We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmarAgua Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
AmarAgua Guest House
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    327
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
195
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location. Quite, peaceful location with a great view of Arthur's Seat but within minutes by bus or taxi to the city landmarks. Rooms very clean with private bath and shower. All linens, including wash cloths, provided. Free wifi. Breakfast menu provided. Tony and Dawn-Ann were very accommodating in providing directions, calling for a taxi if needed, arranging for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, your comments were very much appreciated. It was great to meet you and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent three nights in the lovely Amar Agua Guest House and could not ask for a better accommodation in Edinburgh. The bus to Old Town is conveniently located just down the block from the quiet street location...a quick 10 minute or less ride. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance.The house itself is elegantly decorated and immaculate. We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review it is very much appreciated. It is always nice to hear that the service we provide lives up to peoples expectations. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The photos of this B&B look spectacular. However, the room we received was nothing like the photos. Dated with green plaid and green carpet. The bed was rock hard - the most uncomfortable during our U.K. tour. Also it is far from the action. It took us an hour to walk home from the popular restaurant area of town. Did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Your review is very interesting, the room your are talking about was totaly refurbished in November 2013. We are situated 1.5miles from the "action"which is a 30 minute walk or 10 minutes on the bus. A little strange why if you were so dissapointed with your stay that you have waited the best part of year to review us and... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We could not have asked for a better B&B experience in Edinburgh! Dawn-Ann and Tony were excellent hosts, the room and accommodations were first class, and the breakfasts were spectacular. Not sure when we'll make it back to Edinburgh, but AmarAgua will be our top choice for lodging. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Jason for your great review, it was very much appreciated. We were very glad to learn that you had a good time in Edinburgh and at AmarAgua, we hope to see you in the very near future to try " the other breakfasts" that you did not have the opportunity to try ;-) More 

Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at AmarAgua Guest House for two nights and were very happy with absolutely everything. Dawn-Ann and Tony were warm, friendly, helpful hosts. The house is beautiful and our rooms were excellent. We were in the triple ensuite apartment on the third floor. We were in rooms 4 and 6 (we traveled with my mom). We had a bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie,thank you for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and fell in love with our beautiful city. Look forward to seeing you all again to try some of our other breakfast options ;) More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Amaragua is the most amazing B&B I've visited. The interior of the house is beautifully decorated, the rooms are of nice size for Europe, and the hosts are the Best. Every morning breakfast offers a dozen gourmet dishes to choose from in addition to a cold breakfast bar of juices, yogurt and fruit. I am especially grateful to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sue, thank you for your lovely review, we hope you got back home safe and sound and that John has made a full and speedy recover. We hope to see you both again very soon to enjoy the sites of Edinburgh rather than our medical facilities;) More 

Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just left AmarAgua and have had a wonderful stay. The triple ensuite apartment is 2 rooms (4 and 6) on the top floor, (3rd floor for Americans and 4th for Europeans), with a bathroom just two steps outside the door that is exclusively for these two rooms. While these two rooms are cozy, (small), the beds are comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, hope you have fun on the rest of your adventure. More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We’ve been fort two nights in the Amaragua. We’ve got a very warm welcome. The house is wonderful and Toni and Dawn-Ann are wonderful hosts. The rooms are as described at the webpage and it’s very silent in the night. The breakfast is absolutely great and you got all information you need from Toni. So we had very good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon. More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Yes the breakfast was delicious, yes the owners were lovely and welcoming and extremely helplful with tips about how to get round Edinburgh (make sure you listen we got on the wrong bus and ended up in the middle of nowhere!). But I cannot believe no one has mentioned the bed (room 5). It was the most comfortable bed I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Dawn & Chris, thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you both and look we look forward for your next visit. Hope the trip back home was totally uneventful ;) More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Everything you could wish for, a beautiful room in a quiet location within easy travelling distance of the city centre. Wonderful hosts and probably the best breakfast in Edinburgh! We can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review it is very much appreciated. Looking forward to your return to finish working your way through the breakfast menu ;) More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Dawn Ann(5)
  • Royal mile(4)
  • Very friendly(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

288 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (150)
Viewed
Double Room (14)
Viewed
Double Room Ensuite (18)
Viewed
Double Room Green Ensuite with Four-Poster Bed (21)
Viewed
Double Room Red Ensuite with Four-Poster Bed (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Four-Poster Bed (24)
Viewed
Single Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#9 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 146 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 441 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#8 of 441 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
94DR
#13 of 441 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#127 of 441 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities