We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 439 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

The Edinburgh Townhouse

38 Castle St., Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland (Formerly Castle Guest House) (West End)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Edinburgh Townhouse to your Saves list
The Edinburgh Townhouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com TheHotels.com
74%
Ranked #166 of 439 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
18
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a little torn about this guest house. Somehow, I missed seeing that there is no lift when I made my reservation. If their cancellation policy didn't require me paying 1 night's room rate, I would have cancelled and booked elsewhere. I stayed here 8 nights. The first 5 nights, I had a room on the backside of the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburghtown10, Owner at The Edinburgh Townhouse, responded to this review

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking time to write a review on the Edinburgh town house. As we are located bang in the city centre of Edinburgh. iam afraid i can not control peoples actions in the street while they are enjoying them selves, we are surrounded by bars and restaurants, This is why people choose to... More

Regensburg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel is in a Perfect location for both Shopping and Sightseeing and the straff was really friendly. We coole leave our luggage before Check-in and after check-out. The room was very clean. The only Problem was the non-existent lift but as we knew that beforehand we were expecting that. A Hotel i would definately recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location, good service and clean rooms. Only downside was the poor shower but the price/quality is great. Hosts were very kind and showed us everything we needed. Taking a look at the Whisky Tasting is recommended. It's 20 pounds each but very much worth it. Old Town is only a 10 minute walk and offers a variety of pubs... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
İstanbul, Türkiye
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

good location. very close to wherever you would like to go. friendly staff. very keen on helping you with a lot of information about the city but i must add that our room was left uncleaned one night. coffee facilities were not filled until we asked. room was ok but the shower was to small. nevertheless i would stay there... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hostel had a great location, within 10 minutes walk to the castle/train station and just few steps to princess street. the lady in the reception wellcomed us and explained the whole city on a map when she had learned that it was our first visit. rooms were also clean and comfortable. our room even had a castle view from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was in Edinburgh for an awards ceremony at the Assembly Rooms . Location was perfect, staff were helpful. Room was clean and the shower was amazing. Would stay again and recommend to others, ideal for a night out as you are in central Edinburgh and there is plenty of pubs and bars.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Right in the center of Edinburgh, just a stone's throw from anything. Was much cheaper than its comparables. Small but tidy room with everything you need. A tad noisy but what would you expect right in the centre of town?!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic value and could not get a more central location. Room was spotless and cleaned everyday. Staff were friendly and happy to help with anything and gave us lots of tips and recommendations of things to do in the town. Exceeded our expectations

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I don't like staying in generic hotel chains they lack individuality, that intangible thing which makes the stay special rather than routine. Valerie was most welcoming and my room was lovely, a single en-suite with space to move around, hardwood floors, warm and with a comfortably firm mattress. It is up three floors which may be of concern to slightly... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bad Nauheim, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Edinburgh Townhouse last weekend and were pretty disappointed after having read all the good reviews about how friendly the owners were supposed to be. The guesthouse is on the third floor and there is no elevator. Contrary to the experience of other people, there was no one helping us to get our bags upstairs. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburghtown10, Manager at The Edinburgh Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns. We at Edinburgh Townhouse always pride ourselves with the fact that we are a friendly, cozy Family run guesthouse. We offer up our genuine concerns when any guest has felt that their experience has been less than satisfactory. However your experience does not mirror that of others who have also... More

Been to The Edinburgh Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Townhouse

Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Townhouse Scotland
Address: 38 Castle St., Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland (Formerly Castle Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Town House, Is situated on the 3 rd floor of a Georgian Town House, just up from Princess Street. The famous Edinburgh Castle can be seen from the front entrance. This is a charming guesthouse in a superb location. We are walking distance to all the famous landmarks,George street with its restaurants, cafes ,cocktail bars and designer shops are also on our door step.We offer a comfortable room in a lovely townhouse,with free wi-fi.Please come and see for yourselfm you wont be disapointed. Famous writer Sir Walter Scott was born just across from us. History every were you look. We are a 20 min. drive from edinburgh airport, 10 mins from the rail station and 10 mins from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Edinburgh Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edinburgh Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.