We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverleith Hotel

3.0 of 5 5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inverleith Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    88
    34
    29
    5
See reviews for
36
118
26
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Situated between Leith and city centre this hotel is opposite the Royal Botanical Gardens. 25 minute walk from Princes St or short bus journey. Quiet side street with free weekend parking.Basic but adequate room with small en-suite. Breakfast was very good.Service was excellent, we only saw 1 member of staff who checked us in and served breakfast, he was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Edinburgh and found the Inverleith through tripadvisor. Absolutely would stay again! Really lovely little hotel - the rooms (or at least the one we were in) were quite small, but had everything you could want in it, the small space was well utilised. The staff we met were absolutely lovely and incredibly helpful. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we appreciate you taking the time and we thrive on all given feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our cosy hotel, we take pride in our traditional style and friendly staff. Yes, although the parking may seem confusing this is an 'Edinburgh' thing as outside the hotel... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a really good stay here, the gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very nice. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and we didn't have any problems at all. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the service given by our staff. Should you return to Edinburgh we would love to have you stay again. Thanks More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Box room my smallest bedroom in the house is bigger and no jokes the loo was in what I thought was a wardrobe! Husband now has a bad back from the bed all the springs were our TV remote didn't work Small breakfast Good parking free on weekends Good location

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry to hear that it was not up to your expectations. We have a number of different room types in the hotel, I am sorry you found your room to be small. However, some people prefer these smaller rooms especially those on a budget as we can... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stayed here for two nights in December 2014. The hotel was in a good location, with a place to park the car and around 20 minutes walk from all the action (we are keen walkers so this is nothing for us but if you don't fancy this I think there were buses around?). The staff were lovely, as was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Customer satisfaction is one of our priorities so we are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. We hope that you would stay with us agin if you return to Edinburgh. Regards, Nathan More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We booked a twin room here in Sept/Oct. The first thing we noticed was the uninterested attitude of whom we believed to be the manageress. We assumed this because we were never actually introduced to her or any of the staff of whom we saw only 3. She gave us the details of the room number and the times of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you had hoped. As a small hotel we in turn have a smaller staff base which usually allows us to be more friendly as throughout your stay you get the chance to know the staff as you are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip mid-week. I was generally happy with my stay - the customer service was very good, staff being very polite and helpful. The room was quite small but for my purposes was absolutely fine - the bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and powerful. Breakfast was nicely cooked. My only reservation was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you were comfortable throughout your stay. We are sorry to hear that the 'yes' sign made you uncomfortable, that was not the intention and nor was it necessarily the opinion of our staff or customers. It was intended as a conversational vehicle, a talking point to... More 

winnipeg mb
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Inverleith Hotel and it was great. Located just enough off the beaten track to be affordable but close enough on foot or any of the 3 buses which run past its doors to be a convenient location. There is a Tesco around the corner (our room had a kitchen) and there are plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Guest Relations Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, all feedback is appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future, Thanks More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel three times now. The staff are always extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable, despite being on the small side. The breakfasts are delicious and there's more of whatever you want. The hotel manager is particularly pleasant and helpful and a mine of information regarding what's going on locally. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review our hotel, and more importantly for your continued custom, hat-trick! We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Nathan More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at this hotel during the Edinburgh Festival. We probably had the best room which was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The service was good. Quiet. Efficient. One really valuable feature is its proximity to 3 bus routes with frequent buses which go straight to the Castle and main areas of interest.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
managerinverleith, Manager at Inverleith Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Edinburgh festival and your time in Edinburgh in general, we hope you will stay with us again in the future. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Inverleith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverleith Hotel

Address: 5 Inverleith Terrace | City Centre, Edinburgh EH3 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverleith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Inverleith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverleith Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay