We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Ettrick Hotel

13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Ettrick Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    71
    34
    25
    14
See reviews for
42
74
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had issues the first night when we plugged an electric toothbrush charger into the socket in the bathroom. After a couple of minutes it started to smell so we removed it. An hour later all power to the room went and the socket started to smoke. We reported this to reception who very reluctantly put us up in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chazlett, Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. The power to the room had cut out due to a problem that occurred with the power socket in the bathroom. It was only after a lengthy search of the room to source the problem that you had admitted forcing the plug of your... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for a man I support to accompany him on a 2 day break in the city.. We booked 2 separate rooms.. Both that were at the back of the hotel with no windows.. Only opening vents in the room to let air in... Also the shower area in the disabled toilet was not presented well... Black... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janice g g , Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick. You had booked two single rooms for your stay at the hotel and as you had requested an accessible room, we gave you a complimentary upgrade to two doubles so that you could be close together. Our site, and agents sites, all... More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is in a quiet part of the city which still has its victorian character close to the bus route into the city centre get an all day pass for four pound its within walking distance though friendly, clean, good breakfast we would go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amc19652015, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed our freshly cooked Scottish Breakfast. The hotels location is ideal for those visiting Edinburgh with easy access to the city but in a nice quiet area for peace and quiet. We look forward... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a girly weekend to celebrate a friends 50th Birthday. The location is great there is a bus stop just outside that takes you into the centre of Edinburgh or it is not far for a leisurely walk. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us and we had an evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joel51, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your girly weekend away for such an important celebration and I am pleased that the team were able to make the trip more enjoyable. I have passed your comments on to the teams both front and back of... More 

Bourg-en-Bresse, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel room was large and clean, newly vamped bathroom. Small things could improve it. As I don't drink tea or coffee had to ask for some chocolate. They didn't have any for the room. Which after paying so much money you would have expected something so simple to be available. Laundry bags were left in the hall way which looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am glad that you found the rooms large and clean, you were in our Executive rooms as I have assumed by the fact the power is operated by the key fob which was an oversight by the person checking you in as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I researched Hotels in Edinburgh, as it was our intention to visit the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Although I wouldn't normally have picked this Hotel's location i'm more than glad we did. We were greeted by lovely Staff in the large spacious Reception Area. We'd booked two rooms, ours being of 'superior ' quality, and we were not disappointed. Recently refurbished,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bevandfras, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet suburb of Edinburgh with good public transport access to the city centre. I will be sure and pass on your comments to our breakfast team who... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff, well kept hotel and really nice restaurant food and service. One thing turned this from a very good to average and that was the bed. We booked a double but the bed was two singles pushed together and they were not at the same height. Bedding didn't fit well either. Still a nice place, we probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chelt H, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and the standards and service we offer to be of a high level. We have a number of rooms that can be either a twin or double room, many hotels have these type of beds to allow... More 

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was booked as a surprise 50th weekend we ended up staying in this hotel. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us, rooms were at a high standard. This made the weekend extra special. well recommend this hotel. 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete H, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to make the surprise trip extra special for you. I hope that we will be able to welcome you at the Royal Ettrick Hotel again... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The two double rooms that we were given were small, although clean. My bathroom was very cramped and my sister's was in serious need of updating. Breakfast was very disappointing, and the service not great. We went for the Festival and I was assured (twice) that the night porter would let my daughter in, however late she came back. Poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FringeFan2015, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. You had booked two standard double rooms for your stay with us which is what we allocated you. When you were checking out you did not mention any problems with breakfast so we cannot comment on your specific experience. Our breakfast offers an ample... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and had private parking - these are its best points! Alongside this it was a beautiful building and had a lot of potential. The rooms need TLC and the staff need some serious training on customer service. Our room was supposed to be a double and they gave us a twin -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L0uiseH, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. It has always been the hotels policy to take payment on arrival, we feel this is a better option than holding an amount on a guest’s card higher than the rate they booked. You were informed at Check in that you had been given... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#28 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Edinburgh Minto Hotel
#115 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salisbury Green Hotel
#89 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#36 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#97 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay