We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 441 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Glenalmond House

25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland (South Side)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Edinburgh Festival
Save Saved
You added Glenalmond House to your Saves list
Glenalmond House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
96%
Ranked #61 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Steve W Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (157)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
82
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a pleasant 2 days stay here. Very clean, very friendly and great breakfast. Handy for a walk or getting a bus into the centre and you can leave your car in the car park. Just one negative for us was the style of furniture in the room, as the size and shape of it meant we banged our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frederikssund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay with Fiona and Jimmy in their beautifully decorated house. Breakfast was scrumptious! The center of Edinburgh is within walking distance but the bus stop is just outside the house if necessary. We came by car and the address is easy to find. am already planning my next stay with the lovely couple!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A chance find (though we did check on Trip Advisor), a great B&B close-ish to the centre of town. A twenty five minute walk or a couple of minute by bus from just outside the house. We enjoyed just about all the options on the breakfast menu and they were all good, even if you did have to choose the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Glenalmond House - we really appreciate it, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. More

Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property's website and Rick Steves' recommendation easily convinced our travel party of four that the Glenalmond House should be our Edinburgh headquarters for five nights. Upon meeting our hosts, Fiona and Jimmy, we knew we had made the right the decision. We were welcomed at 11 AM from the airport and were surprised to find that our rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glenalmond House and that we were able to help in making your visit to Scotland special. More

South Lyon, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A terrific B&B with large rooms, comfy beds, great varied breakfast, and even a lounge to hang out in. We had 2 rooms as we have 3 teenagers and were just delighted with our stay. A short bus ride gets you into town where all the action and great pubs are located. A true gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Hi Linda, It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. See you next time More

Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've read many reviews of this B & B and had high hopes. Unfortunately, things didnt work out as I had hoped during my stay there. Rick Steves book recommended this place, as did tripadvisors reviewers. We just did not feel that this was a comfortable place to stay. For example, you need to order your breakfast the night before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Glenalmond House. We were upset to hear that your room was not as clean as you would have expected, as we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. We would have addressed it immediately if you had told us about it when you were here,... More

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Picked this guest house as it's fairly close to the Corn Exchange (as we were going to a concert) while not being too far from the city centre. We were made very welcome and were even presented with a map with bus timetables to help us get around. Our room was spotless, beautiful and comfortable. They even printed us off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you for the lovely review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Dromore. Co Down
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When the website used the words "delightful luxury accommodation" my mind instantly thought of a state of great elegance and comfort. Sadly with these expectations in mind I was badly disappointed. For classic double room read very small room with minimal space with big prices and an en-suite which is absolutely tiny. There was a space (hole) between the en-suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Glenalmond House, and you found the room you booked unsuitable. We work very hard to make all our rooms as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we take great pride in the quality of the rooms and furnishings, as well as the service we provide. It is... More

East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As you may have noticed, Edinburgh is not a cheap city to stay in. I came across this bed and breakfast in the Rick Steves guidebook and boy am I glad I did! It was such a cute place to stay and the room was so cute and fancy with a four poster bed decorated in a victorian style...as is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it and we are also very glad that you found us. More

Carmichael, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the Glenalmond House for 3 nights before joining a tour of Scotland. It is located in a very convenient area, busses run constantly on Mayfield Gardens. for 3.5 pounds you can get an all day pass and ride around to all of the important sites in Edinburgh. The room was nice, the bathroom modern, the bed comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Thanks for the review - much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your tour and have fallen in love with our beautiful country More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glenalmond House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;