We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmarAgua Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
10 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5DR, Scotland
AmarAgua Guest House
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    328
    18
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
197
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (352)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay here at least once a year when visiting Edinburgh and have never been disappointed with the rooms, breakfasts or the warm welcome we receive. The rooms are always clean as is the rest of the house and the standards are high. The location whilst not immediately close to the centre is close enough with easy access and parking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks again Matt and Nadia for the lovely comments it is always to nice to see you both and look forward to seeing you later in the year if you can squeeze so time off. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights recently at AmarAgua guest house and we enjoyed our time there. It was a very busy time in Edinburgh with the Fringe Festival starting so it was nice to retreat to the guest house at night for quiet from the hustle and bustle. The location was an easy bus or taxi ride into the city centre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were very pleased you had a good time at AmarAgua and that you would like to come back and pass on your recommendations. The mattresses and pillows are a very individual thing. Some prefer harder, others prefer softer. Please note: Our room rates are in relation to the SIZE of... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Quite, peaceful location with a great view of Arthur's Seat but within minutes by bus or taxi to the city landmarks. Rooms very clean with private bath and shower. All linens, including wash cloths, provided. Free wifi. Breakfast menu provided. Tony and Dawn-Ann were very accommodating in providing directions, calling for a taxi if needed, arranging for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, your comments were very much appreciated. It was great to meet you and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent three nights in the lovely Amar Agua Guest House and could not ask for a better accommodation in Edinburgh. The bus to Old Town is conveniently located just down the block from the quiet street location...a quick 10 minute or less ride. Several excellent restaurants within walking distance.The house itself is elegantly decorated and immaculate. We stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review it is very much appreciated. It is always nice to hear that the service we provide lives up to peoples expectations. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

The photos of this B&B look spectacular. However, the room we received was nothing like the photos. Dated with green plaid and green carpet. The bed was rock hard - the most uncomfortable during our U.K. tour. Also it is far from the action. It took us an hour to walk home from the popular restaurant area of town. Did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Your review is very interesting, the room your are talking about was totaly refurbished in November 2013. We are situated 1.5miles from the "action"which is a 30 minute walk or 10 minutes on the bus. A little strange why if you were so dissapointed with your stay that you have waited the best part of year to review us and... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We could not have asked for a better B&B experience in Edinburgh! Dawn-Ann and Tony were excellent hosts, the room and accommodations were first class, and the breakfasts were spectacular. Not sure when we'll make it back to Edinburgh, but AmarAgua will be our top choice for lodging. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Jason for your great review, it was very much appreciated. We were very glad to learn that you had a good time in Edinburgh and at AmarAgua, we hope to see you in the very near future to try " the other breakfasts" that you did not have the opportunity to try ;-) More 

Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We stayed at AmarAgua Guest House for two nights and were very happy with absolutely everything. Dawn-Ann and Tony were warm, friendly, helpful hosts. The house is beautiful and our rooms were excellent. We were in the triple ensuite apartment on the third floor. We were in rooms 4 and 6 (we traveled with my mom). We had a bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie,thank you for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and fell in love with our beautiful city. Look forward to seeing you all again to try some of our other breakfast options ;) More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The Amaragua is the most amazing B&B I've visited. The interior of the house is beautifully decorated, the rooms are of nice size for Europe, and the hosts are the Best. Every morning breakfast offers a dozen gourmet dishes to choose from in addition to a cold breakfast bar of juices, yogurt and fruit. I am especially grateful to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sue, thank you for your lovely review, we hope you got back home safe and sound and that John has made a full and speedy recover. We hope to see you both again very soon to enjoy the sites of Edinburgh rather than our medical facilities;) More 

Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We have just left AmarAgua and have had a wonderful stay. The triple ensuite apartment is 2 rooms (4 and 6) on the top floor, (3rd floor for Americans and 4th for Europeans), with a bathroom just two steps outside the door that is exclusively for these two rooms. While these two rooms are cozy, (small), the beds are comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, hope you have fun on the rest of your adventure. More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We’ve been fort two nights in the Amaragua. We’ve got a very warm welcome. The house is wonderful and Toni and Dawn-Ann are wonderful hosts. The rooms are as described at the webpage and it’s very silent in the night. The breakfast is absolutely great and you got all information you need from Toni. So we had very good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmarAgua10, Owner at AmarAgua Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Dawn Ann(5)
  • Royal mile(4)
  • Very friendly(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

288 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (150)
Viewed
Double Room (14)
Viewed
Double Room Ensuite (18)
Viewed
Double Room Green Ensuite with Four-Poster Bed (21)
Viewed
Double Room Red Ensuite with Four-Poster Bed (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Four-Poster Bed (24)
Viewed
Single Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
23 Mayfield
#3 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Highfield Guest House
#18 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#32 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#10 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#7 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
West End
The Victorian Town House
The Victorian Town House
#11 of 442 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities