We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Ettrick Hotel

13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    66
    29
    22
    14
See reviews for
37
65
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed for one night bed and breakfast and my wife and I were very impressed with the room( and comfortable bed) which was excellent value for money. The large bathroom was also a treat .We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were well impressed by the helpful and friendly staff. In the evening we visited the bar which was pleasantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Be aware! Very disappointed. Room was meant to luxury suite but instead they gave us a standard triple room. Having booked a luxury suite for four people a month before (10/3/2015) for 10/4/2015, I was quite sure everything was well organized. On arrival to the hotel the daily manager asked for direct payment and gave us the keys for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. The booking that you had made was for a Room only rate through Booking.com. This rate is something new that we had recently started doing with the agent and we were unaware that it was not connected to our Channel Management System which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Damp flies in bathroom! Only to discover toilet was loose in room 15 causing the flies to hover. When we flushed the toilet, lots of dirty water and bits human faeces escaped from the back of the toilet. Had to use the two small towels provided to block this! Bed not fit for two adults, very small. Ordered food from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. Our Housekeeping department report any faults they find to management which are then dealt with and this was not reported from room . When you first flushed the toilet and noticed this then you should have informed us straight away, instead you waited... More 

Portadown, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Have been going to the restaurant for several years, found the food today up to the usual standard. But only 2 comments to make. My wife ordered the pork which by the menu was accompanied with asparagus. When the meal arrived there was peas and french beans on the plate. We mentioned this to the waitress, who brought over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the confusion with the vegetables, I'm glad this has not put you off returning to the hotel. With regard to the staff checking everything was ok during your meal this was clearly an oversight and not normal practice for our staff. I am confident... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far and intend to use it when in Edinburgh. While it is 15 to 20 mins from the city centre it is worth it for the way the staff treat you, first class, the standard of the rooms and location for getting out of the city. Rooms are super clean, good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Stephen_Burrow, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you continue to use the hotel and enjoy the service from the staff here. We will hopefully see you again soon. Best regards, Ettrick Management. More 

UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed Thursday 19th till Sunday 22nd February. As soon as you walk into this hotel you know it's something special, from the polished brass step as you walk in to the tiled floor and lovely reception. We arrived at 1pm, an hour before our check in time so we decided to wait in the bar area. There is an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Chrisanewman, Thank you for your lovely review! You're right, the James Suite is breath taking, I personally wouldn't want to leave if I had booked it! You're comments on our staff are greatly appreciated. I hope you come to visit us again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management More 

Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Group of six of us booked a table at short notice. Service in Bar and restaurant was excellent. A very good selection of foods on the menu. All 6 of us picked various starters and main courses and all were well satisfied, also very fairly priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wmffra, Thank you for writing us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you will be visiting us again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management More 

scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We stayed overnight after attending a function and were impressed with the efficient and friendly welcome we were given. Our room was clean and warm with loads of storage space, with a clean en-suite shower room. The hotel bar downstairs was well-stocked and friendly service helped create a good ambience for hotel guests to mingle with groups of what appeared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Travellight Scotland, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed one night at this hotel while visiting our son and daughter in law who live in the area. On arrival we were welcomed by a young man who was very friendly and efficient and offered to help with our luggage. Our room was beautiful and very clean and spacious with a huge modern bathroom. I enjoyed watching a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening John H, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Ettrick Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities