We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Hotel website
59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    179
    141
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
81
121
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A basic City hotel. Small functional rooms. Basic bathroom with noisy ineffectual shower. Needs complete refurbishment and modernisation. For similar money I stayed in Mal Maison the previous night which was very modern spacious and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richardk, Firstly I would like to thank you for staying at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for leaving your feedback which we greatly value. Firstly I am sorry that you were disappointed with the "Small functional rooms" Room 27 is a Petite Double and that you found the bathroom was noisy from the shower. The hotel is in the process... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've spent one month here in Edinburgh at the Thistle Hotel and it was the greatest and the most enjoyable experience I have ever had. I can also say that the hotel is pretty cool, I felt comfortable there, moreover the rooms were always clean, the employers were so kind and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GennaroA, Firstly on behalf of myself and the staff I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent visit & for taken the time to leave us some much valued feedback. I am please to hear that your time at the Thistle Hotel "was the greatest and the most enjoyable experience I have... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a couple of days at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel ( not to be confused with the Thistle St. James Hotel) they are not connected. First appearances was that it was an old building served by a central stairway and had NO LIFT AVAILABLE. Our room was clean but somewhat dated and the following defects noted. Bathroom mirror light and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear plasterer11, Firstly Thank You for choosing Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for your recent visit to the City & for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. We are not part of the chain and have been established as a hotel for 90 years. I am please to heard that the room was clean, but disappoint to hear you... More 

North East
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times over the years. This time it was just overnight pre booked advanced payment stay. I think we were in one of the smallest rooms the bathroom you really could not swing a cat and was definitely ready for a refurb, should have asked for an upgrade but it was only for the night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HoneyB, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you are a returning guest and we would have upgraded you if we had know I am also please that you did sleep well. I am glad you found... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Another great stay at the Thistle Hotel, Manor Place. It has Free Wifi which is fast and works well. A great hotel bar to relax at night, spacious rooms which they just got new beds throughout the hotel and the full Scottish is delicious. Staff that will go out of their way to help. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fmazza, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am please to hear that you had "Another great stay" with us and enjoyed you evening relaxing in the hotel bar. The Wi-Fi speed has been upgraded and is now completely complimentary. Our staff... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Reasonably priced for a good sized, well kept room. Staff were great, it is a short walk to the tram, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants nearby. Great atmosphere. Everything one needs for a weekend in Edinburgh. I'd stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aura234, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & taking the time to leave us the feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found us "reasonably priced and that the rooms were well kept and of a good size". The location is ideal for the city centre and you have some great... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

A well located three star basic hotel let down by poor room servicing, a tatty smelly bedroom and low quality breakfast. For a weary business traveller (or any traveller for that matter) it's annoying to have to ask for things like towels and for coffee cups to be washed on arrival. The breakfast was continental only.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkH, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us the feedback. I am please to hear that you found us to be "well located three star basic hotel". I do apologise for the housekeeping issues that you had, this was addressed on my return from annual... More 

Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We love the local pubs for snacks and dinner and just a couple blocks away is access to the cities walking path along the river for 31 miles a photographers dream. You will not find nicer and friendlier staff then here. If you have stayed here before Please note they have down graded the breakfast that now alines with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orygunborn, Firstly I would like to Thank You for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel for you visit to the city, I am please to hear that you found our hotel better that your last visit and that you "will not find nicer and friendlier staff then here" in our hotel. We have upgraded our breakfast room and I am... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

On our short business stay we had a warm welcome, the rooms where different but nice, the Breakfast was excellent and the Bar is mall and friendly. Greg the Director is very helpful to his guests and took his time for all questions we had. If help is needed to organize trips, ask him.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WernerM, Firstly I would like to Thank You for staying with us at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel & for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I am please that while on your short business trip you received a warm welcome and that you found our rooms to be nice. We pride ourselves in providing a good breakfast... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Extremely Peaceful - was amazed at how quiet this hotel is. Very clean. Good simple breakfast. Staff very friendly but not annoyingly so! Special request accomodated. Location great if you want to be just out of the busy city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison_401, Firstly I would like to Thank you for choosing the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel and taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. I am please you found our hotel to be "Extremely peaceful & very clean," and that our staff were very friendly and accommodating to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (136)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay