We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ballantrae Hotel

Hotel website
8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Special Offer
Celebrate at Ballantrae
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ballantrae Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ballantrae Hotel
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    90
    55
    57
    50
See reviews for
49
126
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel at the extreme last minute because of travel difficulties. We weren't certain what to expect based on the price but couldn't believe it when we did check in. The front desk staff were super friendly and offered to help us get down to our room. The only issue really is the lack of a lift. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you will book to stay with us again in the future. Be sure to check for the best rates and exclusive offers on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ballantrae in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Ballantrae in January 2015 & could not fault our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated & very comfortable. The staff were excellent & very attentive. I would highly recommend staying here. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay faultless

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your five star review. We are glad that you found the staff helpful, and that your stay at the Ballantrae was "faultless". Please check out our exclusive offers on our website if you were to visit us again. The best possible rates are also available here! Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a very central location for all the of Edinburgh city centre tourist attractions and is helpfully at the end of the tram line from the airport. I could not recommend the hotel highly enough, if someone is purely looking for a central location from which to explore the city. With regard to the hotel itself, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at the Ballantrae. We are sorry that there was an issue with your television set, and that there was a delay in getting this repaired. This has been brought to the attention of the Maintenance Team. As we are based in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, some noise... More 

yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a short break here. Friendly service, clean large room with everything you need, we had a great view, great central location. Would recommend to anyone. Car park was a little tricky to find but we rang the hotel and he stayed on the phone to guide us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to us again. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed with 3 friends for the weekend. Booked a quadruple room, had a double bed and a single which were nice but then had two sofa beds which was a bit disappointing. Room was massive but had extremely poor lighting, would actually be dangerous for someone with impaired vision. Huge bathroom, obviously refitted , but the bedroom did not match... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ballantrae. We do have a Family Room with a double bed, a single bed and 2 sofa beds, but we also have regular quadruple rooms with a double bed and two singles - perhaps request this the next time you book. We also have extra lamps available on request from reception.... More 

Glencarse, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So a 2 night stay at £109 in central Edinburgh. I spend nights away quite often and for £50 a night only expect a clean room. This hotel is a little different. My £50 a night got me a nice room that is modern and very well furnished. The decor is excellent and the room is spotless. Not much different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - can all the tea and coffees! Be sure to check out our website for best available rates and special offers for your next stay with us. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

left my kindle and there was a bit confusion from the staff when i phoned about it, but i had to return the next day to pick it up! they were not keen to post because it would cost too much, but overall it was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry if there was some confusion with your Kindle, but we're glad that you got it back the next day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - and received an up-grade - and we hope to welcome you back to the Ballantrae soon. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Group More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would recommend this to anyone and everyone! Customer service was superb, reception waited for us until almost midnight after our flight was delayed (even though last check-in is 11pm). Nothing was too much trouble, and we were allowed to leave our bags with them while we traveled during the day after check-out. Bags were looked after securely. Definitely visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Ballantrae. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff professional and welcoming. For your next visit, make sure to check out of great deals on our website. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Ordinarily I'd recommend but on this occasion i can't. Booked online and gave bank details with i felt were only used for securing booking. Well only 99% of places and intended paying on checkin. Had to cancel with around 2 weeks notice to find that the payment taken was non refundable. Wont recommend to anyone again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As per our e-mail correspondence, we do have rates which have a free cancellation policy, and cheaper non-refundable deals (which you booked on this occasion). As we previously mentioned, if you would like to stay with us again, please reply to the e-mail you received for a discounted rate on a future booking. We hope... More 

Devon Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Just returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh & wanted to pass on my delight of my stay at this hotel the building is a beautiful Georgian terrace with high ceilings & a winding staircase (warning no lift) which is no problem if your fit or very lucky like ourselves who were upgraded to the Honeymoon suite on the 1st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you were lucky to receive your upgrade! If you would like to stay with us again, please check out our website where you will find the best possible rates and exclusive offers. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question