We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merith House Hotel

2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    27
    37
    31
    67
See reviews for
17
73
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my boyfriend came to Edinburgh as we wanted to experience the fringe festival/military tattoo. I booked it back in May on the basis of it being the cheapest place just to sleep at whilst we was visiting the city. Worst mistake not checking the reviews on this place. On arrival, we was "greeted" more like acknowledged by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Merith House. If you had any problems with the room you could have spoken to a Staff member and we could have rectified this easily The staff member sit at Reception and you must pass this to enter and leave the building. As for the Car Park, this is a Secure... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband booked this place for a night's stay (25th August 2015). It was a booking done at a short notice so way overly priced for the mediocre services that we received. No lifts, so have to carry all the bags ourselves to the first floor room. Staff was not helpful when we requested an early breakfast (continental) as our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Im sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we are unable to install a lift at Merith House as the Building is listed, but there are Male staff members available most times to help with Luggage if you ask. Our Breakfast starts at 8am, your trip was for 9am, it is 10 minutes to the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very noisy as rooms seem to be very close together. Some of the work in the room seemed to be botched rather done properly. And there is a lot of street noise if on the front of the building. On street parking if you can get a space and the continental breakfast was not all that good. The only real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at this hotel are not very welcoming and hospitable. They are rude impolite and unfriendly; I am shocked that they are in the hospitality industry. I will never stay at this hotel again even if I was paid to and do not recommend it. Please read other reviews about it as I am not the only person who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Im sorry you didn't find the Staff very welcoming and hospitable, The staff are Approachable all day at the Main Reception and are willing to answer questions and help Guests when needed. If guests want to talk and have a chat they are always available More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quite an old hotel. It is noisy. Especially during the night.The bed I wouldn't let my worst enemy sleep in. Springs almost jump through the top of the old matrasses. Unless you are a fakir these are not the beds you'd like to sleep in. The owners of the hotel are quite friendly. They had a fantastic tip; visit "the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Stayed in the Merith House Hotel for 1 night with my Husband as we were visiting Edinburgh for a meal at The Observatory Restaurant. Arrived around 1.30pm and we were greeted by a man who was friendly enough and asked us to fill in a registration form which I did. We had to pay for the room up front (5%... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Spent three days there in a family room with our grandson. Clean, comfortable and the staff were brilliant. Breakfast (Continental) was satisfying and I recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonably priced stay in Edinburgh. Bus stop at the door and near the Royal Yacht!

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

We had a long weekend in edinburgh and stayed here. We had room 14, it was small but met our needs. Staff were friendly enough and answered our questions and the lady got us extra pillows when we asked. Breakfast was continental and theres a bis stop just outside to get into town. All in all a good stay and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh More 

East Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I stayed here long term for work purposes, IT Contracting in Edinburgh, home in Surrey. First of all chose the hotel as it offered great value for money, that was my main requirement. The Hotel is what it says on the tin, great location (Golf was first played across the road), a sound bed for the night and a really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your Review and your custom over the last few months. We enjoyed having you stay with us and wish you all the best More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we were a bit dubious after booking this hotel. We were plesently suprised though. On arrival the girl seemed cheerful enough,you pay an extra charge for credit card ( although we already read this ) but we took the option to pay cash. The room was small but ok for our needs, silly shelf above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We agree that some reviews are unkind and we do try our best here at the Merith. We thank you for giving us a visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#138 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Victoria Park Hotel
#97 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Masson House
#118 of 146 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay