We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holyrood apartHOTEL

1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #72 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Wander18539 Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    351
    226
    51
    17
    11
See reviews for
262
160
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (656)
  • Mar-May only
    (155)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (167)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a few steps from the Royal Mile and Canongate Kirk. The room was very clean, including the well appointed kitchenette. You can stock the kitchen at a nearby Tesco Express. Staff was courteous and helpful. Free wifi was spotty at times but generally good. Room was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and well designed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here from 9 - 11 July 15. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was adequate but little things were frustrating such as the windows would not remain open on their own so we had to prop them open with cans, (and it was quite stuffy). And the water pump that operated anytime a tap was turned on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Comfortable, centrally located. We shared a two bedroom, two bath unit with our son. The breakfast portion of the B&B designation, consist of a stocked kitchen (continental breakfast). We were able to add beacon and eggs from the neighborhood Tesco grocery just down the street. The kitchen had everything we needed, some items were in the living room cabinet. Beware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlisle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location - good. 1 minute from tesco express and a pizza express. 10 mins to station. Great for visiting Holyrood, dynamic earth and royal mile. Reception- had to wait 15 minutes to check in as rather complicated check in before us. No where to sit as the people checking in were a huge family. Chap sitting in clear view in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for its location and our need to find a room for three persons. Since most hotels now limit their rooms to two persons (either two twin beds or a double/queen bed), this apartment hotel allowed for more than two persons. Having the kitchenette allowed us to have breakfast in the apartment and this is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

My apologies to this guest for the disturbance whilst we carried out some essential refurbishmnet works. There never should have been any noise at that time of day and we did quickly address this with the contractor available, and we have taken on board the comments regarding our front office staff. I would urge these guests to return to see... More 

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartment hotel is in a good location but we were disappointed. We were there for a week and there were only 6 hangers in the closet. I asked three times for extra hangers. Finally, on the third request, they said they could not locate any. Our washing machine did not work properly. On a positive note, we did experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

My apologies to this guest for getting something so fundamental wrong - this could have dealt with this issue a lotter more efficiently. I will ensure this does not happen again. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Black Diamond, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't know what to expect never having stayed in an apartment hotel. What we found was great. Nothing fancy but the studio apartment we had was comfortable and well equipped. All the appliances worked, there was a nice sitting area and a kitchen well enough equipped to actually cook a meal - even a washer and dryer and free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and me stayed at the hotel there was a member of reception staff witch was really racist towards me and my wife he described as ugly looking and that we should speak English since we are in Scotland plus he said that he never seen a dress that ugly. My wife is ill and he took advantage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review

Although you can probably tell by reading this review, it is completely false! No such incident happened - or could ever happen. ignore. I was alerted to this complaint via a trail of emails from someone using somebody else's email adrdress looking for a refund for an alleged incident and threatening the hotel if we did not pay. Completely bogus... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a convenient well appointed apartment just off the Main Street. Great if you don't have a car and want to be able to walk. A small Tesco just around the corner if you need to bits and bobs. It does seem to be on a back street and at first may be a little off putting eg old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed here a while back but I forgot to post a review. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is close to many attractions and shops. It is a little bit tucked in and harder to find initially but the location is very convenient. The room, shall I say apartment, is simply great! My family had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

533 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (47)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#69 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#63 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#27 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,965 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay