We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 to your Saves list
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
90%
Ranked #62 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Julian M London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (252)
  • Photos (135)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    51
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
87
59
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What we needed for the festival as a family with a teenage daughter. Spacious and very comfortable apartments within a 15 minute walk of the centre of town. Beds were very comfortable (not too firm as per previous reviews) and the apartments have clearly not been constrained by space as per most hotels. Top tip stay on the higher floors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 apartments, it is great to see you found many positive aspects including the bed, location and the space which we do feel gives more benefits than a hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future visits to Edinburgh. Best regards Colin Mackay Fountain Court team. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Modern clean and well fitted out. Lovely location overlooking canal basin and 10 minute walk to centre of town. Staff were very helpful and having secure parking was a big plus. There were up to 6 people staying from 16 to 80+ and everyone found it comfortable and convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 apartments it is always good to see our guests having such positive experiences during their stay, Edinburgh Quay certainly is a fantastic location for our apartments. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Edinburgh. Best regards Colin Mackay Fountain Court team. More

Boerne, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Flat 25 on the top floor and it was a lovely 3 bedroom 2 bath apartment. The flat was clean, roomy and well organized. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The kids were able to have their own room. Two bedrooms had balcony access. The kitchen is very large and well equipped except there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review you have given to our EQ2 apartments it is always great to hear about our guests positive experiences and its good that you went to see Rosslyn Chapel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in future. Best regards Colin Mackay More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Edinburgh on 28th July 14 for 4 nights for a family trip (spend one day at the Glasgow Games). I wouldn't rate these apartments 5* but they are more 3* and very expensive. The exterior décor of the apartments was awful and needs a good paint and clean but I have to say the interior served most... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the review you have left our EQ2 apartments, we are currently looking into updating the exterior decor. We do not try and disguise the cost of parking and this rate we feel is fair and far below what is charged by the city of Edinburgh. Unfortunately on this occasion some aspects were below the standards that our... More

Walnut Creek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Last week we rented two three bedroom apartments for a family reunion trip to Edinburgh. The units were light, airy and beautiful, and one had a view of the Castle . Apartment staff was helpful and efficient, I highly recommend these large comfortable apartments to any family looking for an apartment in Edinburgh.Our units were on the higher floors. We... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review you have left our EQ2 apartments, it is always great to hear our guests having such positive experience with us. The views on a sunny day of the castle are fantastic from our apartments and it is good that you were able to experience this . We certainly look forward to welcoming you and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here in Februaray 2014. Very Spacious 2 bed apartment with 1 large bathroom and 1 en suite. It really was a home from home with everything you would need.The apartments can be quite tired in places and I noted that the door looked as though it had been forced open previously. EQ2 are lovely location overlooking the canal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 6 and rented the 3 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. The flat was awesome with a great view of the edinburgh castle. Very clean and tidy and had all the facilities that you would need for a service apartment. Tesco express nearby was a great feature with a lot of eating joints nearby. Don't miss... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review of our EQ2 apartments, it is always good to hear about our highly valued guests having a positive experience on their stay with us. It is good to hear that you took advantage of the local cafe's and restaurants in the area which offer great benefits to... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights during the school holidays in a 2 bed apartment. The apartments are clean and basic. The positives - space in the lounge good for families, close to supermarkets and buses across the city, showers ok. Negatives - beds quite uncomfortable, quite stuffy (we were on the ground floor and the windows were locked), slow wifi,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy that you and your family enjoyed the space apartment’s offer. We are replacing beds as part of our partial ongoing refurbishment. Please accept my sincere apologies with regard to the complimentary Wi-Fi, we did have a technical issue with our broadband provider which has since been resolved. I look forward to... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited for a long weekend. Our apartment faced a building site which was busy from 7am Saturday & Monday. The hot water was no existent and when we complained, we were told to run the water slower! It meant that to run a bath it took over an hour to run... Then there were the students. We had some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We have recently installed smart TV’s in all apartments, and are currently replacing curtains, throws, lamps and beds as part of our partial refurbishment. Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise you experienced and for the lapse in our usual high housekeeping standards. Our Night team do regular security checks and are on... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This is not 5 star quality. The interior is dated. Beds uncomfortable. Very noisy, we have been kept awake every night by students, hen do's etc. the house keeping is poor. The location is good but that's all. Very disappointing stay will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was surprised to read your comments having had no feedback to Reception as you describe. Should guests encounter any issue during their stay our onsite Reception is manned 0800-2200 and we have a 24 hour mobile number for guests to contact our Night team. Please note we have a partial refurbishment programme starting... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 Edinburgh, Scotland

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh #37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh #49 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
180

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer