We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ballantrae Hotel

3.0 of 5 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Celebrate at Ballantrae
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ballantrae Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ballantrae Hotel
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    50
    56
    48
See reviews for
45
117
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent room, great breakfast (even if only continental), very tight car park, but so convenient. The only thing to note is the many many floors and so stairs...maybe 5 floors from car park to our room. No sign of a lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with family four in one room. Checkin and checkout painless. The hotel is actually spread across a number of buildings with reception two doors down street from where we stayed. The building has a lot of character but is clean and spacious. On arrival the only pain was carrying bags up several flights of stairs but this was expected.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff managed to arrange a Hire Car for you. If you were to stay with us again, please request a room at the rear of the hotel or in the basement. These rooms are based in a quiet section of the hotel,... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was well placed for the Christmas Markets and all the shops. Just a 5-10 minute walk to Princes Street, passing all the designer stores for some serious window shopping on the way! Four of us (one child) stayed in a family room - very clean, spacious with an enormous bathroom (bathtub and separate shower). Staff are friendly, helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the Ballantrae during your Festive trip, and we hope to see you back with us again in the future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this Company's sister hotel before, the Albany hotel and after a great stay there last year, decided to give this place a go when the Albany was sold out. The room I had was beautifully decorated and massive with a large bathroom and walk in shower. This more than made up for having to access the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Ballantrae, as well as previous stays at our sister hotel, The Albany. Be sure to check out both websites for our latest deals and cheapest rates for your next stay. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Ballantrae Hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived at reception, we were greeted in a bit of a gruff manner but not rude. However we didn't expect that our room would be in another building, two doors down. Our room was right on the top floor with lots of stairs to climb to get there. After... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by noise from others guests - we would have been happy to change your room for you if you had let us know at any stage. We also provide extra pillows on request. We... More 

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived we thought it looked like a lovely hotel....we received our key and were told we were in an ANNEXE building which is never mentioned on their own site or anywhere else for that matter. Our room was constantly cold even when the heater was at max, we had to leave the bathroom door open to gain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ballantrae. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room you were allocated. We do have some rooms located in the building right next to the hotel, all of which have been recently renovated. If you had requested at the time to stay in the main section of... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, there is free parking around the back. Its a bit dark and shady but our car was just fine there. Manager/receptionist was a little dry but helpful regardless. The room was enormous, we were very comfortable and had a brand new tv (at one point it 'broke', we called reception and the guy was knocking on our door within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at 2.30pm for a weekend stay. Got a parking space to the rear of the hotel. Friendly welcome from the lady on reception. Our room was situated in the building next door but one. The room was clean and pleasant and the bathroom was huge. Nice towels and toiletries. The room met our needs. Iron and board and hairdryer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 Star review - we are glad that you enjoyed everything at the Ballantrae. Next time you stay with us we hope that the weather is better for you! Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming hotel. Amazing view on the top floor, looking over the city. Staff were very accommodating. Perfect location!! Very close to princess street and only a short walk to royal mile. Only issue was the weak water pressure in the shower and hard bed but other than that I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you would like to stay with us at the Ballantrae again. Make sure to check out website before you book for best rates and special offers. Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Group More 

Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a family of 5 on a budget , we chose the family room , it was clean and roomy lovely breakfast in the morning , the only thing is there is limited parking ( difficult to get too ) and stairs no lifts but the staff are friendly and it's warm and very close to everything would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management360, Manager at The Ballantrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found The Ballantrae Hotel great value for money, and would stay with us again for a future visit. Next time call us direct or check out our website for the best rates possible! Kind regards, The Ballantrae Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay