We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

#45 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    297
    219
    73
    21
    8
See reviews for
90
295
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (618)
  • Mar-May only
    (217)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Doubletree Edinburgh three nights in March 2015. We used Hilton Honors points and for the points; it was a great deal. The hotel staff was great. We were upgraded upon check-in. Since they do not have a lounge, they gave us drink coupons to use in the hotel restaurant each evening. The hotel was centrally located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. We stayed for one night with a 6 month old. We were upgraded on arrival to a bigger room and it was lovely. Lots of space and clean. The desk and restaurant staff were all lovely and extremely helpful. Breakfast had enough choice between a hot or continental breakfast. We would definitely stay again if we returned to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Julia G, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that we were able upgrade your room to ensure you had sufficient space with your 6 month child and that you found the team to be extremely helpful and friendly. I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I moved hotel from one further down Grassmarket while I was in Edinburgh for a week and this is the one I would recommend. Staff are very helpful, wifi is great. Rooms great (if a little dark), but wifi, TV, everything works perfectly and if you get a good rate it's excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear clairedelune32, Thank you for selecting the hotel for your business trip to Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the services and offering suited your needs whilst staying in the city for one week. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you took advantage of your business trip to fit... More 

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are quite particular on accommodations but also budget conscious. This Doubletree was excellent! The room and bathroom were very clean, recently updated, and perfect for us. We were greeted at the front by very friendly people throughout our stay and the wait staff in the restaurant for breakfast were over the top nice! The breakfast buffet is free for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear MedRepDad, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your family break in Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel's location, breakfast and more importantly the excellent service to make your visit to the city a thoroughly enjoyable one. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on a future... More 

london
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A good hotel for the old City Centre Nice friendly staff Good sized room - has a castle view Good shower Close to everything you need Railway station 10 min walk shops around the same The old City Centre has a great atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear ian t, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your business trip to Edinburgh. I am happy to read that you found the hotel met with your needs and hope to welcome you back again on a future visit. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager More 

Northern Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We felt warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived in the hotel. All staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The room was excellent and the breakfast first class. The hotel was well located for us, within easy walking distance of restaurants and the Usher Hall. Would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear 877aileeng, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel's location and quality of product and professional service, made your stay a thoroughly enjoyable one. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager More 

New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms are clean, but small, with an enormous waste of space for a huge chest at the end of the bed with an enormous television set on the chest, which apparently contained electronics and with room for nothing else. As a result, we could open one suitcase at a time or couldn't move about the room. There was something wrong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear joekr, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent visit. I am sorry to read that the hotel fell short of expectations in terms of service and the room design and layout. The TV at the bottom of the bed is due to there being a window at the base of the bed resulting... More 

redcar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Planned a trip to the zoo and decided to stay over at last minuet. Came across the hilltop by Hilton and looked like it met our requirements. When we arrived the car parking was a slight issue but only because we hadn't realised which car park was recommended, a few minutes walk. Would recommend you drop off your party and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear redcarspurs, Thank you for choosing to stop over for the night on an Edinburgh Zoo visit. I appreciate your feedback and glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us albeit after the slight challenge with the car park. I hope that you booked to see the Pandas and that your day was a sunny one. Kind... More 

Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband stayed at this hotel for a month on business, I a 10 day visit. The position on Bread Street you may think undesirable, known for it's night life it was surprisingly quiet. To be honest the position is within walking distance to all the major sites, railway and bus stations for further adventure or picking up a tour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear luv2travelsab, I appreciate your time in reviewing the hotel after your recent visit. I am happy to read that you found the hotel's location within the heart of the financial district to be a great location for getting around the city easily. Although we do change the buffet selection throughout the year, the items from day to day do... More 

sunny scotland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel direct and the receptionist at the time and the staff who welcomed us were very pleasant and helpful. We even received warm choc chip cookies as we checked in. Delicious!!! We booked a king size room, and were not let down by the size of the bed. However the room size was a little small, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear dtbdel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst attending the Brandon Flowers concert at the Usher Hall. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with a great nights sleep, Room Service and the breakfast offering the clear highlights. I am sorry however to read that the service received at breakfast was the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

404 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay