We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Regent House Hotel

3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Regent House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #135 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
capeintl Cape Town Central, South Africa
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    37
    28
    30
See reviews for
26
38
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Mamchester
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, it was on the third floor with some pretty steep stairs didn't bother us too much but if you had bigger bags would be a pain. Positives, the location and wifi Negatives - we got to our room and it was quite large so we were happy but when i sat on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This bed and breakfast is in a very good location, which would suit a lot of people. The end of the airport tram line is a few minutes away. The room I was is was small and "tired" - reminded me of some of the small hotels I stayed in in London years ago, which had not been renovated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely little B&B Good Value for money £50 for 2 guests 1 night with continental breakfast Helpful friendly staff, explained how keys worked, breakfast times etc. We stayed in room 25 (Top Floor) more than adequate, Beautiful modern bathroom. Ideally situated near to centre of Edinburgh only short walk to Princes Street, plenty of Bars and shops nearby. Upon departure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel as my little sister stays a couple of doors up and I was down seeing her with my two sons aged 5 and 7. When we were first greeted at the hotel given our key and asked to pay remainder of the balance then told where room was after climbing 2 flights of difficult stairs without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pictures are not actually a true reflection of the hotel itself. On booking into the hotel the staff were fine but the room itself was actually not what I expected. It was very dark (ladies if you want to put make-up on this would not be possible)as there was only one light and a lamp in the room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

As we entered this hotel we were greeted and the process for grabbing the keys and paying the remaining balance was straight forward, we were told that breakfast was available in the morning. We were given the keys but they failed to mention that one was for the room and the other was for the front door which will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I was a bit hesitant to book this one earlier. but the pictures looked good and someone recommended it to me too, so I was a bit ok. Once I reached, this looked like a old heritage building just at entrance of a small street. The entrance is small but decent. Just what should be the minimum. the hotel does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

After reading some of the reviews i was a little worried so i packed fleecy blankets but we didn't need them. We stayed in a family room which had a queen bed and 3 singles and ensuite. We found the room to be decorated well and very specious. Put it this way my son thorughly enjoyed giving me heart palpatations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Regent House Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to let us know. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Booked last minute, on the day itself, location ideal for where we were going, room was small yes, but, beds were comfy enough, yes the stairs to the room are steep but nothing says they must have a lift, quiet enough, don't blame the hotel if there is no parking, they are not obliged to supply it ! breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scotland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 via mobile

I had booked this hotel to stay last minute with my family on 23 jan as we were going to see sound of music in the play house but tragically on the morning of 23rd a close member of my family passed away the hotel were unwilling to change the date of our stay and a refund was out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

After reading the conversation between the duty manager and you I can only say, that she explained you our cancellation policy and the reasons why we can't offer you a refund for last minute cancellations in a polite manner. She has the authority to act upon cancellations as it is expected from her, following the guidelines we use with every... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities