We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 181 Edinburgh accommodations

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh EH7 4AL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #30 of 181 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Steph H
  • Overview
  • Reviews (158)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
11
43
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My partner and I booked a twin premier room for 2 nights as we had Commonwealth Games tickets in Glasgow. Our room was on the first floor facing the main road - the room was very warm and we couldn't have the windows open due to the noise. Prices in the bar / dining room very reasonable but I don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a little extra time on our study abroad program so a group decided to go to Edinburgh for the remaining time. We checked into this hostel in no time. My friend and I shared a private double bed room with ensuite bathroom. It was amazingly fresh and so cleanly. Compared to other hostels this felt more like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

10 minute walk from the train station, lots of restaurants nearby. Comfortable, clean, quiet. The staff is well-informed and very helpful. Fellow clients included bus groups, families. Restaurant on-site. Wifi a bit sketchy, probably due to so many young people trying to use it at the same time - better to sit in the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is overpriced and got very low comfort. You will be better of booking a room at a castle just a few km outside the city, or stay in guesthouse with friendly and nice atomosphere. Why? Keep reading. Beds - you migth be more comfy sleeping on the floor. The matresses was worn out and very, very thin. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

GisleAndre We are so sorry that your experience at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel was not what you had hoped for or what it should have been. We have very high standards at Edinburgh Central and if you feel we have not provided you with our own high standards, can you please get in touch with Janet our General Manager so... More

Bucks- UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for work and the service by the reception staff was second to none. The hostel is about 20 minutes from the town centre but is about 10 minutes from Edinburgh Playhouse, restaurants and bars. I shared a room with five other people in a dorm style- if you dont like sharing there are options for private rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

UvulaRoc What a lovely review from you, and all the team on the reception desk remember you also, thanks so much for posting your experience on here, very much appreciated and we hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thanks Lorna Padden More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

For a family room in an excellent central location (can walk from station). This is very good. However the room is basic (as in prison cell meets NHS interior design). Bed has foot board not good if 6ft+ and any extra such as wifi, or left luggage is charged for. A sense of meanness prevents this getting a higher rating,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Gavinblax Thanks for your feedback, its really important to us, so we can strive do do better. Really disappointed to read your comments on our room at Edinburgh Central, we are a Youth Hostel and they are designed to be fit for purpose but we havent ever heard of them being described like this before. Sorry. In terms of the... More

Fayetteville, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last summer with my daughter, who was six at the time. I can't say enough good things about the location, the friendly and helpful staff, or the facilities. The kitchen and laundry areas were clean and easy to use. The room was comfortable and pretty spacious, especially compared to the other places where we stayed on our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

engtchr77 We are happy that you have posted on your stay with us and that you enjoyed it and are recommending us to others. We really do listen to our guests, we cant always provide whats asked due to money restraints ( we are a not for profit organisation, so any money made is invested back into our network), but... More

Noida, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for two days last June along with friends on a backpacking trip to Scotland. Conveniently located at the heart of the city, Nice and clean rooms with decent size washrooms. Co-operative staff. Over all- good value for money option for people on shoestring budget, students and backpackers. They have few family rooms too. I am from India and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sanghamitra_B_J Thanks for posting your feedback, great to read that you were looked after by our team and that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. If they dont have a Youth Hostel like this in India, then you need to come back and visit us. Thanks again. Lorna Padden More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hostel appears totally functional and thoroughly renovated internally, so definitely not the kind of "characterful" building many British youth hostels are. Location is excellent, very close to the city center and Edinburgh main bus station. It is quite clean (which, not being a backpacker's, I take for granted) and has a very practical self-catering kitchen, so by and large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Muddysox Thanks for posting your feedback, we appreciate it, as we can use it to better ourselves. I am sorry to read that there were several problems experienced by yourself during your stay, be assured we have a full time maintenance engineer who does his very best to keep up with daily tasks, but as you can imagine in... More

Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Unfortunately this is one of the not so appealing hostels I've come across. The female showers and bathrooms were dirty and run down. The kitchen was pathetic for a hostel that size, I can't even remember seeing the oven! The rooms were dirty and dingy. The common room was small but okay. Location is pretty good, it's nice and central!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Elliteg Thank you very much for your recent review. Having read your review, I think that perhaps you have not stayed at our Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is a 5 star Youth Hostel on Haddington Place in Edinburgh where all our bedrooms are en-suite and we were recently graded with Visit Scotland and received 100%... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Address: 9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh EH7 4AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Youth Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Scotland

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 5 star Youth Hostel is located in the heart of the city, just a few minutes walk from Princes Street and the Royal Mile. Our Youth Hostel is stylish, modern and well equipped to suit the needs of single travellers, families and larger groups. Bedrooms range from single and twin through to 8-bedded rooms and all are en-suite. A licensed cafe and restaurant and self-catering facilities are available, giving plenty of choice for any budget. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
121

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer