We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

#64 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    204
    66
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
114
66
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we had four 2 bed apartments. Each room was different in size, but all were too warm even though no radiators were on. The doors to enter the apartments were really bad. As they were closing they would slam, this happened throughout the stay and got very irritating. the force at which it closed was dangerous and having kids around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sanya, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

nice with the river for walking during the whole day. newly and good facility with 6 family persons to share 3 big rooms, one sitting room and spacious kitchen with dining area. Really enjoyed the time their and great staff. Will leave there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our third visit and the apartments are in good shape, everything works well. We had our usual three-bedrooms apartment, booked on line, paid in advance - easy. Check was very straightforward and staff are friendly and helpful. We were up on the third floor this time with a lovely view over the canal. Will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is great to see that you have returned and had another enjoyable experience, and that you enjoyed the views of the canal, the staff will also be delighted to hear your kind words and we shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These apartments are fantastic. Clean well appointed with all the facilities you need. Centrally located, easy walking distance to the city and quiet. The bathrooms are fantastic and they have great soaps and shampoos. The receptionist provides a great service and is very helpful. I would highly recommend this place to stay. The beds are very comfortable. I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to see that you found the bed to be very comfortable and that you found the service at reception to be excellent. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Edinburgh for a couple nights with the family to see the Tattoo and Fringe Festival. Took a 3bed apartment. The facility was in a very good condition and clean. Simple decor but all amenities available. Rooms are large and beds are comfortable. Some furniture bit worn in places but no issues at all. Kitchen very good size and stocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. It is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a good time over the festival. We are pleased to see that you found the apartment to be well stocked and located. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a 3 bed apartment for 3 nights for a mini break during Fringe festival. We chose this apartment as it looked lovely and had a balcony to suit the smokers, yea we had to extend the budget somewhat as it is pricy but we thought it would be worth it. The chap on reception was really nice, easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It is regrettable to see that you felt the apartments were overpriced, we do feel that they are very competitive for the city and do offer a lot more space and freedom than a traditional hotel room. Unfortunately all apartments do not offer balconies however we do try to accommodate requests when possible, we do... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to give a four star rating, because there were a lot of positives. The apartments were conveniently located near the center of Edinburgh, and our apartment was very spacious. The staff was friendly and courteous, and we were upgraded to the penthouse apartment. It's a good option for families who need space and the convenience of a kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. It is disappointing to see that you didn’t find the apartments as high standard as you had expected. We do have an ongoing refurbishment program in order to keep the apartments looking as fresh as possible and we don’t feel we overstate the quality, but we will ensure your comments are used in order to... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Our family of 7 traveled to Edinburgh for the first time. We had two apartments rented on the 2nd floor. These rooms were great, plenty of space, nice bathrooms, showers, kitchen area was great. Plenty of places to eat nearby and a little grocery right around the corner. I would highly reccommend any family staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is great to see that you and your family had an enjoyable experience overall during your stay with us. We shall look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stayed here for a night when my boyfriend and his friend were taking part in a 10K run there. The aortment was lovely and modern and lots of space. Only down side was the hot water was turned off so we have to find where the mains where to turn this on and wait for it to heat for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay while you were here for the 10K, we do apologise for the smell of cooking that was in the apartment but are glad it did not have a negative impact on your stay and we shall look forward to welcoming you on future trips... More 

donaghadee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Over in Edinburgh for our son's graduation and chose here for six of us to stay in. Great location...We were lucky to have brilliant weather and it was lovely to have a balcony to watch all the comings and goings by the canal. Very handy to university area. Accommodation is great - lovely spacious lounge, well equipped kitchen, two good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the view over the canal. We shall look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

614 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (452)
Viewed
Penthouse (275)
Viewed
The Hotel (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#70 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay