We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Edinburgh hotels

The Carlton Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland (Cowgate)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
57%
Ranked #122 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MO A Amman, Jordan
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    595
    423
    264
    166
See reviews for
277
799
78
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and his parents for one night for a weekend trip to Edinburgh. On first impressions the hotel looked very nice with a very modern reception, also in a very good location within a few minutes walk if the train station. However this was to immediately change upon walking into our room which was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed there for 3 days/ 2 nights ... Very convenient ... 3 minutes away from the royal mile, 10 minutes away from Edinburgh castle, 5 minutes away from Waverly Station ... I didn't really try anything in the hotel except for the room itself... It was clean but there was a weird smell which I couldn't determine its source...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel on the 22nd of August for two nights B and B. We arrange a package deal with our local travel agent to go and watch the Edinburgh tattoo. We paid and were told it was a four stat hotel. When we arrived at the hotel at around 11am we couldn't get into the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Carlton is bigger than the kind of hotels I normally like to stay in. As a result of its size and its admittedly brilliant location, it is very popular with tour groups. This led to queues for breakfast and receptionists during my stay. The lifts are incredibly slow (I waited several minutes one morning before giving up and walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel late in 2013 as part of an overall holiday to Scandinavia. This was part of our return home. The Carlton wasn't our first choice; that was booked out and after I'd made our reservation I read with concern some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. I genuinely thought I'd made a huge mistake but was extremely pleased... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay (bed and breakfast and evening meal) for my parents - a gift for their 50th wedding anniversary. They frequently have short breaks in hotels in Ireland but are what I would call, easily satisfied. They thought that the location of the hotel was great and the staff were really friendly. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma G, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Quonda, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding a stay with us at The Carlton Hotel. I am disapointed that your stay did not live up to both your expectations and also our objectives in customer service and standards. Unfortunately I cannot comment at this moment specfically on the dinner experience as I do not have your details/ reservation... More

Long Island NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed here for 1 night. it was walking distance from the train station and around the block from most of the tourist attractions like the royal mile and the castle. So there's advantage to that. The room was HOT no matter what we tried. And opening the windows a bit helped little but city noise was just that much louder... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma G, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rmdragon, Thank you for your recent comment. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the city and the location that the hotel is situated in. I realise that you were let down by several aspects during your stay however your feedback is very important to us and we do often review all comments for progress training & development. Once... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at The Carlton Hotel was excellent. The rooms are generous and spacious, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. It was August, so the room was a bit hot; however, the staff cheerfully provided us with a fan. The view from the room wasn't the greatest, but it did give us a nice view of Calton Hill. The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma G, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff P, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments about both the hotel and staff are great to read and we are very pleased that you enjoyed an excellent time in Edinburgh, August is without a doubt one of the best times to visit with so much going on and something for... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel due to a conference we had in the same venue. The hotel was a big disappointment; rooms facing the street are noisy and hot, floor makes "funny noise", rooms have not been well maintained, bath tub cloaked, old window frames falling apart, some power sockets without any power, etc. I changed my room to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma G, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam K, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and comments regarding your stay at The Carlton Hotel. I was disaspointed to read that you felt your stay was let down by several aspects, unfortunately as I am unaware of when you stayed with us and which group you were part of I cannot further... More

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got checked in and found our room at the front of the hotel overlooking George Street. The road that becomes the Royal Mile is just a few metres away from the hotel. Room very warm and air conditioning didn't seem to help so we managed to work out how to open the windows. Okay in the afternoon but at night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma G, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oldbloke_TH, Thank you for your recent feedback and comments regarding the staff. I do appreciate that at times when the city is very busy we can be subject to more noise being very centrally located. It is unfortunate that you were disturbed by a fire alarm in the night however this is beyong our control and I am sure... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Edinburgh
Carlton Hotel Edinburgh
The Carlton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

292 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (263)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities