We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Backpackers

37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Budget Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #53 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
SarahJYN Melbourne, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    174
    226
    83
    38
    20
See reviews for
11
92
118
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights. There is a sainsburies and tesco a short walk away. The best was the ability to move between both here (has cafe/bar) and the sister hostel (kick a-ss) which had a bar & cafe with reasonable prices and as a solo traveller was good to meet people! It's well located and the staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Sarah . For taking the time to review us and the positive comments. Its good to hear our staff added to your experience and you enjoyed our walking tour. This has basically been designed to help any guests new to the city to get their bearings and also gives you a chance to meet new guests to the hostel... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for 3 nights with some friends. But we weren't the noisy ones. The really noisy people didn't allow us to sleep, it was all the 3nights the same!, we even complained about it in reception but there was no solution. The bathroom is shared between women and men, just for you to know. With no hot water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review and great marks for our staff and location . We are sorry that other guests where noisy. Our reception should have dealt with this problem and if they did not please accept our apologies . We have notified or reception staff of this review and the importance of dealing with any guest making a noise.... More 

Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, great price, adequate 4-person dorm with lockable storage lockers (bring your own lock), and personal lights and outlets on each bunk. The washrooms are tiny and cramped. My boyfriend and I were on the same floor as the kitchen so the ladies bathroom was always full. There is a cafe on site but we didn't have time to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Penny Thanks for taking the time to review us and giving us positive comments on our price and location. The 4 bed dorm you where in is the only room close to the kitchen which closes at 10.00pm but sorry if you where disturbed at all by any noise from the kitchen, please let us know next time you... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in a private twin room with a shared bedroom. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner but our room was great and quiet. I really liked the café downstairs where you can have breakfast but also drinks and snacks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Gina for the good review . We have passed you comments regarding the bathrooms to our clean team to ensure they stay on top of these areas. We hope to see you back again soon . BB Crew :) More 

Bakers Hill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I only stayed here for one night in a two person private room with shared bathroom. The staff were really nice and helpful throughout the whole stay. Getting around the hostel is really easy as everything is sign posted. The room was really clean and modern, nice decor and there were not only 3 power sockets but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Danielle. Thanks for the Great review . Its always so nice to get such good feedback from our guests . We hope you will come back again soon . BB Crew :) More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in 20a upper level for 3 days, had an amazing stay! The bed linen for fresh and clean. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help me. It is a shame that the computer system was so slow and inefficient though. This was the complaint from.the staff themselves so I would raise this issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Faith for the good review . Our Booking system is a bit slow but we are on the case to upgrade it to create a much faster checking in experience. Its great to hear you had a good time and our staff where very helpful . We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will visit... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean comfortable rooms. Helpful staff and great location. It's not luxury stuff but as backpackers go it's one of the better ones I've stayed in. Its biggest draw has to be location. Right in the heart of town, it's walking distance to everything you need, whether you're enjoying the historical sights or stumbling home at 4am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Robin thanks for all the plus points BB Crew :) More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the budget backpackers for a week. As soon I did the check in the staff were being super helpful. I did have some troubles finding my room as the hostel is massive but that's my own fault. I stayed in a 30 bed dorm. There were some loud British guys in the dorm but what do you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Kristi Good to hear you had a great time during your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time and giving us such a fantastic review. BB Crew More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located centrally in Edinburgh. You can grab a bus from the airport that takes you directly to the city centre for around £7 or £8 return and it is only a short walk from where it drops you off (near the main station). The place itself, I stayed in a 6 dorm room which was large with a locker. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Chris. Thanks for reviewing us . Good to hear you liked our Location and great value for money . Thanks for letting us know about the pillow . We have let our housekeeping team know and instructed any pillows that are not up to scratch to be replaced. We have also instructed our clean team to ensure our normally... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Brilliant hostel. I got a twin room was really clean, provided towels, free storage. The staff were always really helpful with advice about what activities to do. It's really Central you can see the castle from the door of the hostel. Food is cheap, not great but cheap! Good place for students or groups of students. The hostel was surprisingly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thanks for your positive comments and taking the time to review us . Good to hear you had a pleasant stay and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

336 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Private Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay