We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staycity Serviced Apartments West End

Certificate of Excellence
11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AS, Scotland (Formerly West End Apartments by stayEdinburgh)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

773 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    369
    253
    78
    46
    27
See reviews for
305
101
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (773)
  • Mar-May only
    (207)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (162)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's very difficult to find good value apartments during the Festival period and Staycity fitted the bill. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful, and they are lockable storage lockers available if you want to dump your luggage and see a show before check-in. We had a 5th floor apartment with balcony and though not over-large it was clean and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi Mike G, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our apartments. I'm delighted to hear that you have had such a pleasant experience of Staycity! We are extremely fortunate to have such a central location and also have so many public transport links available. I will be sure to pass on your kind... More 

York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Four of us (Mum Dad, 2 teenage girls) stayed in a 1 bed flat, girls sleeping on the excellent twin sofa beds which had duvets/pillows provided. The flat was massive, absolutely spotless, quiet, and with a showroom quality modern kitchen and bathroom. 15 minutes easy walk to Princes Street and Grassmarket. All you need to take is your toothbrush and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi Urgum, Thank you so much for posting such a kind review on to Tripadvisor. It makes our day to read lovely comments like this and know that we have made your stay in Edinburgh comfortable. I'm delighted that you have had such a pleasant experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Jamie Trousdale More 

St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to Scotland. We were upgraded to a townhouse at the end of our trip. My rating of a 4 is an average of our townhouse stay and apartment stay. The lodging is about a 20 minute walk to most sites, in a residential location, close to a grocery store. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Dear FamilytravelerMN Thank you for sharing your feedback online with the Tripadvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you have enjoyed your overall experience of our apartments. We are a fairly new company and constantly look for new ways to improve the service that we offer. Reviews like this help us to understand where we can strengthen our product, and... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a two-bedroom flat. When we arrived, it was one large room with a sliding wall in between. If closed, the second room would have no daylight as the windows are only in one room. A normal grown up human being would not be able to walk in normal fashion between the bed and sliding wall; it is so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Good Morning Abu-Ashley, Thank you for seconding your initial feedback with a Tripadvisor review. I'm disappointed to hear that you have had such an underwhelming experience and have launched a full investigation in to the nature of your complaint. I have discovered that you had in fact booked a studio apartment and were given a complimentary upgrade to a 2... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a townhouse which was really grim and expensive. It was very basically furnished - the beds and sofas were very uncomfortable. The linens were cheap, the carpets filthy and stained and there is virtually no equipment in the kitchen. It felt cold and inhospitable so we spent very little time there. I would say it is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi 122Andrea, Thank you for taking to Tripadvisor to post your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that you have had such an uncomfortable stay. We welcome aboard your feedback and consistently improve based on reviews just like this. We have a very experienced team of housekeeping staff who refurbish and decorate the apartments on a regular basis to ensure that... More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night, booking a one bedroom flat to accommodate 3 people. The room was small, with a movable partition separating the bed from the pull-out couch. Not bad, but much less space than I was expecting based on the advertising. That said, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious with nice fittings, and the kitchen was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi Jeff K, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Staycity. I'm happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience of our apartments overall. We have a large variety of apartments on offer - ranging from our studio apartments all the way up to townhouses. The studio apartment that you have selected would be one... More 

Sin Ming, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apartment is clean and tidy with full kitchen. Very basic if you are looking for a place to rest after a day out visiting places of attraction. No nice view though if you stay around the corner as you have to draw the curtains as it is a busy route to the bus stop. There are a variety of food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi LTShirley_Tan Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience. I'm happy to hear that the apartment suited your needs during the busy Fringe Festival of 2015. We are extremely fortunate having such spacious apartments in this prime part of Edinburgh. There are actually 4 different bus routes coming around this area - or to... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment is a 20 minute walk from Edinburgh town centre, on the canal. The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. We were a group of friends. There was only one key between us, but this can be left at reception. The apartment was clean and had good facilities, including two bathrooms and a downstairs toilet. One of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi 952bac Thank you so much for posting your feedback on to Tripadvisor! I'm delighted to read such a positive review and am glad that you have had such a pleasant experience! Our townhouses are a brilliant option for larger groups that look for a functional and sizable shared accommodation. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the weekend of the Open Championship at St. andrews in July. The location is good as its a 5-10 min walk to the train station. Staff at check in are very friendly and helpful. Even allowing an early check in. However all good impressions were lost as we surveyed the apartment. The photos that are published on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hi Abergh11, Thank you for taking the time to post your review online. We are a fairly new company and look for every opportunity to improve the service that we offer. Through comments like this, we are able to tailor our service to the expectations of our guests. I'm happy to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful upon... More 

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here to visit the tattoo, very handy for the Royal Mile, 10 minute walk to the Grassmarket. Quiet location and handy bus stop just around the corner from appartments. Only bad point the bathroom had a very dirty toilet brush which was standing in dirty water with bits on the brush. This was beginning to smell. The skirting boards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stayCity_apts, Front Office Manager at Staycity Serviced Apartments West End, responded to this review

Hello Sandra D, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other Tripadvisor users. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our apartments. We welcome aboard any feedback that we receive and strive to improve in light of this new information. We are extremely fortunate to have such a central location and I'm glad that you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (110)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (19)
Viewed
One Bedroom Penthouse (28)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#22 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay