We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Regent House Hotel

3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Regent House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #136 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
thesteevesgroup Apopka, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    45
    40
    28
    32
See reviews for
27
43
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the pits I'm disabled when we arrived we where on the second floor and there was no lift and the stairs were very steep not adequete for me, we asked if their was another room we could get the manager said no. My wife had to carry her suitcase and come back for mine. I eventually reached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the stairs. Unfortunately as we discussed at the time you stayed with us we do not had any other room available in the hotel, so it was impossible to move you to a lower floor. We try to show to our guest in our website... More 

Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Regent House Hotel in Edinburgh in May, 2015. It was an easy walk from Waverley Train Station where we arrived from London and left from. Although the room was very small it was charming and very clean. The hotel WiFi worked perfectly for all of our electronics and was no charge. Some European hotels have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Your positive review and the fact that you took your time to express this opinion in Tripadvisor is really appealing and important for us. Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So the epic review begins ...(some points I agree maybe petty but whole experience not at all good!!) Paid for room when I arrived which I wish I hadn't as wouldn't have paid full price for the experience. I went to the third floor via the narrow very badly needing decorated stairway and through the very squeaky bedroom door Into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, As we already discussed your issue on the phone, I did not wish to argue for my case in detail. I'm disappointed you rated the hotel with 1 star. You stayed in our fully renowated room and like you mentioned you had a review form in your room, where we ask every customer to contact with the receptioniast... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was surprisingly big but the bathroom was very tiny. The bathroom and room were clean and tidy. We were placed on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator so we had to dragged our heavy suitcases up 3 floors. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to most places. It was worth what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you find the stairs a bit difficult to climb, as we have 3 floors. We do not have a lift, unfortunately it is impossible to fit one in our historical building. In fact most of the bulindg in the UK, especially in the old town are more than 200 years old,... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed from the 22 - 24/5/15 on our annual Kuk Sool Won Scottish Championship visit. The apartment is situated in the the basement of the the block next door to the hotel, 3 bedrooms, one a double & the other two with two singles in each, sleeps six. Bathroom with bath/shower, toilet & wash basin. Living room with dinning table,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. You are most welcome to stay with us every year, if you need an accommodation in Edinburgh. If you contact us directly we can work out a discount for your next stay. Email: info@regenthousehotel.co.uk. We are looking forward to welcoming you next year. Hopefully 2016 will bring you a great success in the tournement again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This hotel is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill and a number of landmarks, and there are a number of great restaurants close by, these are all great qualities. On their website however, it reads 'Off-site Parking Available'. This does not mean parking that is included in your hotel stay, or even owned by the hotel --... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comment. I am glad you had an overall good stay with us, but I am very surprised about the issue you mentioned, regarding the hot water. We never received any report of having this kind of problem. Right now we are not experiencing any malfunction in the rooms like you described. By off-site parking we meant... More 

Mamchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, it was on the third floor with some pretty steep stairs didn't bother us too much but if you had bigger bags would be a pain. Positives, the location and wifi Negatives - we got to our room and it was quite large so we were happy but when i sat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We take your opinion very seriously and updated the mattress in the room you reported asap. We are sorry we couldn't change the mattress during your stay. My colleague tried to help you by offering you a diffferent room to stay in, but... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

This bed and breakfast is in a very good location, which would suit a lot of people. The end of the airport tram line is a few minutes away. The room I was is was small and "tired" - reminded me of some of the small hotels I stayed in in London years ago, which had not been renovated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We are continously working on improving our hotels decoration, and the overall guest experience, so I am glad you pointed out the issues you had. Greetings from Edinburgh More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Lovely little B&B Good Value for money £50 for 2 guests 1 night with continental breakfast Helpful friendly staff, explained how keys worked, breakfast times etc. We stayed in room 25 (Top Floor) more than adequate, Beautiful modern bathroom. Ideally situated near to centre of Edinburgh only short walk to Princes Street, plenty of Bars and shops nearby. Upon departure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciaton. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you require accommodation at a future date in Edinburgh please do not hesitate to contact us. More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel as my little sister stays a couple of doors up and I was down seeing her with my two sons aged 5 and 7. When we were first greeted at the hotel given our key and asked to pay remainder of the balance then told where room was after climbing 2 flights of difficult stairs without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We tried our best to replace your bed as soon as possible, but unfortunately this was an issue we didn't foresee, as the bed was in a good condition before. Of course things like this can happen, and we tried and did solve the issue... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay