We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 Edinburgh hotels

Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh

Moto Service Area, A1 | Old Craighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh to your Saves list
32%
Ranked #135 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    42
    27
    42
See reviews for
52
51
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

other than that the bedding was v clean and I don't think moving to another room would have been much better. It was very old and worn tired carpets stained and filthy. walls in poor state of repair as was bathroom flooring. hairs in bath and the room did not smell fresh. I have backpacked and stayed in very budget... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night very depressing and shabby place. With no car had to eat from petrol station next door which is open 24 hours and popular with heavy lorries. Was surprised when breakfast came in a box not an enjoyable experience. Nick name is ghost city stay well away, rather stay in a hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Niki from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. Travelodge have an ongoing refurbishment program and while we cannot refurbish every hotel simultaneously, we are working to make sure that hotels are refurbished regularly. Feedback like yours is important to us and will be used to improve... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel as it was the cheapest I could find (with a £10 discount code). I thought as it was a Travelodge it would be decent. We arrived late & our room key was 'misplaced', after a delayed flight, I just wanted to get into bed. The room was clean & tidy, although it is more than overdue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very handy location just off the A1, we stayed there as a good location to tour Edinburgh as located next to train station and only 6 mins by train into the centre of Edinburgh. staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and tidy

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Looks like a doss house when you approach. Not much better inside. Shabby reception. Needs good paint. Rooms dingy. Clean bedding and mattress. Furniture chipped. Sofa split fabric. Paintwork flaking. Bath clean. Toilet clean. Damaged tiling. Disappointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Wouldn't book again. Even at price - not the cheapest but not really worth the price tag.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visitng family in Portobello and needed family room at short notice during Edinburgh festival - difficult! I am a regular travelodge user and have always had good experience. This hotel is very tired and needs refurbishment. That said staff very helpful and room clean. Really ownly suitable for those with transport - no nearby facilities and located on edge of... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Room was clean, comfortable, and what one would expect from a Travelodge. Staff were friendly and very helpful when asked for directions to a venue. Also very helpful when I locked myself out of my room. No complaints at all

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ware, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to Edinburgh for a short weekend to visit family and friends, and booked in to the Musselburgh Travelodge as it was decently priced and near where we needed to be. I wasn't expecting anything fancy at all, but unfortunately the hotel didn't even meet these lower expectations. The hotel is located just off a road and is marked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Howwood renfrewshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed overnight here with my children who were taking part in a dancing competition. The building is run down smells damp with damp patches on the ceilings. Net curtains were discoloured and windows filthy. On a positive the bathroom and bed were clean so ok for one night. This was not good value for money .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel itself is a standard travelodge but the area and surrounds are horrible abandoned. The staff however are great, Always happy to help! Staff deserve a reward because its the only thing thats good about it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Do you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh

Address: Moto Service Area, A1 | Old Craighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Edinburgh Travelodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh Scotland

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Butterfly and Insect World
Butterfly and Insect World
Nature/ Wildlife Areas