We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Backpackers

37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Budget Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #51 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
United_2015 Montreal, Canada
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    210
    79
    37
    19
See reviews for
11
88
113
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (514)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, central to food, drink, shops, sightseeing. 10 minute walk from Waverly station. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check in was done smoothly and could store our bags in lockers till the room was ready at 1pm. Colin's walking tour was amazing. Great way to get oriented and get some history of Edinburgh at the same time. Found rooms,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel was really well located and at first glance was really lovely to look at. The staff were friendly and the cafe was cheap. However, the layout of the hostel was awkward and with one of the showers out of use we had only two showers for 2 large dorm rooms (our room had 12 beds) of people on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Assami . Thank you for taking the time to review us. Thanks for the great comments regarding our location. Regarding our showers. We have 22 showers located in the hostel. Sometimes the bathroom closest to your room may be full but all the showers in the hostel can be used by all our guests but sometimes guests are not... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is a bit like a maze walking through, but it's very cool! Took a free walking tour the first morning. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location, the staff were unbelievably fun. Free pub crawl! We went the first night, and had so much fun went back again the second night. Shots for 1 pound. Wish I could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey . Thank you for the great Review . Its always good to hear when our guests have enjoyed themselves . Thanks again BB Crew :) More 

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 4 nights as a solo female in March and it was perfect! It's close to a main train/bus station, many of the main sights, and good nightlife as well. I was in a 6 bed mixed dorm and the beds were comfortable, the lockers were large, and there were plenty of outlets and personal reading lights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Aimee for the cool review. We have just upgraded our rooms so its good to hear that you liked the facilities. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon BB Crew :) More 

Gijon, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very well located and nice bedrooms. Very helpful stuff and great cocktails at the bar. Also nice nachos and breakfast.it is not the most silent place to rest but it offers many alternatives. Great pub crawls are organized every week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Gijon Thank you for your positive comments . Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us . BB Crew More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We'll start with the good - good location and modern feel to the hostel. The decor was very cool and the downstairs bar/restaurant area had a really cool vibe. The atmosphere was good and it felt like it had the potential to be a really good hostel due to this. Those are usually the hardest things to get right! Sadly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BudgetB, General Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mary Thank you very much for your review. We have really tried to respond fairly to all the other reviews your group has made. May I take the time to thank you for also pointing out the positive aspects of the hostel. In answer to your other comments. The "vacant" member of staff you mentioned we think was possibly... More 

Urumqi
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

First of all, the location of the hostel is great, it's fairly central - no much more than a 5 - 10 minute walk. However, during my stay I found a lot of problems. The service of the staff was absolutely shocking. The reception staff were incredibly rude and it seemed like we were an inconvenience to them. Upon arrival,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Leslie, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we take all reviews very seriously. We have looked into all your comments and the comments of the others members of your group who have all placed reviews for us. Your group did in fact book a 30 bed dorm for eight people and not a 10 bed... More 

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We were a group of 8 people, staying for two nights. The loation of the hostel couldn't be better and the facilities are great, but we had constant problems with the staff. Staff were impatient and grumpy at reception, blaming problems with room keys on us and making fun of our friend's voice. We had been told that we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Bennet, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we take all reviews very seriously. We have looked into all your comments and the comments of the others members of your group who have all placed reviews for us. Your group did in fact book a 30 bed dorm for eight people and not a 10 bed... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

The hostel was in a great location, couldn't ask for better! The rooms and hostel itself were also very clean and a Lively bar.. That was pretty much it.. Service was awful! Staff were rude, never smiling and i felt like I was a massive burden to them. When our friends visited they gave us 5minutes, counting on the clock,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Beth, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we take all reviews very seriously. We have looked into all your comments and the comments of the others members of your group who have all placed reviews for us. Your group did in fact book a 30 bed dorm for eight people and not a 10 bed... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The place was in a really good location! Everything was within walking distance. The hostel staff were nice, the design was funky with a bar made from a VW Camper van!! The rooms were quite spacious - stayed in a private 4 bed. Lockers there too! Although some of our bedding did smell like it had been dried around food?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Millie Thanks for the review. We are now putting mirrors into all the dorms. Thanks for pointing this out to us. Sometimes its easy to forget these little details. We are not sure why your linen would smell of food as our laundry is located far away from any cooking areas. Your room was possibly the only room close... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

333 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Other (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question