We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angels Share Hotel

7- 11 Hope Street, Edinburgh EH2 4EL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Angels Share Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #88 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Fifer84 Fife
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    59
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
108
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Fife
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was decent but could do with a clean. Toilet was dirty and the window sills were thick with dust. On the plus side we had a large comfy bed. We went out in Edinburgh for the night and on our return were greeted very rudely from the door man who quickly changed when he realised we were actual guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited the Angels Share for two nights over my Birthday. We stayed in the Lulu room which, far from being gaudy and over-celebratory of the celebrity, just had a picture and some information, and was very tastefully decorated. The room had all expected amenities including plenty of tea, coffee and other hot drinks, a decent kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review from your recent stay with us. We apologise for any incovenice suffered through essential maintenance in a nearby room during your stay, we always try to plan maintenance during quieter periods to avoid disrupting guests. However this was an urgent repair needed and could not be avoided -... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with a group of friends for a trip to the rugby Great value for money and compared to the likes of the Caledonian etc makes me wonder if I would go back to those expensive hotels Only gripe I could have is that the bar below is very busy and could be heard in the room, however we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent trip to the hotel. We are delighted you found the hotel excellent value for money, where we strive to provide competitive rates all year. We apologise for any noise heard from the bar at the weekend, with it being rugby weekend patrons can be more vocal than... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat and it certainly was a treat. The hotel rooms were very spacious and accommodated for everything we needed even though we were only in it to sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable with a lovely bathroom to match. I liked the fact the hotel added its own quirkiness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the style and detail of the decor of our hotel. We hope on your return you will have time to enjoy dining with us and I will pass on your sentiments to the bar. Kind Regards Graeme Scott Deputy Hotel... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I hoped for more from this hotel. The location is great but the room was terrible. I've listed all the problems below • 3 lights didn't work • safe didn't work • the bath plug was broken • the shower glass was broken • the shower pressure was pathetic • the bathroom had lots of mould spots in it The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, where I am highly am disappointed we did not meet the required standard on your visit. We thank you for highlighting the concerns, where we take on board the maintenance issues identifed in your room which will be rectified with a matter... More 

Egremont, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

6 of us stopped here on a secret escape deal. The rooms were large and well decorated. The food was fantastic ( best haggis ever) we had evening meal and breakfast. The staff in reseption and the restaurant could not be faulted.. The only problem was I didnt book it for longer. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review, not only for the hotel but our restaurant too. We are happy you had such a wonderful time and look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Graeme Scott Deputy Hotel Manager More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Stayed at the Angel's Share on a last minute whim as we had arranged to meet friends in Edinburgh. As we arrived after 6.30pm on a Saturday, on-street parking was free. It does feel a little strange walking through the bar or restaurant to the elevator up to the hotel itself, but we were greeted by a very polite and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, I am delighted our staff took the opportunity to complimentary upgrade your room and the efficient friendly service provided. We pride ourself on our customer service and will pass on your kind sentiments. Kind Regards Graeme Scott Deputy Hotel Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Good location and newly refurbished. Very friendly staff in the reception. Hotels.com claims reception is open 24h. Not true. The waiter who opened the door at 1.30 were rude. When we asked if the reception was open he said that he is "not responsible for company policy".

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. Our hotel reception is open 24 hours per day, however between the hours of 11pm and 7am our night staff have other duties to perform in the hotel and a reachable by either the phone or the intercomm system at the front door after... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Had a 2 night stay there,lovely place and clean,only downside..the hotel bar was quite busy from mid afternoon onwards,and alot of the tables were reserved,being a resident you'd expect a table in your own hotel! Too many chairs at the bar,gave up queuing and went elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad you admired the hotel and had a great stay, where I can only apologise for being unable to find a table in our busy/restaurant. We will look into improving the guest experience for the venue as a whole and appreciate the feedback. Kind Regards... More 

England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Stayed in the Brian Cox room having been given a really warm welcome and upgrade on arrival. Location is good but a little difficult to get to by car and parking is on street or at the NCP nearby so can be pricey although the hotel offer a discount on the latter. Food at both dinner and particularly breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angels_Share_Team, Manager at Angels Share Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed dining at the hotel. Kind Regards Graeme Scott Deputy Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

217 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (164)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room Kirsty Hume (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room Sean Connery (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Sir Alex Ferguson (20)
Viewed
Superior Double Room Denis Law (16)
Viewed
Superior Double Room Dougray Scott (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room Rod Stewart (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question