We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

#49 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2
Add Photo

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    196
    59
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
103
65
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The location of these apartments is great and very convenient. However the flat we had was very overpriced for what it was. The flat was grotty and all the furniture was cheap and falling apart. A far cry from the 'luxury' apartments billed on the website. Two of the bedrooms were crammed full of furniture that didn't fit - in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fountain_Court, Operations Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I understand that you stayed in the apartment with guest, William 1803 whose review is published below. With regard to the rates, the Marathon weekend is one of the busiest weekends in Edinburgh and the rates reflect this. Having checked the apartment you stayed in, whilst there were some Housekeeping issues which I sincerely... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The only good thing to say about these apartments is that the position is good, quiet, convenient and attractive. After that it was all downhill! We had a call the day before to say we could check in from 3pm onwards but the apartment was not ready and we had to wait. When we did get in there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fountain_Court, Operations Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I understand you stayed in the apartment with guest fh139 whose review is published above. You arrived earlier and were checked in at 1530. The travel cots we provide do not have mattresses due to infant health and safety guidelines. Apologies for the safe instructions being for a different model. Again as I confirmed... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extraordinary apartment with great riverside view and convenient location. Very comfortable hospitality that provided in the apartment and will definitely come back again! Except for those who don't mind staying with slightly expensive cost for their accommodation , it is best choice for group or family traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed recently midweek and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. The apartment was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The location was great and views from the apartment which overlooked the canal added to the experience. We were looking for a relaxing break and we were not disappointed. Everything we required was on our doorstep. We look forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

It is fantastic to see that you have rated our EQ2 apartments as five star. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the apartments and found them comfortable, clean and spacious on your relaxing break and we shall look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in these lovely apartments for one night whilst visiting the sights in Edinburgh. Our apartment was on the top floor accessed by a lift or stairs. The receptionist was very helpful and we paid £10 for overnight secure parking which was great value compared to city centre parking charges. The apartment was clean, spacious, well maintained and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

It is fantastic to see that you have rated our EQ2 apartments five star in your review. we re very pleased to see that you enjoyed the apartment and found the staff to be helpful. We shall look forward to your next visit when you are in the city and thank you for the review. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked by my company through Hotel.com. I cannot review EQ2 on that website as the two nights were paid for through the company account but I feel strongly enough to take the time to leave the following observations: My company paid over £100/night for a two night stay. On arrival, I found that the maximum height of their underground parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fountain_Court, Operations Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. With regard to your comments, on your arrival when asked to pay the parking you explained that your company had booked and that parking was included. When my colleague explained this was not the case you confirmed your company would not pay and that you would have to pay the parking... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Shot trip with the family to Edinburugh. Good clean and spacious apartments only negative was outside painting which started at 8am each morning using noisy machinery. Good and easy parking and short walk to castle and centre of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 Apartments. It is great to see that you found the apartments spacious and comfortable, we do sincerely apologise that you were disturbed by the refurbishment, which has now been completed. We do hope to welcome you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The Fountain Court Apartments was our base for a four day stay in the Edinburgh region. We (five people) had everything we needed, it was contemporary furnished, the place was very clean and pleasant and a light-bulb and a clock that didn't work was fixed in a matter of minutes by the attentive staff. Nice, quiet surroundings by the canal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 Apartments. It is good to see that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us and enjoyed the quiet surroundings. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying in the penthouse of the EQ2 apartments recently. There were 5 in our party that occupied this room and it was perfect for us. Very well equipped, dishwasher, washing machine, glasswear, etc. Living room was very spacious; bedrooms were lovely and big, very clean and well kept. We had friends staying in the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 Apartments. It is fantastic to see that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay and the staff will be delighted to hear your positive comments. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

excellent appartment,modern clean with a wonderful view of the canal,super off street parking,only stayed here last minute as another company let us down.but cannot fault anything.will definetly stay/reccomend in the future!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review you have given to our EQ2 Apartments. It is great to see that you had such a positive experience with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards Colin Mackay, Fountain Court team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

622 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (452)
Viewed
Penthouse (275)
Viewed
The Hotel (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay