We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holyrood apartHOTEL

4.0 of 5
1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    219
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
249
151
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (623)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holyrood apartHOTEL
See the most recent reviews
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

The only down sides were the windows which let in much of the street's noise; the fact that there isn't information in other languages regarding the use of domestic appliances and the need to turn on a switch outside the bathroom to be able to use the shower. For someone who doesn't know English that would be a problem. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review and I am sorry you were not impressed with our bedcovers - we are currently in the middle of replacing them all! Foreign visitors should contact reception for assistance with our appliances. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Lovely little apartments which were very clean and nicely decorated. Only a short walk to the royal mile plus an on site car park which was handy (though costs £15 per day) The only thing felt dampened my stay slightly were noisy guests around us. But saying that, it was a Friday night/Saturday morning so some noise is to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that some of your neighbours' inconsiderate behavior may have marred your stay - we do try to tackle such problems sensitively but there are times when our best efforts are not enough. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Great location for visiting Edinburgh sights: Castle 10 mins, Holyrood Palace 2 mins. Arthurs Seat gives an imposing and impressive back drop to apartments. Admittedly the apartment building isn't too attractive and the rooms we had were behind a fire door that made a hell of a noise everytime we or the neighbour came and went but a good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

what a shame - a really good location and a building that offers plenty of facilities, but just isn't quite all it could be. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for two nights - fri & sat - , and had a really disturbed sleep on both nights. Not just from the noise of people in the street outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read that this guest has left us with a negative impression - we share their frustration with the thoughtlessness of some guests and will step in where appropriate to ensure other guests are not being disturbed - I can only apologize that we did not manage it successfully this particular night. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment - clean,comfortable and well equipped if you prefer to cook rather than eat out.The aparthotel is a minute away from The Royal Mile and a bus stop for the hop on hop off bus . There is a Tesco Express nearby and restaurants and bars are a 5 minute walk away. An ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A very succinct but informative review - many thanks for such positive feedback. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment was above our expectations. Very roomy with everything you need in a kitchen. The continental breakfast included yogurts, fresh juice, variety of cereals, biscuits and jams. Also had tea, coffee, sugar, milk and bread. Location was great with a minute walk to the royal mile with Tesco Express just round the corner. Would definitely return here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A wonderful review of the Hoyrood Aparthotel - many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share such positive feedback! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and have always loved it. However time has not been kind and no money had been spent. The whole place needs to be redecorated. Carpet old, walls dirty and patched with unpainted filler, burn holes in kitchen bench, TV channels didn't work and the set is pretty old. Couch and beds are so uncomfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

My thanks to this guest for their valuable feedback and rest assured all the points raised will be addressed. We are currently embarking on another refurbishment programme although it is unfair and untrue to suggest no money has been spent recently. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
133 hotel reviews
565 helpful votes 565 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We stayed for three nights in December 2014 on a pre-Christmas city break and our stay was overshadowed by our experience regarding the room type provided. We had visited the hotel previously and as many others have reported on TA we had expected to be allocated an apartment, described on our confirmation from Hotels.com as having “1 double bed…separate sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a comprehensive review and I will answer as succinctly as I can - we do have two room types at the Holyrood Aparthotel, Studios and Two Bedroom Apartments, and I would urge all guests to ensure they choose the correct type at the time of booking. The easiest way to ensure this is to book directly... More 

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location, just off the royal mile. The small functional kitchen is great and easy to cook in. There is a Tescos metro supermarket just around the corner for getting all of the essentials you need during your stay. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were nicely appointed and roomy. The wifi was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A fantastic review of the Holyrood Aparthotel - many thanks! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Edinburgh and the Christmas markets where I take my family every year. This year I opted for Holyrood apartHotel and I was not disappointed. Without doubt, in terms of value for money, this is by far the best accommodation we have stayed in for many a year!! At only £70 per night for a studio apartment, (2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Another wonderful and comprehensive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel, and I am loathe to correct any part of it, but must point out that overnight parking is in fact only £15.00 Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question