We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edinburgh Townhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
38 Castle St., Edinburgh EH2 3BN, Scotland (Formerly Castle Guest House)
Special Price
choose this
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Edinburgh Townhouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    89
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
74
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here during the Fringe Festival and the location of the townhouse could not be better. We soaked up the atmosphere of the Fringe and walked all over Edinburgh from the townhouse. The breakfast voucher for a restaurant down the road is worth purchasing. We would return, especially as it was good value compared to other accommodation during such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for the Fringe. The location is excellent with a short walk to Princess Street and Waverley station. Reception is not 24 hours but this was not a problem at all and we found the service very friendly and helpful. Good value for Edinburgh during festival when all prices seem to rise. Staircase to reception and rooms. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very Noisy rooms, you can hear what your neighbour is doing all night and the staircases are awfully long especially when you're carrying heavy suitcases. Moreover, the reception has strict working hours and you'd better stick to them. We were on a tour and had to get back to the hotel before 8pm because otherwise there is no one to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburghtown10, Manager at The Edinburgh Townhouse, responded to this review

Why we take all our reviews seriously, i must respond to comments made , which i feel do not come across accurately. 1.Regarding noise from room - I can not be responsible for guests activity within the rooms. 2. The guesthouse was built over 300 years ago We are an A listed building We clearly state we are on the... More 

Groningen Province, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Late incheck @ 3 p.m. Lot of stairs, no elevator. Clean room. Nice area and all highlights in walking distant. I stayed in a room on the backside and it was quiet. The shower gives not that much water, less pressure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
northwich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It couldn't be silent in the room because the Fringe was on. I would have liked a pc table and chair. I only lost one point on value because to me all hotels are too expensive. Staff great. I would definitely stay again. Nothing more to stay really.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely stay here during the fringe, spacious rooms, perfect location and staff was great! Good advice and very helpful, found it easy to get around in Edinburgh. We stayed as a couple and couldn't have asked for more. Good quality for the price, definitely during the festival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just returned from a weekend stay for the festival and tattoo. Hotel close enough to the action to be able to return during the day if you want, though I thought I was fit until I tackled the stairs...after a long day of seemingly endless stairs up to the royal Mile and other places, then the hotel stairs were rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location for this B&B was perfect. We could walk everywhere we needed to to enjoy the festival and come back during the day if we needed to recover! The room was small but met our needs and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The shower room was very small but adequate. Would definitely return next time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel choosing the fully refundable option. The description on the hotel website states all rooms are en-suite, but on reading another Tripadvisor report it became apparent this was not the case. I subsequently cancelled my reservation and the deposit was not refunded until I had pestered the owner with emails (several of which were completely ignored). Even then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
edinburghtown10, Manager at The Edinburgh Townhouse, responded to this review

We apologise for any inconvenience caused on awaiting your cancellation refund of your deposit of £21.50 which had to await approval from the owner on his return from holiday with his family. We as managers are not given access to making any refunds, However on his return your emails where answered and your deposit repaid minus the initial charge for... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Here on Tripadvisor there are comments about the stairs but this was not really a problem. We are two women in our sixties and we didn't find them difficult. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and there were generous facilities in the room and bathroom. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#105 of 443 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#189 of 443 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#119 of 443 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#148 of 443 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
New Town
Queens Guest House
Queens Guest House
#155 of 443 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighborhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighborhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay