We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ballantrae Hotel

Hotel website
8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Special Offer
Celebrate at Ballantrae
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ballantrae Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    106
    67
    62
    55
See reviews for
57
147
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Ubud, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

terrible hotel, rooms tired dated and stuffy. breakfasts awful, running out of basics like toast ans porridge. cereal bowels plastic free ones collected from cereal packet tokens. they tried to charge us extra for breakfast when itwas already in the price. wifi was intermittant at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Welcomed with friendliness and warmly by staff shown to our room in the basement but overlooking the rambling garden. The room was nicely decorated and the bath and shower were lovely and clean. The rest of the hotel was magnificent in architecture and decoration.The bar/lounge was super and we had a pleasant drink or two in there after watching the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel last minute for an overnight fringe visit. It was a really good choice. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They offered to keep our cases after we checked out so that we could visit different fringe events. The room was spotless and we had a fantastic view of the Firth of Forth. The hotel was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your five star review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and breakfast, and we hope you enjoyed your Fringe shows. If you are returning to Edinburgh again, make sure to book a stay with us again - check out our new look website with the best available rates and exclusive offers! Kind... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 2 night break here. Lovely hotel. Fabulous staff. Only disappointment was lack of cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast was substantial though. Great location close to city centre. 10 minute walk

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae in the near future. Be sure to check out the great rates and exclusive deals on our website. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recent visits to hotels across Edinburgh have overall been good. My arrival at this hotel was received with a incorrect bill being produced because they didn't process a cancelation before payment. Reception staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. If you are looking to stay in a hotel in Edinburgh visit the roxbroughe or the George.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

As discussed with you in detail over the phone and by e-mail, there was no mistake with your booking on our behalf. You booked three rooms with us over the phone, providing your credit card for full payment as requested, and were immediately send an e-mail confirmation. It is a shame that you did not check the e-mail (which you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel was expensive but expected that with it been the Edinburgh festival. Would stay again at this hotel at a different time of year. Location really good. Staff from front of house right to cleaning staff very polite and smiley at all times. Breakfast good for a continental style. Room very nice only down fall on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We offer great rates and exclusive offers on our website outside of peak season - make sure to look them up! We have rooms on the lower floors - if you require one next time, just make a note in your comment section of your booking. Kind... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we had three big luggages, we requested a room close to the ground floor. Since they do not have escalator, the crews did help for our luggages. Very nice breakfast! But need to wait for reboiling hot water. Hotel crews were very nice, room were clean, we did had a good sleep. It is close to the train station,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay (especially the breakfast!) and you found the location to be great. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was fabulous. Breakfast ok. Service ok. Room good. Bathroom lovely. Not great value for money although we did choose the very busy season. Housekeeping not great. Stayed 4 nights and sheets not changed at all. Finally got fresh towels after 3 nights. The chap from Holland that served breakfast was very pleasant and likeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Like all hotels in Edinburgh, rates are at peak during the Edinburgh festival. Be sure to check out our website for some great deals during the winter months. We hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae in the near future, Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Redditch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So the only thing I want from a hotel is a good night sleep. The room we are in is beautiful but seriously, the doors for the other rooms and the 2 external door slam shut so any guest or house keeping going in or out keep you awake. Invest in soft close doors pleeease!! We are heavy sleepers with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you experienced some disturbance during your stay with us. We have rooms located at the rear of the hotel which are away from the main street and entrance - if you would like to stay with us again, please request this at the time of your booking. We are glad that you found your room to... More 

India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The rooms were clean and well maintained and the staff were very polite , friendly . The hotel itself is at a central location which makes it very convenient to go around the city.Yes one does have to pull one's luggage up the stairs, but we really didn't mind that. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would definitely be recommending the Ballantrae. We hope to see you back at the hotel again - be sure to book through our website to take advantage of our exclusive deals and best possible rates! Kind regards The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#128 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#94 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#113 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#110 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Royal British Hotel
Royal British Hotel
#131 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay