We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 444 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Ardmillan Hotel

9 - 10 Ardmillan Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 2JW, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Ardmillan Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardmillan Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #315 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013
Stefano C Pisa, Italy
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
13
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ardmillan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Pisa, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here recently on trip to Scotland with friends/colleagues. What a great hotel this is! I was there with three other men on a business/pleasure trip and we found the atmosphere to be so home from home, especially after a day of conferences in the Capital city of Edinburgh. The food was wonderful, lots of typical Scottish fare which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a one night stay prior to flying out of Edinburgh airport for a holiday abroad. There were 3 in our room - double and single bed, with an en suite shower room. Bed linen and towels were spotless. Plenty of tea and coffee provided and the dish of mints was a nice touch. Staff were very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Willing staff, poorly managed. In room 9, 3 out of 5 lightbulbs not working Extractor fan in shower room not working Mirror cracked Woken at 7.50am on Sunday morning by sound of hoover. Huge laundry bag outside bedroom made it difficult to get onto landing, especially for my partner who had broken his arm. Hoover and bucket and mop were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArdmillanUddingston, Owner at Ardmillan Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that despite lengthy previous correspondance via e-mail regarding your stay you have decided to post an innacurate review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your partner broke his arm in Edinburgh which resulted in you spending the bulk of your three day visit in your hotel room. However we feel that as a result of this... More

Nairn, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Ardmillan Hotel on Saturday 10th September. We paid £75 on a room only basis. This was an extremely good price for a Saturday night in the Haymarket area of Edinburgh. Other accommodations of similar facilities in the city were in the region of £140. I booked the room about 10 days before with booking.com. A taxi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Firstly it's a hotel, not a B&B. But it's managed by a family. The staff is helpless and unfriendly. The WIFI signal is too weak to connect in your room. Also the speed is very very slow. I almost can not access any website through their WIFI. When I checked out, they said “they do not have any change", so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArdmillanUddingston, Owner at Ardmillan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review which I have read carefully and I hope my response is treated with the same courtesy. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay but must point out to you and anyone reading this review the mistakes and unfair criticisms you have made.Somewhere in your travels you lost your adapter and I hope you... More

Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Edinburgh is really expensive in august, and this was one of the cheapest options. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom for one night, but they gave as a triple one. The room and bathroom were confy, clean, with tea/coffee facilities and with a new tv. The staff was really friendly. It is 30 min walk from the center... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pordenone, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

It was very quaint and cozy. The room had a flatscreen satellite television, coffee, tea, and snacks, and a very spacious bathroom. The staff was helpful. However, I apparently only paid a 20% booking fee when I booked online and that was confusing at checkout. The room was way too small for our family, and the receptionist told me my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed here for two nights while working in Edinburgh and can confidently say I would not recommend this hotel. The room was in need of rennovation, the bed squeaked every time I moved, the shower head was mounted at an almost unbearable angle, and seemed to be unusually hot given the weather - perhaps it was because my room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Pretty old building, carpet needs some updating. The room was clean and ok, shower was ok, staff and pub nice, very nice breakfast . Catch the bus across the street , 10 minutes to town center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here recently for 2 nights , having taken son to start uni .Found a gem. Room very clean , comfortable , well equipped. Small en suite spotless, always hot water available. Staff efficient helpful & genuinely friendly make the place. Good breakfast. Lounge bar , friendly locals & regulars good craic . First evening quiz night and then second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ardmillan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmillan Hotel

Address: 9 - 10 Ardmillan Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 2JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ardmillan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmillan Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay