We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 443 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

AmarAgua Guest House

Save Saved
You added AmarAgua Guest House to your Saves list
10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
AmarAgua Guest House
Ranked #23 of 443 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    16
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
181
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading reviews on trip advisor we stayed here with great expectations, and weren't disappointed! We were greeted upon arrival by the lady of the house, who took the time and trouble to explain maps, routes and buses without prompting. We were then shown up to our room, (1), which was a delightful four poster with a lovely shower room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we stayed in (room 5) was fantastic!!! The B&B is far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city to be a nice retreat and it was a great value, but it is still very close by foot and bus to get to the center of activity. The breakfasts each morning were restaurant quality and Dawn-Ann's cooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a great review it is always very much appreciated. We love to hear when guests enjoy there stay with us and our beautiful city. Looking forward to seeing you again! More

Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A real treat and amazing place to stay. Guest house had great character, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The Scottish Breakfast was to die for, a reason by itself for returning to Edinburgh. Dawn-Ann and Tony were genuinely lovely people, a pleasure to talk to and nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter requires a Gluten Free diet and that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks guys for your lovely review! We do always try our best to accommodate everyone' special requests, but ... It is always nice to be appreciated, however, when meeting people like yourselves, our "job" become a "pleasure"! Thank you! More

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We've been to Amaragua several times in the past. It is just incredible. It is always the cleanest place we stay. Tony and Dawn-Ann are the most delightful couple/hosts we've come across in all our years of travel. The location is great as it's right on the bus line. Five stars is not enough for Dawn-Ann's cooking. She's added items... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks Trisha and Jay for another lovely review it is always very much appreciated it was great to see you again and to make your stay all it should be, hope all went to plan with the rest of the trip! And look forward to seeing you both again very soon. More

Fairfax County, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at this lovely guest house for the first three nights of our trip to Scotland. To echo previous reviews, our room was spotless and the breakfasts were wonderful. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed at several charming inns and guest houses during our trip, but this one was our favorite. We would definitely return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review it is very much appreciated. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the UK and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards. More

Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our 4 nights stay was juste PERFECT ! The owners, Tony and Dawn-Ann, make you feel like home. They are really friendly. And their breakfast are form another world (the Amaragua Special and the Smoked Salmon were my favorites). I think I never slept in a so clean room. PS : Tony, esse tempo em Edimburgo foi demais ! Muito... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is a great feeling when guests share with the world their enjoyment during their stay in Edinburgh and with us at AmarAgua. Obrigado! Espero tornar a vê-los muito em breve ;-) More

Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great host and hostess in a very clean and comfortable b&b in a quiet location near very good bus routes into centre of Edinburgh. The host and hostess could not be more helpful, including booking a taxi for us to get to a dinner date and the breakfast was great. We had a standard room - some of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always appreciated. We are lucky to be well situated in a quite residential area which still has free parking, not many of these places left in the city and still only ten minutes from the centre. Our rooms differ in size and are on different levels of the house, therefore the rates... More

Bonney Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our stay with Tony and Dawn-ann was more like a family visit. Their service and attitude was first class and very friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and a beautiful presentation. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and supplied with all the necessaries. Our hosts were knowledgeable and helpful on sights, activities, and ideas for fun, food and entertainment. We will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

We were very pleased to learn that you had a great time at AmarAgua , thank you for taking the time to review us, it was really appreciated. Hope to see you soon. More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

very clean. excellent breakfast served. nice toiletries provided. hosts are wonderful as well as very helpful. location is right near bus stop that takes u quickly into central area of town. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your beautiful review, it was very much appreciated. Look forward to seeing in a very near future. More

NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights here with the promise of a quiet neighborhood rather than in the central noisier part of Edinburgh. It was indeed pretty quiet and close enough to just hop on a bus for a short ride into the tourist zone each day. We had a car and parking on the street was easy. The owners keep a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was very much appreciated. More

Do you own or manage AmarAgua Guest House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to AmarAgua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmarAgua Guest House

Address: 10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amaragua Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
AmarAgua Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay