We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 Edinburgh hotels

Regent House Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland (Broughton)
Hotel amenities
Regent House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Regent House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #131 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    35
    25
    29
See reviews for
24
32
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a bit hesitant to book this one earlier. but the pictures looked good and someone recommended it to me too, so I was a bit ok. Once I reached, this looked like a old heritage building just at entrance of a small street. The entrance is small but decent. Just what should be the minimum. the hotel does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading some of the reviews i was a little worried so i packed fleecy blankets but we didn't need them. We stayed in a family room which had a queen bed and 3 singles and ensuite. We found the room to be decorated well and very specious. Put it this way my son thorughly enjoyed giving me heart palpatations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked last minute, on the day itself, location ideal for where we were going, room was small yes, but, beds were comfy enough, yes the stairs to the room are steep but nothing says they must have a lift, quiet enough, don't blame the hotel if there is no parking, they are not obliged to supply it ! breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had booked this hotel to stay last minute with my family on 23 jan as we were going to see sound of music in the play house but tragically on the morning of 23rd a close member of my family passed away the hotel were unwilling to change the date of our stay and a refund was out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

After reading the conversation between the duty manager and you I can only say, that she explained you our cancellation policy and the reasons why we can't offer you a refund for last minute cancellations in a polite manner. She has the authority to act upon cancellations as it is expected from her, following the guidelines we use with every... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

First, the good: this hotel has everything you *need* from a hotel: you get a bed, there's a roof and the location, right next to York Place, is great. Now: onto absolutely everything else. The signs weren't good. Literally; the 'R' had fallen off the front of the building, giving the impression that this establishment isn't exactly being looked after.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in January 2015. Arrived early but as our room was ready we were able to check-in. Nice big room. Lovely en-suite Showeroom which appeared newly refurbished. Plentiful continental breakfast with attentive staff. Housekeeping staff do a great job as the room always looked lovely and tidy on our return. Clean towels each day. Shampoo & shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

The room was really cold, the heating in our room was not working and when we asked for and extra duvet they said NO. The hotel has no lift, and the stairs are really dangerous, especially if you are with big luggage. The room was cosy but really small for 2 people, you almost can not move. The position of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I am currently sitting in room 17 of this "hotel" typing this out. I have never been in such a run down place in my life!! We knew before coming not to expect too much! We are only through for one night to see Wicked and the "hotel" is very handy for the playhouse(may I add this is the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

For readers of this rev, we are an Aussie dad and son sightseeing in Edinburgh. The Regent House Hotel had pros and cons for us: PROS Located 10 min walk to central Edinburgh and 30 min walk to most city attractions. Yet the hotel is in a quiet street and our room on the top floor (room 24) was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Just back form a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh. We had a great stay in this hotel there was a large group of us 13 in total and the staff were very friendly and helpful allowing us to leave bags there early and leave the there most of the day after check out again. All members of the group were happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay