We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Backpackers

37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Budget Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    183
    232
    84
    39
    23
See reviews for
12
98
119
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (561)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in a ten bed room, well equipped with lockers. The downside is that the room was street faced, and there are bars nearby with people screaming until very late, so if you have a light sleep make sure to bring ear plugs. Staff helpful overall. Nice bar downstairs well decorated. Female bathroom alright. No breakfast included,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the good comments. WE hope that you where not too disturbed by the noise outside. We are located in the very centre of Edinburgh and the Edinburgh Festival is on at the moment so it can get very noisy in the streets at this time of the year. Next time you stay please let us know and we... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In a evening after walking through the cafe lounge area. There were rodents running around the cafe floor. Other guests had also seen this. When mentioning this to reception staff, the main response was thanks for letting us know. Therefore I asked if they were already aware of this. Their response was that its an old building but should be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We where made aware that a single mouse had managed to get into the ground floor of building which can unfortunately sometimes happen in these very old historic buildings . Thank you very much for letting us know and we are pleased to inform our guests this was dealt with immediately by our maintenance... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place had awesome budget friendly meals and laundry facilities. We stayed in a 2 person individual room. Had a bunkbed with two double beds or queens. Faces the street. Very secure. Was very noisy at night because of the clubs and pubs. We stayed in a weekend. Most nights we where out but the odd night there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Carlie. Thank you very much for your great comments . We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our high level of cleanliness which can sometimes be hard to keep on top of when so many guests are using our facilities but thankfully we manage to achieve this high level most of the time. Our location... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff nice common room and dorms. The Bathrooms were quiet small but clean. Dorms are well organised with lockers and plugs for everyone but i still don't recommend sleeping in a large dorm if noises wake you up easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Nora . Thanks for the great review and its good to hear you liked our clean bathrooms and our recently refurbished dorms . Its also good to hear you will be back . Thanks again for the awesome review BB Crew :) More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here when I was at uni in Leeds for a weekend stay & was taken back by how lovely it was! A high standard of decor & very clean kitchens and rooms. Great lounge area with huge sofas to sprawl on & chat with other backpackers :-) I'm always recommending it to people

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey . thanks for the great review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon BB Crew More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Absolutely terrible. We had a three day booking that was reduced to 2, and thus paid for two nights. On the second night we found that not only had someone moved into our room, but had our belongings moved to a locker below. The name of the receptionist who made the error was David (night of 22/7/15). The other receptionists... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chris . We are sorry you felt you received a terrible service. When you arrived at check in you informed us you wished to cancel the 02nd and 03rd day but as you did not arrive until 06.45pm You where required to still required pay for the second day as your cancellation was out with the 24hr cancellation period... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We had such a jam at this backpackers. It was affordable and had so many perks included in the price - free pub crawl, themed party nights, free walking tour, etc. The atmosphere and the staff are fun and inviting. This is definitely the best place to stay for young people who are keen to meet new people and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Lauren . Thank you so much for the awesome review. Its good hear you had such a great time during your stay with us. We hope you will be back soon BB Crew More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Great hostel for the rates at which you can get a room. It's clean, though slightly cold, and offers the bare minimum that you would need as a budget traveler. It's also well-located, not too far from the castle, Elephant cafe, and the bar nearby that offers discounts to those staying at Budget Backpackers. A good deal for a young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the cool review. Good to hear our value for money was a plus for you . Sorry if you thought the room was a bit cold. We have turned the heating down as it is now summer and it often gets too warm in the hostel but we would have been more than happy to turn the... More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We liked this hostel for the location and bar. Breakfast is paid but good. They forgot my girlfriend's breakfast but when they brought it out they apologized which made it ok because we are Canadian eh? Can be a bit loud at times but the beds are comfy. Staff is nice and helpful. Unisex bathroom with shower stalls which never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Max for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review us . Hopefully we will see you back again soon BB Crew More 

Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Pros: I was able to sleep for a reasonable 5-6hrs, decently clean room, safe, "interesting", EXCELLENT LOCATION Cons: really bizarre spot, obnoxious colours, narrow hallways, maze to find the room. - bed was hard as a rock - our "private room with double bed" ended up being a dorm room with bunk beds, no ensuite despite considerable increased charge. -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Reba Thank you for taking the time to review us . Thanks for the great comments regarding our Location and our room safety and cleanliness. We are sorry the hallway colours did not meet with your approval . We have tried to keep the hostel fun and funky , hence the colours. Our mattresses are hotel standard and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Private Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#19 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#17 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#40 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#55 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
#43 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay