We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Hotel website
59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Offers & Announcements
Free Continental
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    185
    143
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
81
126
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (386)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a charming hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but within walking distance then this is the hotel for you!! It's located in a quiet residential area. The staff here is amazing!! They are extremely friendly and helpful with any questions or concerns that you might have. The hotel decor is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great staff, always helpful and friendly. Good hotel location. Large room with high ceiling, fast wifi and good tv channel selection. Tasty breakfast. All has been done for us to feel like being at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been for a month in this hotel and I had an amazing time, the hotel is clean, comfortable and with all the facilities needed to stay there. I thank all the hotel staff,because they are available, very friendly, and nice especially the manager Neil and the receptionist Kate. i hope to return soon maybe for a holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So kindly and polite staff, always helpful in everything even if you would like to go somewhere they help you to choose where. Things always cleaned very well. An excellent service opened 24h even in midnight! I probably will be back with my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived home from a three day weekend in Edinburgh. We stayed at the Thistle having read the wonderful reviews on here. And we were not disappointed! The hotel staff are lovely and helpful and even gave us a room upgrade to the suit for our anniversary. Our room was huge and had the most comfortable bed. If you're wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good, central location. Walk, tram or bus to the Royal Mile. Accommodations are very good as was the included breakfast. The staff is very helpful. This townhouse hotel is a four floor walk up so be in shape if you get the castle view room. Good value for an inner city hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

A basic City hotel. Small functional rooms. Basic bathroom with noisy ineffectual shower. Needs complete refurbishment and modernisation. For similar money I stayed in Mal Maison the previous night which was very modern spacious and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richardk, Firstly I would like to thank you for staying at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for leaving your feedback which we greatly value. Firstly I am sorry that you were disappointed with the "Small functional rooms" Room 27 is a Petite Double and that you found the bathroom was noisy from the shower. The hotel is in the process... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I've spent one month here in Edinburgh at the Thistle Hotel and it was the greatest and the most enjoyable experience I have ever had. I can also say that the hotel is pretty cool, I felt comfortable there, moreover the rooms were always clean, the employers were so kind and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GennaroA, Firstly on behalf of myself and the staff I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent visit & for taken the time to leave us some much valued feedback. I am please to hear that your time at the Thistle Hotel "was the greatest and the most enjoyable experience I have... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Spent a couple of days at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel ( not to be confused with the Thistle St. James Hotel) they are not connected. First appearances was that it was an old building served by a central stairway and had NO LIFT AVAILABLE. Our room was clean but somewhat dated and the following defects noted. Bathroom mirror light and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear plasterer11, Firstly Thank You for choosing Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent visit to the City & for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. We are not part of the chain and have been established as a hotel for 90 years. I am please to heard that the room was clean, but disappoint to hear you... More 

North East
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We have stayed here several times over the years. This time it was just overnight pre booked advanced payment stay. I think we were in one of the smallest rooms the bathroom you really could not swing a cat and was definitely ready for a refurb, should have asked for an upgrade but it was only for the night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HoneyB, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you are a returning guest and we would have upgraded you if we had know I am also please that you did sleep well. I am glad you found... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Channings Hotel
#63 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#39 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#15 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#109 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay