We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 144 Edinburgh hotels

Holyrood apartHOTEL

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)
Hotel amenities
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holyrood apartHOTEL to your Saves list
Ranked #52 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ElaineandChris40 Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    209
    43
    14
    10
See reviews for
241
148
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (607)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment - clean,comfortable and well equipped if you prefer to cook rather than eat out.The aparthotel is a minute away from The Royal Mile and a bus stop for the hop on hop off bus . There is a Tesco Express nearby and restaurants and bars are a 5 minute walk away. An ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The 2 bedroom apartment was above our expectations. Very roomy with everything you need in a kitchen. The continental breakfast included yogurts, fresh juice, variety of cereals, biscuits and jams. Also had tea, coffee, sugar, milk and bread. Location was great with a minute walk to the royal mile with Tesco Express just round the corner. Would definitely return here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A wonderful review of the Hoyrood Aparthotel - many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share such positive feedback! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times and have always loved it. However time has not been kind and no money had been spent. The whole place needs to be redecorated. Carpet old, walls dirty and patched with unpainted filler, burn holes in kitchen bench, TV channels didn't work and the set is pretty old. Couch and beds are so uncomfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

My thanks to this guest for their valuable feedback and rest assured all the points raised will be addressed. We are currently embarking on another refurbishment programme although it is unfair and untrue to suggest no money has been spent recently. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
519 reviews 519 reviews
132 hotel reviews
523 helpful votes 523 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in December 2014 on a pre-Christmas city break and our stay was overshadowed by our experience regarding the room type provided. We had visited the hotel previously and as many others have reported on TA we had expected to be allocated an apartment, described on our confirmation from Hotels.com as having “1 double bed…separate sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a comprehensive review and I will answer as succinctly as I can - we do have two room types at the Holyrood Aparthotel, Studios and Two Bedroom Apartments, and I would urge all guests to ensure they choose the correct type at the time of booking. The easiest way to ensure this is to book directly... More 

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a fantastic location, just off the royal mile. The small functional kitchen is great and easy to cook in. There is a Tescos metro supermarket just around the corner for getting all of the essentials you need during your stay. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were nicely appointed and roomy. The wifi was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A fantastic review of the Holyrood Aparthotel - many thanks! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Edinburgh and the Christmas markets where I take my family every year. This year I opted for Holyrood apartHotel and I was not disappointed. Without doubt, in terms of value for money, this is by far the best accommodation we have stayed in for many a year!! At only £70 per night for a studio apartment, (2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Another wonderful and comprehensive review for the Holyrood Aparthotel, and I am loathe to correct any part of it, but must point out that overnight parking is in fact only £15.00 Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Armidale, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We booked a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment and was not disappointed. The room was well furnished, comfortable and it came with fitted kitchen along with washer/dryer which we made good use of. Location to the Royal Mile is outstanding, along with a tesco close by for any requirements. Parking was available although directions to the rear of the premises... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Holyrood apartHotel in 7 years. I got the apartment from laterooms. To say it was a bargain is an understatement. I two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms, a living room and a kitchen is amazing value for £80 per night. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave La review of the Holyrood apartHOTE, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments provide excellent value for money and I am glad to hear that you made good use of all our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to... More 

Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Was a while ago, but loved this hotel, maybe I am a bit bias, was the first hotel I took to wife to when we started going out. But about the hotel, the rooms great, the hotel clean, the location central enough to walk everywhere you needed to go. Worth the visit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

A really touching review - it is always great to hear from return guests and my thanks to this couple for their continued support! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Stayed here several times due to great location and the benefits of an apartment. We booked via Expedia and specifically requested a standard apartment and not one of their few adapted ones for disabled people (we have had one of these before and they are not ideal for an able bodied person). On arrival we had been given one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Sorry to read about your initial disappointment but I am glad we were able to resolve the matter for you - please note that we can guarantee specific room types if you book through our own website! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay