We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55A Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1HL, Scotland (New Town)
Hotel amenities
Rick's
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rick's to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #85 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kay811 Penrith, United Kingdom
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
10
149
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite getting a very good deal we were disappointed when we saw our room given the hotels 4 stars and having seen some good reviews. The biggest issue was that instead of a double bed we had two singles pushed together which I didn't notice until we were in bed, I moved and rolled into the gap! The beds themselves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and to pass on your feedback. More

City of Discovery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived to go down approximately 8 or 9 steps the top of which needs a repair as concrete broken and could be trip hazard. We were greeted by Michael who on seeing we both had walking difficulties as we were using sticks promptly after telling us our room was on fourth floor rearranged bookings to bring us down to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I have briefed all staff, and maintenance so we can resolve the problems you had to improve our serivce. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Restaurant very nice and the food was very goodm rooms a little dirty, people cleaning very unpleasant and my wife feel the alcohol from young blonde woman who cleaned a room during the week. If this service is not for sure that we together with my wife returned to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. More

North Somerset
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Ok, so this is a bit of a mixed review as we enjoyed our stay, the room was great (small but just fine for one night) The bed was comfy, although the weird lumpy duvet was a little odd, i couldn't work it out and the shower was SO hot and SO powerful, the shower curtain wouldn't leave me alone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. Since your review our website has been updated to have the currant breakfast options. We are are in the middle of the city centre, which does mean there can be street noise, I'm sorry that this made for a less than enjoyable stay. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at Ricks whilst visiting the fringe. Staff were friendly and allowed us to leave our bags until check in at 2pm. The room was as per description however we had requested twin beds and got a king size. Saying that the bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean however the shower curtain and tiles had mould... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Since your stay we have had all bathrooms deep cleaned with new shower curtains in all rooms. More

Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We're just back from 3 days at the Fringe as part of the celebrations for my 40th birthday. We used Rick's as our base for the visit - overall the hotel was fab and we would definitely return. We especially found the location was ideal for city centre access to both old & new town. The rooms were good for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your kind review, I am glad you had such a great time here during the fringe More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

While visiting Scotland we pre-booked one nights stay at Ricks and on arrival I was surprised to see what it was actually like... First of all this please note that the rooms are situated above a bar and when you enter you go in through the main bar entrance. I found the service to be a tad lacking, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. I'm sorry that you didn't receive the perfect experience with us, however I have noted all your points and will be briefing my whole team to try and improve on all service and standards. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here as we came up for the weekend from Leicester for the Edinburgh Tattoo. What a great place. On arrival, we checked in and had a drink in the bar before going up to our room. The place has a nice atmosphere and feel, and the staff are nice and attentive, and professional. The rooms are OK. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your kind review, we all glad you had such a great visit to Edinburgh More

Graz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Hotel is located near Princey Street in new town, the castle is within walking distance (10-15 min). The room in the 3rd floor (no lift!) was clean and everything was there, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was very good and prices are ok for what you get there! All in all we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. Its good to here such positive feedback More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, met by excellent and helpful staff who made check in seamless, even though we were early they'd allowed us to leave our bags and even took them up to our room for us! TV didn't work for the first night but was replaced within 24 hours and we had a generous reduction from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, General Manager at Rick's, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your very nice review More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rick's

Address: 55A Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rick's 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rick's Edinburgh, Scotland

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay