We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Edinburgh hotels

The Ballantrae Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland (New Town)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ballantrae Hotel to your Saves list
The Ballantrae Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
40%
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Maliko88
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    60
    44
    54
    46
See reviews for
36
90
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to say that everything was good, but i'll be so untrue. Spanish man woke me up before 9 and asked me about service while i had a card with Do not distrub. I really dont know for what is that thing at the doors. Breakfast was nice, room was also clean and girl in reception was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by a member of our Housekeeping Team at that time. It may have been a case of the "Do Not Disturb" sign was back to front on your door, and it said "Please service Room", or the staff member read it incorrectly,... More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first stayed at one of the top floor rooms. Great views but lots of stairs to get there, beware the hotel has no lift and staff shall not help you carry your luggage all the way up. Room was nice with USB chargers for iPads, etc., but wifi signal was bad, and it was EXTREMELY noisy - during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We do not have lifts in the hotel as we are a listed building and cannot install them, but the front of house is staffed 24 hours a day, and are there to help with any luggage. We are sorry that you were not offered help, and we will address this... More

Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were both positives and negatives during our stay at the Ballantrae. We stayed in the annex to the Hotel on the top floor. There were a lot of stairs but the view was spectacular. The room has recently been refurbished with new furniture and carpets but sadly a few finishing touches appear to have been overlooked which spoilt the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you has some issues with the cleanliness of your room. This has been brought to the attention of the Housekeeping Manager. The whole hotel was recently refurbished, and we are now in the process of reviewing the smaller items that need to be repaired after a... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights the last weekend of the festival. Staff were great and assisted greatly. Room size was huge and well equipped. Continental breakfast was good each day. Location of hotel excellent right near Main Street and eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More

Buxton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Refurbished and refreshed, this little hotel doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. As a 3 star hotel it ticks all the boxes and the refurb has gone well. Staff were great; couldn't have been more helpful. The only issues are trivial and simple to fix, like the window retainer on the sash needed better fittings and the door hinges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you approve of the refurbishment! A lot of our guests are commenting on the new bathrooms. There are a few minor things that now need to be addressed as you mentioned, which we are looking into immediately. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future - do keep... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel Monday 4th August for one night costing £188.00 When we arrived near the Hotel we telephoned them to ask location to their car park. We were told that there was no point looking for their Car park as it was full anyway And we should park at the bus station wherever that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have a car park that we offer our guests to use free of charge on a first come first served basis. Unfortunately there are times when we cannot accommodate all our guests parking needs, but our reception team always inform our guests of alternative parking arrangements... More

Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night in room 109 which was a family room. Parked at the rear which was handy and no issue. The hotel is central. The room was impressive. Huge with two double sofa beds a double bed and a single. 50 inch led smart TV on the wall. Lovely big bathroom with free standing bath.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast. Unfortunately, being based in the heart of the city, some noise is to be expected, and because of the of the building being listed, we are limited to the changes we can make. We are also restricted by council regulations to the width... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here with my partner in june midweek for two nights. What can I say? The hotel's location is brilliant and close to all amenities and train station. Rooms are clean, modern and newly refurbished. Staff are lovely. Never got a chance to try the breakfast - maybe next time! Would definitely recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More

Bedworth, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Paid £580.00 for 2 nights I assume to high demand in Edinburgh due to the Tattoo and Fringe festival, we had a room in the annexe at the front of the hotel, whilst the room was very large, nice décor, clean and with a nice bathroom the problem lay in that the windows could not be closed, there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt the room was overpriced, but we feel are competitive with other hotels for the August Festival - our rates tend to be much lower in for the rest of the year. We recently changed the suppliers for our breakfast items, as we were receiving negative feedback. Unfortunately... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The rooms within the hotel are large and comfortable. There are quite a few sets of stairs to negotiate so if you did have mobility difficulties it may be worth checking on the location of your room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent in the heart of the city. We were lucky to get on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry you were let down with our breakfast options. We recently changed our suppliers as we were receiving negative feedback from our guests, and we are now receiving more positive comments. If you were to stay with us again, I'm sure you would enjoy the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ballantrae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities