We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merith House Hotel

2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Merith House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #144 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    27
    37
    28
    64
See reviews for
15
70
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a long weekend in edinburgh and stayed here. We had room 14, it was small but met our needs. Staff were friendly enough and answered our questions and the lady got us extra pillows when we asked. Breakfast was continental and theres a bis stop just outside to get into town. All in all a good stay and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh More 

East Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here long term for work purposes, IT Contracting in Edinburgh, home in Surrey. First of all chose the hotel as it offered great value for money, that was my main requirement. The Hotel is what it says on the tin, great location (Golf was first played across the road), a sound bed for the night and a really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your Review and your custom over the last few months. We enjoyed having you stay with us and wish you all the best More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we were a bit dubious after booking this hotel. We were plesently suprised though. On arrival the girl seemed cheerful enough,you pay an extra charge for credit card ( although we already read this ) but we took the option to pay cash. The room was small but ok for our needs, silly shelf above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We agree that some reviews are unkind and we do try our best here at the Merith. We thank you for giving us a visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend had booked this hotel on booking.com, It had looked very attractive on the website but it was clear the photographer did some camera tricks to make the room look bigger. On entry to the hotel we were greeted by a miserable woman who had no hospitable aspect to her personality. We had to pay before we saw the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your review, we have currently renewed our beds and pillows, im sorry that you feel the female member of staff was not approachable, all staff are on hand to deal with any queries or problems you have to which you did not mention whilst here. More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was a single one with shower. Sink was tiny with not much room to clean teeth. The walls were very thin and I could hear the [full] conversation (and more) of the couple next door. The owners were miserable and never once asked myself if everything was ok. Breakfast was basic continental, the coffee tasted like it had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. The staff are approachable at all times, some people are very talkative whilst others may not be. Staff thank all customers for there visit when they check out. More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights..room was basic but clean and had tea and coffee for free.check in was easy. Staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was continental but good and healthy. Short walk to the centre good restaurants near by. Will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was dirty, hair from previous guests where in the shower/shower wall, sink was tiny and had an obstructive shelf so couldnt really wash your face properly/fill up kettle, staff where a bit miserable, after coming back to the hotel on the evening we found our mugs had just been swilled out rather than fresh ones/cleaned properly, the plastic compartment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that you felt the room was not upto the usual standards, but when guests arrive before arrival time and want to check in early the housekeepers may miss cosmetic things due to having to rush around, this could have been mentioned when you passed reception on your way out and in the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had booked a night away to Edinburgh to visit the Pandas at the Zoo. However, he didn't realise he had booked a shared room without breakfast. No matter we thought (except wasn't keen on sharing a bathroom as I am 8 months pregnant and up and down to he toilet a lot). Anyway, on arrival we were welcomed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Anne and I have stated here on a number of occasions and have alway found it welcoming . Was last minute and we managed to get one of the new rooms they have just added . And the new breakfast room just across from the Reception Area. Room had a double bed and a single but we could have fitted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Room not very clean, bathroom very poor toilet seat broken, tiles on floor broken, shower tiny but the worse part was the smell, the over powering smell of sewerage. Breakfast is pathetic. Staff not remotely interested in guests

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay