We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Ettrick Hotel

13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    69
    31
    22
    14
See reviews for
40
68
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been back to this hotel for meals recently after a long absence. Use it mainly as its within walking distance of home. was pleasantly delighted as the food was really lovely and although they were fairly busy in the restaurant - we were served relatively quick. Can really recommend the Sizzling Fajitas. will definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
limerick
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived late and were delighted to be greeted by a lovely Receptionist. She upgraded our room free of charge and was very helpful and was able to answer a number of questions that we had about the area. The room was large and nicely decorated. The only fault I had was that the kettle & hairdryer were quite dusty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this hotel by chance, having tried others in the previous year; our daughter is studying in Edinburgh and we visit regularly from Aberdeen. On this occasion we took a double room for ourselves, plus a single for my Mum. Both rooms were very pleasant, with comfortable beds but I particularly loved ours, spacious, with a sofa, huge, modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a 3 night stay,our room was lovely ,plenty of space in the bathroom tastefully done.Breakfast freshly cooked to order with a good choice served by friendly staff.Good choice of menu for dinner,local people where enjoying a meal so speaks for itself. I would recommend ringing the hotel as we had problem with Expedia which I have to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an absolutely lovely hotel, everything has been done very tastefully and the staff are very helpful, however, I don't know if it is because the hotel is very busy or because I have booked through an agent but the room provided for us is a converted box room in the attic and is not suitable for a couple,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Me and my husband stayed on the 15th, 16th and 17 May, the first room was very disappointing as it seemed to be a makeshift room with no proper window and a pull door into the smallest bathroom that had a toilet that you would normally find in a caravan and this was very noisy, my husband could also hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Corinna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some constructive feedback, we appreciate all of your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the first room you were allocated, I'm glad we were able to move you into a different room when you raised your concerns with our management team. I have spoken... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Just stayed for one night bed and breakfast and my wife and I were very impressed with the room( and comfortable bed) which was excellent value for money. The large bathroom was also a treat .We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were well impressed by the helpful and friendly staff. In the evening we visited the bar which was pleasantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Front Office Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we look for see you again soon More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Be aware! Very disappointed. Room was meant to luxury suite but instead they gave us a standard triple room. Having booked a luxury suite for four people a month before (10/3/2015) for 10/4/2015, I was quite sure everything was well organized. On arrival to the hotel the daily manager asked for direct payment and gave us the keys for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. The booking that you had made was for a Room only rate through Booking.com. This rate is something new that we had recently started doing with the agent and we were unaware that it was not connected to our Channel Management System which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Damp flies in bathroom! Only to discover toilet was loose in room 15 causing the flies to hover. When we flushed the toilet, lots of dirty water and bits human faeces escaped from the back of the toilet. Had to use the two small towels provided to block this! Bed not fit for two adults, very small. Ordered food from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel. Our Housekeeping department report any faults they find to management which are then dealt with and this was not reported from room . When you first flushed the toilet and noticed this then you should have informed us straight away, instead you waited... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay