We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55A Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1HL, Scotland (New Town)
Hotel amenities
Rick's
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rick's to your Saves list
Ranked #90 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Robert B North Berwick, United Kingdom
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
10
150
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. Well, I booked the restaurant but was brusquely waved into the bar. The food was on a deal but the deal portions were extremely small and the food was rather cold. My friends had to return the dessert which had very little (and cold) sauce. I had been before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked our one night stay in response to an internet offer and were not disappointed. Although our room and bathroom were both small, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good sleep. Breakfast was typical buffet style, perfectly acceptable if not special. Great city centre location and a perfect place for a city overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing restaurant with a good varied menu, including a special lunch selection. The staff are very friendly giving good service. The bar is very well stocked with a good selection of beer, wine and spirits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Despite getting a very good deal we were disappointed when we saw our room given the hotels 4 stars and having seen some good reviews. The biggest issue was that instead of a double bed we had two singles pushed together which I didn't notice until we were in bed, I moved and rolled into the gap! The beds themselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and to pass on your feedback. More 

City of Discovery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We arrived to go down approximately 8 or 9 steps the top of which needs a repair as concrete broken and could be trip hazard. We were greeted by Michael who on seeing we both had walking difficulties as we were using sticks promptly after telling us our room was on fourth floor rearranged bookings to bring us down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I have briefed all staff, and maintenance so we can resolve the problems you had to improve our serivce. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Restaurant very nice and the food was very goodm rooms a little dirty, people cleaning very unpleasant and my wife feel the alcohol from young blonde woman who cleaned a room during the week. If this service is not for sure that we together with my wife returned to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. More 

North Somerset
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Ok, so this is a bit of a mixed review as we enjoyed our stay, the room was great (small but just fine for one night) The bed was comfy, although the weird lumpy duvet was a little odd, i couldn't work it out and the shower was SO hot and SO powerful, the shower curtain wouldn't leave me alone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. Since your review our website has been updated to have the currant breakfast options. We are are in the middle of the city centre, which does mean there can be street noise, I'm sorry that this made for a less than enjoyable stay. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at Ricks whilst visiting the fringe. Staff were friendly and allowed us to leave our bags until check in at 2pm. The room was as per description however we had requested twin beds and got a king size. Saying that the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean however the shower curtain and tiles had mould... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Since your stay we have had all bathrooms deep cleaned with new shower curtains in all rooms. More 

Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We're just back from 3 days at the Fringe as part of the celebrations for my 40th birthday. We used Rick's as our base for the visit - overall the hotel was fab and we would definitely return. We especially found the location was ideal for city centre access to both old & new town. The rooms were good for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your kind review, I am glad you had such a great time here during the fringe More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

While visiting Scotland we pre-booked one nights stay at Ricks and on arrival I was surprised to see what it was actually like... First of all this please note that the rooms are situated above a bar and when you enter you go in through the main bar entrance. I found the service to be a tad lacking, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I'm sorry that you didn't receive the perfect experience with us, however I have noted all your points and will be briefing my whole team to try and improve on all service and standards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay