We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caledonian Backpackers
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Caledonian Backpackers
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    28
    19
    26
See reviews for
2
32
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't even get to this hostel. I booked it in October 2014 for new years for myself and three friends. I saw it on Hostelworld.com, as a four bed dorm at £10 per person per night - thinking that was overly cheap I rang to confirm. I was told it was advertised wrong, it was their fault, but if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cork, County Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here with a big group, we stayed in a mixed dorm which worked out very well! The Hostel had everything I needed, a fine big kitchen, showers were lovely and the bar is great and opens literally whenever a few people are drinking which is perfect especially for our last night which was amazing. I met 2 other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hostel to fellow travellers. Judging by the website and the VERY EXPENSIVE prices over NYE, I was expecting a topnotch hostel with clean amenities, internet access, entertainment rooms and comfortable dorms. This is the reality: * The amenities were cleaned sporadically, and not thoroughly at all * The supposed cinema room is a storage room;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for the New Years celebrations of Mahogmany. So it might be understandable that things weren't up to scratch due to how busy it was. But there were no lights in the dorms so it made things very difficult especially when there is limited day light and they never seemed to have any toilet paper. Other than those two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! we apologise about the lights, Thanks to your feedback and when you stayed with us we have fixed the problem. We are so glad you had a great stay and new years! All the staff here had a great night up at our bar with all the guests.. There will always be room at the Caledonian... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beware the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. They are written by the staff and friends of the hostel. Quite obviously. Things that do not work: wifi, heating, laundry machines, some of the doors, toilet locks, the cleaners. Other crap things to note: there is 1 power point to share between 4-6 people in dorm rooms, staff are unhelpful and weird,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Kate, Im sorry your stay with us wasnt what you expected! We have taken serious notes from your review and we appreciate the feed back, we are in the process of making this place better for all! We hope you still enjoyed your new years. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I booked this place for one night having read the reviews and feeling a bit skeptical. I received a key card for my door which didn't actually shut properly anyway so didn't need the key. Bathrooms were far from clean and there was no atmosphere in the bar. My pillow was an old lumpy thing that I couldn't bare to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

We apologise your stay with us wasnt what you thought it would be. We have acknowledged your comment and we are in the process of fixing all these problems. We have just re-painted/ re-ferbed the bar area so it now has a great vibe and is very vibrant! We are also in the process of getting a new card/key system... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

i stayed in the caledonian for 3 nights this week , i would recommend this hostel to fellow travellers,for me it ticked all the right boxes, clean, friendly staff , central location ,suited my budget and the other guests were very friendly, i will come back in august , even just to see how they are getting on with their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate the reveiw and are glad you enjoyed your stay! please come back again and make more fun memories and enjoy our cheap bar again :) More 

Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I stayed at this hostel about two weeks ago and loved it! great location, Great staff and a great atmosphere! The rooms are nice sizes and i found the bed very comfortable.. very cheap drinks at the bar for pre drinks before heading out, also walking distance to clubs :) All round i had a great week in edinburgh and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This Hostel used to be a phenomenal place. And you'd still think so, if you read the descriptions on their website. However nearly everything they promise you either on Hostelworld or their website is simply not true anymore. Breakfast is not any more from 6 - 12 but now from 7 - 11. Instead of proper coffee you get some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

we apologise your stay with us wasnt a good one. Over the last month we have undergone lots of changes at Caledonian and we have fixed all the problems you mentioned. We have updated all our webpages and information on them, so they have all the correct info on them now. We are sorry the Wifi wasnt working when you... More 

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Don't be fooled by it's rating; this hostel is running on fumes from it's former reputation. The current management sees nothing but money, and will do anything to save a penny. Heating was set to a minimum, even though it's November and there are drafts all over the building. Light bulbs got broken and didn't get replaced, to save on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Ioannis Jack P, Front Office Manager at Caledonian Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for the review, we appreciate the feedback! im sorry your stay here wasnt enjoyable and you dont want to stay here again. We have taken your reveiw very seriously and in the last month we have fixed all the problems you have mentioned. We had someone come in to look at the interenet and its now up and running... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caledonian Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Backpackers

Address: 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Caledonian Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Caledonian Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
2:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (78)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay