We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carlton Hotel

19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Carlton Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We managed to get a great deal for all day spa access, two treatments and lunch for £40. What a deal it was. The place is absolutely stunning and we had such a lovely time. Very relaxing and we left feeling refreshed and so relaxed. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank KimmyKat M
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went in april 2015 and we had absolutely no complaints. We got a great deal and its central location was perfect for getting the most of the beautiful city that is Edinburgh. Despite some of the not so positive reviews of the hotel we went for it and in my opinion it is a beautiful hotel with great facilities,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emurph94
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stopped here for new year. Great location to everything. It's a short walk to the shops and a slightly longer walk to the old town. It's literally on the bus route and not far from the train station. The hotels clean m, the rooms vary in size and Breakfast is a buffet style so suits everyone. Scaffolding was on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karenjacskon
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is going through an external refurb and is surrounded by scaffolding. The room was on the third floor and over looked the Waverly railway station. The room. was clean and had a small fridge. The hotel is clean and tidy and is in a fair condition. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with cooked!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 2 nights in December 2015. We had a very enjoyable stay there in a lovely large corner room overlooking the Royal Mile. The room itself was a little down at heel with the shower mixer in the shower cubicle hanging off the wall. There was another shower above the bath so we used that. There were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a spa break at the Carlton last weekend, and despite the building work going on, we had a fantastic time. The evening meal each night in the restaurant was superb, and Nicola and her team could not do enough to make each evening a success. Our spa treatments for 2 hrs each (4 of us) were some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is undergoing reservations at the moment and has scaffold all around it but provides excellent value for money in a central location because of that Breakfast is very comprehensive and was included in the booking price

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shocking!!! wouldn't advice it to anyone, room was freezing on first night, spent it wrapped up like a fish supper in my jacket blue with the cold, I then got moved into a room the size of a shoebox, there was what I can only describe as half a bath or maybe it was a large sink hard to tell!!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa C
Linda W, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lissa C, I am disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us and that your stay fell short of your expectations. I have followed up with our Front Office team and please accept my sincere apologies that we were not able to accommodate you a room suiting your requests. I do hope the goodwill... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had family over from Italy for a weeks visit in December. They chose the Carlton Hotel as it was close to Old Town and near other attractions i.e. the Christmas Market. Had dinner with them at the Hotel and was very pleased that the food and service was fantastic. The rooms are great as well. A great feel of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 128Allen
Linda W, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 128Allen, Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and were well looked after by our team. With our ongoing refurbishment, we will be able to provide even more luxury and comfort to our guests, so I do hope we will get the chance... More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located close to the centre of Edinburgh, The Carlton Hotel was a great place for my visit to Edinburgh. As we were in Edinburgh for the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle, our hotel was just a short downhill walk away. No need to worry about parking, cabs or traffic if using a coach. With the Royal Mile around the corner... More 

Helpful?
Thank HW08
Linda W, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HW08, Thank you for leaving us such a nice review and for highlighting our excellent city centre location, ideally placed for seeing all that Edinburgh has to offer. The Carlton Hotel was built in 1900 and is steeped in character and history, all part of the charm that our guests love. We do have a major refurbishment taking place... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

883 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (420)
Viewed
Room/suite (105)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (410)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (133)
Viewed
Upper Level Premium Double Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,269 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#103 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,826 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe
The Roxburghe
#60 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay