of information as soon as we got there including information of the buses to get in to the centre of the city! The bus journey was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your extremely kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Beverley. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Edinburgh More 

Fraserburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We booked 2 nights from 2nd January and were delighted with our choice. Judy & Hutch were very welcoming and so helpful. The room was at the top of the house and we had lovely views over to Murrayfield and out to the West. Breakfast was superb and we lasted a whole day shopping without any more food! We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

We appreciate your very kind comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

Young couple visiting Edinburgh for sightseeing and short get away. Guess house contacted us in advance to confirm arrival, they offered to keep our bags before room was ready and give us keys at 10am which was a lovely touch. Staff very helpful and offered hints, tips and gave us great directions/bus plans. Only takes 20mins by direct bus from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay at the Beverley More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Judy and Hutch are the ultimate hosts and made us feel welcomed from the moment we entered their home. We had a nice clean room with bath on the 2nd floor and enoyed a full breakfast each morning of our stay. Our congenial hosts were most helpful to us with directions and information on places to visit. All in all,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

we went to the beverley at the end of september this year we walked in and were given a very warm welcome there was a tv and dvd combo in the room and you could borrow dvds to watch the bedroom was spacious clean and very comfortable it was very luxurious we stayed in room 3 unfortunately i didnt get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

We appreciate your very kind comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Service was fantastic! Judy welcomed us after our long drive and provided so much useful information regarding buses, tours and food! Our room was clean and we were upgraded due to empty rooms. Mattress was a little uncomfortable but we slept well. Breakfast was very nice indeed. Such a contrast to our last visit to edinburgh. Thanks judy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Beverley when you next visit Edinburgh More 

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

My brother and I spent 4 nights here in early October. Hosts were very welcoming and informative. Great location if you hire a car or hop on the bus. The bus stop is about two blocks down a medium size hill/street. ATM is about 4 blocks away and a Tesco 2 blocks from there. It is not a centralized B&B... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JudyandHutch, Owner at The Beverley, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind comments and would be delighted to see you again at The Beverley should you return to Edinbugh More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question