We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

The Ballantrae Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland (New Town)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ballantrae Hotel to your Saves list
The Ballantrae Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
41%
Ranked #133 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rick R Melbourne, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (226)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    42
    53
    46
See reviews for
35
89
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights the last weekend of the festival. Staff were great and assisted greatly. Room size was huge and well equipped. Continental breakfast was good each day. Location of hotel excellent right near Main Street and eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buxton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Refurbished and refreshed, this little hotel doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. As a 3 star hotel it ticks all the boxes and the refurb has gone well. Staff were great; couldn't have been more helpful. The only issues are trivial and simple to fix, like the window retainer on the sash needed better fittings and the door hinges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel Monday 4th August for one night costing £188.00 When we arrived near the Hotel we telephoned them to ask location to their car park. We were told that there was no point looking for their Car park as it was full anyway And we should park at the bus station wherever that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have a car park that we offer our guests to use free of charge on a first come first served basis. Unfortunately there are times when we cannot accommodate all our guests parking needs, but our reception team always inform our guests of alternative parking arrangements... More

Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night in room 109 which was a family room. Parked at the rear which was handy and no issue. The hotel is central. The room was impressive. Huge with two double sofa beds a double bed and a single. 50 inch led smart TV on the wall. Lovely big bathroom with free standing bath.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast. Unfortunately, being based in the heart of the city, some noise is to be expected, and because of the of the building being listed, we are limited to the changes we can make. We are also restricted by council regulations to the width... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with my partner in june midweek for two nights. What can I say? The hotel's location is brilliant and close to all amenities and train station. Rooms are clean, modern and newly refurbished. Staff are lovely. Never got a chance to try the breakfast - maybe next time! Would definitely recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More

Bedworth, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid £580.00 for 2 nights I assume to high demand in Edinburgh due to the Tattoo and Fringe festival, we had a room in the annexe at the front of the hotel, whilst the room was very large, nice décor, clean and with a nice bathroom the problem lay in that the windows could not be closed, there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt the room was overpriced, but we feel are competitive with other hotels for the August Festival - our rates tend to be much lower in for the rest of the year. We recently changed the suppliers for our breakfast items, as we were receiving negative feedback. Unfortunately... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms within the hotel are large and comfortable. There are quite a few sets of stairs to negotiate so if you did have mobility difficulties it may be worth checking on the location of your room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent in the heart of the city. We were lucky to get on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry you were let down with our breakfast options. We recently changed our suppliers as we were receiving negative feedback from our guests, and we are now receiving more positive comments. If you were to stay with us again, I'm sure you would enjoy the... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had two separate nights at this hotel at the start and end of a road trip around the Highlands, and it was excellent. Rooms were spacious and very clean, and also modern - great free toiletries too! Rooms at the back of the hotel, on the upper floors, have fantastic views over New Town to the Forth Estuary. We booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in future. Keep an eye on our website for further deals. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Group More

Milngavie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Arrived at The Ballantrae for a 2 night stay. Hotel was lovely, & spotlessly clean. Room and bathroom were immaculate, and also very modern. We were lucky enough to get a parking space in the hotel's car park. My one and only negative comment was our room was at the back of the hotel, at the car park - this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Ballantrae Hotel. If you were to stay with us again, please mention that you would like a quiet room at the time you book, and we will arrange this for you. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Arrived with trepidation following reading negative reviews and the hotel score in general. Very pleasantly surprised room 107 was extremely well appointed, very clean and delivered everything you would want in a major city hotel. The view across the Firth of Forth was beautiful from our room. The continental breakfast was excellent and the staff could not be more accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in the hotel in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ballantrae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ballantrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer