We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Backpackers

37 - 39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Budget Backpackers
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #53 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
EdinburghNikon
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    181
    231
    83
    39
    22
See reviews for
12
96
119
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (556)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came here when I was at uni in Leeds for a weekend stay & was taken back by how lovely it was! A high standard of decor & very clean kitchens and rooms. Great lounge area with huge sofas to sprawl on & chat with other backpackers :-) I'm always recommending it to people

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey . thanks for the great review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon BB Crew More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolutely terrible. We had a three day booking that was reduced to 2, and thus paid for two nights. On the second night we found that not only had someone moved into our room, but had our belongings moved to a locker below. The name of the receptionist who made the error was David (night of 22/7/15). The other receptionists... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chris . We are sorry you felt you received a terrible service. When you arrived at check in you informed us you wished to cancel the 02nd and 03rd day but as you did not arrive until 06.45pm You where required to still required pay for the second day as your cancellation was out with the 24hr cancellation period... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had such a jam at this backpackers. It was affordable and had so many perks included in the price - free pub crawl, themed party nights, free walking tour, etc. The atmosphere and the staff are fun and inviting. This is definitely the best place to stay for young people who are keen to meet new people and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Lauren . Thank you so much for the awesome review. Its good hear you had such a great time during your stay with us. We hope you will be back soon BB Crew More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hostel for the rates at which you can get a room. It's clean, though slightly cold, and offers the bare minimum that you would need as a budget traveler. It's also well-located, not too far from the castle, Elephant cafe, and the bar nearby that offers discounts to those staying at Budget Backpackers. A good deal for a young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for the cool review. Good to hear our value for money was a plus for you . Sorry if you thought the room was a bit cold. We have turned the heating down as it is now summer and it often gets too warm in the hostel but we would have been more than happy to turn the... More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked this hostel for the location and bar. Breakfast is paid but good. They forgot my girlfriend's breakfast but when they brought it out they apologized which made it ok because we are Canadian eh? Can be a bit loud at times but the beds are comfy. Staff is nice and helpful. Unisex bathroom with shower stalls which never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Max for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review us . Hopefully we will see you back again soon BB Crew More 

Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: I was able to sleep for a reasonable 5-6hrs, decently clean room, safe, "interesting", EXCELLENT LOCATION Cons: really bizarre spot, obnoxious colours, narrow hallways, maze to find the room. - bed was hard as a rock - our "private room with double bed" ended up being a dorm room with bunk beds, no ensuite despite considerable increased charge. -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Reba Thank you for taking the time to review us . Thanks for the great comments regarding our Location and our room safety and cleanliness. We are sorry the hallway colours did not meet with your approval . We have tried to keep the hostel fun and funky , hence the colours. Our mattresses are hotel standard and we... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Budget Backpackers Edinburgh for a couple of nights for my mates Stag Doo and found it was everything we needed! My first experience of staying in a hostel and I would certainly go back. Ideal location within walking distance of pubs, pubs and more pubs. The facilities were clean/well maintained and the staff were very accommodating. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank Martin for the great review. We always appreciate customers giving us such positive feedback and hope you will visit us again soon. BB Crew More 

Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like pubs and I like hostels - but I think I like them more apart that combined. The bar was nice - but the hostel was always loud. So if you need a place to crash hard after a night on the town - this may not be the hostel for you. I should add, there were some negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our staff helpful. Sorry that having a bar in the hostel was not your thing. We only put it in a couple of years ago after customers requesting they would like the hostel to have a bar. We hope you enjoyed your otherwise enjoyed stay and that you will... More 

Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for meet people! I arrived the Thursday at 10 am. I was supposed to check-in at 1 pm ... so I was earlier.. don't worries, you ,will have some lockers for you ! Just follow the footprint :D thanks a lot to all staff but a big thanks to David J. Member of staff Who recommand me the k!ck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Wow what a cool review . Thanks a million . :) :) More 

Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the place,it has a restaurant and list of events in the city. Its pretty much in the city so you can walk around and see the city. People are really nice, good for short and long stay. I stayed there for one night with three of my girlfriends but we had a mexican and a Portuguese . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Suzzanna for the great comments. We are pleased you liked our cafe and had a general great time while visiting our beautiful city BB Crew :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

337 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Private Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#20 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#19 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#34 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#60 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Old Town
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
#55 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay