We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murrayfield Hotel and House

#28 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Murrayfield Hotel and House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

891 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    491
    235
    94
    47
    24
See reviews for
104
435
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (891)
  • Mar-May only
    (215)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (317)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (198)
All months
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We deceided to go to Edinburgh as a treat for my birthday, didn't think of the festival; we managed to book a good train deal (thetrainline.co.uk) and then looked for the hotel which could have gone horribly wrong as nearly everything was booked up; prices are higher when the festivities as in full flow, we looked at the centre of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello veronika_11019 Thank-you for taking your time to leave such a nice review on the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to help you change rooms. The bus system in Edinburgh is on of the best around, which helps you get around the city. Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast- I will... More 

Stranraer, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

lovely hotel with very helpful and polite staff willing to help wither its directions or getting on the right bus, room was clean, tidy and comfy although the shower didn`t have alot of pressure Already booked to stay again in June

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello balwherrie21 Thank-you so much for leaving such a fantastic review. it was a pleasure having you stay, and I will make sure that the staff take time to read your review, they all work so hard helping the guests out and being little tour guides. We look forward to welcoming you back in June Thanks again. More 

Karachi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, very nice breakfast, location is central and parking is free. Drawbacks were a small room, no lifts in the property make it inconvenient to take luggage up the stairs. Also low on value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello faizang888 Thank you for writing a review for the hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed you stay and were able to take advantage of our free parking facilities, which is not easy to come by in Edinburgh. Unfortunately due to the age of the building we can not install a lift on the premises. We look forward to seeing... More 

Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Murrayfield Hotel and House for one night in order to attend the Royal Edinburgh Military tattoo. We stayed in the "House" which is two doors down from the main hotel. Huge room, huge bed and huge wardrobe. The en-suite was very well appointed with robes and slippers provided and the room itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Thank you Paul M, You have clearly enjoyed one of our Luxury rooms in the house, It's very good to hear that we helped add to your experience of our wonderful city, which has so much to offer, not just in August. We certainly look forward to seeing you again, and we would love it if you could book direct... More 

Glossop, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were given disabled room though this was not requested. So we didn't have nice bathroom shown on pictures floor covering was coming away from wall no towel rail . Bedroom had damp carpet and smelt damp complained but we're told hotel full so cannot be moved. Very disappointed with this hotel and far too expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hi Julie B, We are very sorry that you have had a poor experience with us, this is certainly not the norm and we apologise for the room standard and confusion and not living up to your expectations. We will take everything on board as constructive criticism. The only part of your review that we feel the need to question... More 

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Free car park Beautiful room at the front of the hotel . Unfortunately we weren't in it much as we spent all our time at The Fringe. Modern but tasteful decor . Loved the blinds with led lights - want some for home now ! Very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was very good. High quality ingredients & cooked to order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, General Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hi JH19672014, It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our breakfast in general, despite the issues on the second day. We have clearly been caught out a bit that day and we will try our best to stop situations like this developing in the future. It's great to hear that you will return, remember to... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here many times. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Breakfast lovely. Great atmosphere in the bar and super handy for the city. The rooms are modern and parking is easy. Lovely touches in the rooms like caramel log biscuits. The milk in the fridge was off again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello Wardydog Thank-you so much for a great review, glad to hear you love coming back. Our staff work so hard to make sure that our guests are having a great time, it is great to hear this. We have to admit we do love our rooms too, and the caramel logs are our favourite too. Look forward to welcoming... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is nice and clean and the room that we stayed in was spacious and comfy. There is free wifi and a flat screen tv. There was complementary tea and coffee with a range of herbal tea bags, however beware if you both drink normal tea as there were only two tea bags! The bathroom had clean fluffy towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello Alyson R Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As for the selection of tea, our reception team are more than happy to help you with getting some extra tea bags if you have ran out. I'm sorry to hear that you were not... More 

Alcobendas, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to the airport and city center. Free park areq. Bus stop in same footpath, just 10 mins to downtown. Quite location, although there is a restaurant in the background floor. Comfortable bed. Beautiful room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello chusg953 Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take full advantage of the use of our free car park-which is hard to come by in Edinburgh. A lot of our guests comment on how good the bus service... More 

Almadina ALMONAWARA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bad thing is about there is not elevator spically for upper story. And we can't pay by our credit card we walk for ten minutes to use the atm for bring cash and they don't allow us to check in before the advance full pay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central E, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello nasser753 Thank-you for taking your time to write a review. I can only apologise for the credit card fault when you arrived. The hotel is built on an old building so unfortunately we can not install a elevator on the premises. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

594 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (88)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Classic Double (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Twin Room (88)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#16 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
West End
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#29 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#33 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#35 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay