We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ballantrae Hotel

3.0 of 5 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Hotel website
Special Offer
Celebrate at Ballantrae
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ballantrae Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ballantrae Hotel
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    86
    53
    57
    48
See reviews for
46
120
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

me and my ten year old daughter stayed here a few days ago, on arrival we were warmly greeted by a lovely gentleman who informed us our room was not in the hotel but next door but one in another building. The room itself was immaculate with a breathtaking view, however there was quite a few stairs to get up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ballantrae. We are sorry to hear that you needed to check out of the hotel early. Please e-mail us at info@ballantraehotel.co.uk to arraneg on a future stay. We will also arrange a room on a lower floor for you. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel More 

Poole, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just perfect for a city break, close to everything, just behind princes street and on tram route so get the tram from airport. quiet as room off the mainroad. it was oppsite a comdy club they use for the fringe well worth a visit, we went on the sunday night and saw some really funny acts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad that you found the Ballantrae "perfect" for your city break! Keep an eye on our website for the best rates available and special offers. We hope to see you back with us again soon. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 2 nights last weekend, we booked a superior room, I'm not sure we were given a superior one as the website states that the superior rooms have recently been refurbished.. We stayed in room 101 in the attic, the windows are not glazed so we could hear all the noise coming from the street (especially on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ballantrae. We are sorry that you felt that the room was shabby, but the whole hotel was refurbished 12 months ago. As we are based in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, unfortunately some noise is to be expected, but we do have rooms at the rear of the hotel for... More 

Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was lovely, very clean and tidy. Shower was broken though, water was pouring from pipe but also through the shower head. I never slept one wink all night, you could hear everything through the walls and the whole hotel just sounded like it was creaking through the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. We are sorry that there was an issue with noise in your room. If you had notified this at any stage with reception, we would have either solved the issue or offered to re-locate you to another room. We hope that you will stay with us again, when we are... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my friend booked a long weekend away to Edinburgh as a joint birthday present. We decided to stay at The Ballantre Hotel as from the reviews and information we had seen the accommodation seemed good value for money and in an idea location. We got the tram from the airport, the last stop dropped us a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We will pass on your points to the breakfast team - unfortunately the hotel can get busy for certain periods during breakfast time, but we do our best to maintain a large selection on our buffet table. We are glad that you enjoyed the room, and your stay as a whole, and we appreciate you... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked the executive superior suite as we had seen the picture and it looked amazing. Although when we got there the woman had put us in the honeymoon suite which she said was bigger. Looking on the website we had booked on it said the executive superior suite was 20m squared larger than the honeymoon suite. When addressing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We are sorry that there was confusion with your reservation. You were upgraded to our Honeymoon Suite, which has recently been refurbished to the highest standard. It is our most popular room, and most expensive. If we realised that you were unhappy with this up-grade, we would of course have removed... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my wife recently stayed at the Ballentrae hotel ,has part of our honeymoon , i would like to take this opportunity to thank you for making our stay a very enjoyable one , it couldnt have been more perfect , the room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable, the staff could not do enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay at the Ballantrae Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Make sure to contact us directly before you book, or check out our website for best possible rates and offers. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent room, great breakfast (even if only continental), very tight car park, but so convenient. The only thing to note is the many many floors and so stairs...maybe 5 floors from car park to our room. No sign of a lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your hotel room and breakfast. As The Ballantrae is a listed building, we cannot install lifts. Next time you are staying, please request a room on a lower floor, or ask a member of our staff to help with any luggage. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Stayed with family four in one room. Checkin and checkout painless. The hotel is actually spread across a number of buildings with reception two doors down street from where we stayed. The building has a lot of character but is clean and spacious. On arrival the only pain was carrying bags up several flights of stairs but this was expected.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff managed to arrange a Hire Car for you. If you were to stay with us again, please request a room at the rear of the hotel or in the basement. These rooms are based in a quiet section of the hotel,... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Hotel was well placed for the Christmas Markets and all the shops. Just a 5-10 minute walk to Princes Street, passing all the designer stores for some serious window shopping on the way! Four of us (one child) stayed in a family room - very clean, spacious with an enormous bathroom (bathtub and separate shower). Staff are friendly, helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the Ballantrae during your Festive trip, and we hope to see you back with us again in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay