We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

#88 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very good
(7)
Royal mile
(7)
Very clean
(6)
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    695
    296
    81
    28
See reviews for
423
542
92
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1532)
  • Mar-May only
    (396)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (325)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (366)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (445)
All months
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited the hotel for a couple of days in April with my two children(7&8) upon arriving we were greeted by friendly staff and promptly checked in. There is parking, it costs £15 per exit which I thought was expensive however the hotel is situated close to all the major attractions so we walked everywhere. The hotel was excellent with great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like many other guests, I walked more than 2 miles just to be informed that the Hotel was overbooked (or had a technical issue in the system, as it was lied to me) . Got a free transfer to Mercure Hotel but well, it was the least they can do. It is quite amazing to me that i wasn't informed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked novotel through booking.com and had booked the wrong hotel. They were kind enough to book us a room and clear up my mistake. That to me was exceptional. The room is lovely with a great view over the city. My only critique is the bar prices. I understand there is a mark up, but paying the same amount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,Craig munro More 

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 4 nights for ourselves in this hotel and 2 for our daughter & grandson. Due to a serious illness in a member of our family we were only able to stay 2 nights. The manager on duty - Tuesday 7th April 2015- whom I didn't remember to get his name- was so helpful and understanding we couldn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Craig Munro More 

Swansea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a long rugby weekend. Located just a short walk from the Grassmarket area which has numerous bars and restaurants. A further five minute walk you are in Princess Street and the modern centre. The hotel staff, especially the reception staff, were very helpful and able to provide information about the city. Very comfortable room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Craig Munro More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 4 nights, second week of Easter holidays. Had stayed in Novotel in Paris and particularly liked the fact that the sofa beds for children come as two singles. On checking in to Edinburgh my children thought the sofa beds were a bit lumpy and could feel the springs but this problem was quickly sorted. Location is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Craig Munro General Manager Novotel Edinburgh Centre More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted a centrally located hotel with a pool. That's what we got. Staff were friendly, room was good. Had pool to ourselves most of the time. Only marred by the night time roadworks outside the hotel - we were unaware of these at the time of booking and no mention made before arrival. The 1 way system was a nightmare,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig M, Front Office Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I was pleased to read your comments about the staff and the pool. We have noted your comments about the road works and the one way system and apologize for your disappointment. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to better... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights midweek over Easter with our two children. The hotel is a short walk from the old town and is the perfect location for sight seeing. The castle is a short walk away. The open top bus tour stops right outside and with a short walk you can catch the bus to the zoo. The inside... More 

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Craig Munro General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

179 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question