We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 Edinburgh hotels

The Carlton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Cowgate)
Hotel amenities
The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
57%
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jane40zig Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    609
    437
    271
    181
See reviews for
287
820
80
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1997)
  • Mar-May only
    (522)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (478)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (505)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (492)
All months
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 3 nights. At breakfast each morning the service was not what we expected. We sat with our dirty bowls/plates while we ate, it was a small table so it became cramped. We noticed empty tables being cleared while ours was full. I understand they have to prepare for the next diners but..... No one came to ask if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I travel a lot and have become accustomed to compromise ... So this is very central, but apart from in tourist brochures ... Edinburgh is busy, noisy, drunk & a bit rough around the edges ... And this is next to a very busy railway station. I don't care, but you might. It needs a deep clean, a proper thorough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I was staying on a business trip and attending a 2 day conference in the hotel. My room was clean and had all the amenities you would expect. However it was quite small for the price. The breakfast was very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. Very cheap bland sausages, thin and dry bacon, over cooked fried eggs and watery,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie_the_vet, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that the food served was not to your liking and I trust that you did speak to a member of Management about these issues whilst you were staying with us. I do hope that you will reconsider and return for another stay with us very soon. Kind regards Sacha... More

saltcoats
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We ungraded to a superior room. From the minute we checked in the staff could not have been more helpful. Our room was excellent. Room 224. 3 massive windows with views of the Royal Mile. Tea and coffee, fridge, slippers and dressing gowns. A bottle of wine in room on arrival. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear saltcoats, Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Carlton Hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and that the staff were really friendly and welcoming during your stay. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again very soon! Kind regards Sacha Cauwels-Wigan General... More

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Do not be put off by the odd poor review of this hotel.its a very well staffed hotel with a can do helpful attitude. Hotel decor and carpet maybe dated in corridors as commented before on reviews. However the breakfast was excellent and location cannot be bettered. We had a very enjoyable stay and all the staff were helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David G, I am really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at The Carlton Hotel and you found every aspect of staying with us a pleasure. I completely agree with the location; perfect for exploring Edinburgh and only a stones-throw away from Waverley Station! I do hope that you will stay with us again very soon.... More

Berwick Upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked in for a Spa day at the above hotel, Found the staff to be very pleasant. Unfortunatley the spa experience was a bit of a let down. Tea facilities were constantly empty, either no hot water or no milk. The treatments were fantastic with very pleasant ladies. Part of the package was lunch which was pre-booked at a set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fiftyplus2013, I am pleased to read that the treatments you received were fantastic and that the therapists were very friendly and professional. Thank you for your feedback regarding the tea & coffee facilities and the Leisure & Beauty Manager has been made aware of your feedback. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again very... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently had a bad experience with the Carlton Hotel. We set up a two-week Scotland vacation very carefully well ahead of time. Key parts of the vacation were small group tours with Edinburgh as start point. We carefully selected the Carlton for its central location in Edinburgh and for its proximity to the pickup point for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CWarnerJ, Thank you for your comments about the confusion regarding your reservation. This is a rare occurrence and I am sorry that this happened. I trust that you have spoken to us direct about your credit card statement and if not, then please get in touch with me direct so we can rectify this. Warm Regards, Sacha Cauwels-Wigan General... More

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is very convenient for transportation, shopping, restaurants, Royal Mile, the castle, etc. but the windows do not block out the noise from the street. Also since this hotel is in the heart of the tourist zone and City the noise continues all night as well as numerous homeless sleeping out in the street right outside your window.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JuanMaura, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I completely agree with the location; perfect for exploring the vibrant city of Edinburgh! I do trust that you did speak to a member of management who would have tried to locate you a quieter room. I do hope that you will return to stay with us... More

Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When we were in Edinburgh the best place to stay is the Carlton, the first impression is good clean warm and welcoming, the staff are friendly and helpful. The only thing that lets it down is the state of the rooms, ie nothing in the fridge and no electricity for the TVs or the tea making facilities,but on the plus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Whitehartinn1, I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your feedback about the electricity I will speak to my maintenance team to investigate this. Thank you for leaving us a review We hope to see you next time you are in the area Warm regards Sacha Cauwels-Wigan General Manager More

Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a Four star hotel, really? Diabolical management with no commitment to our group (bent over backwards for other customers). Disgraceful food, no noise insulation, so don't expect a good night's sleep! I wouldn't recommend this hotel, or any in others in The Hotel Collection, because they don't care about their customers, certainly not those with autism (who have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

295 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay