We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain Court Apartments - Grove

121 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Despite booking a double, we received twin beds which is a little awkward as a married couple. It seemed we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom but the other room had 2 singles also. They reminded me of the kind of beds our parents had as children. Floors were creaky so we felt bad for the apartment below us. Washing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Fountain_Court, Digital Media Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Our sincerest apologies for the mix-up which resulted in you being allocated the wrong apartment. Your complaint has been passed on to our Operations Manager and is being dealt with internally. Best wishes, Susann Kruger More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Me and my family were completely satisfied with the apartment and the service. It was cozy, quiet, sufficient room for everyone and all of our stuff. It definitely was advantageous that we had a separate living room and kitchen. Would most certainly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank renawolf
Fountain_Court, Digital Media Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this delightful review. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great experience staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best wishes, Susann Kruger More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

I was attending an international conference in EICC (Edinburgh conference center). FCA was the nearest option for accomodations - only 10 minutes of slow walk (approximately 300 meters), wuth reasonable rates. I was ugraded from 1 to 2 bedroom appt. The appt turned to be small. It is covered with wall to wall carpets. Each of the 2 bedrooms had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iris Y
Fountain_Court, Digital Media Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank for providing us with valuable feedback. I am glad you have chosen to stay with us due to the proximity of our Fountain Court Grove Apartments to the EICC and good rates. We are sorry that you found our apartment to be small. However, they are suitable to comfortably accommodate the number of guests we advertise to be able... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015 via mobile

Decent place to stay in Edinburgh. Not very far from the city centre. We were a family of four and rooms/beds were comfortable. All utilities were working and sufficient. The two not-so-good experiences were - 1) Someone accidentally changed the room's heater settings to "cold" and as a result we were greeted by a cold room when we came back... More 

Helpful?
Thank chinmay491991
Fountain_Court, Operations Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at out Grove Apartments. I am glad that you appreciated the central location and apartment facilities. Please accept my apologies regarding the problems you experienced with the heating system, I have since discussed with our Housekeeping and Reception team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fountain Court in the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Uncomfortable beds and pillows, the floor boards creaked and the entire place needed a good clean up and repair and decoration. Not at all recommended. Only near Princes St , so used too many taxis to get there.

Helpful?
Thank hummer100
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team. at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay, we are unable to track what your booking was as this is a review through TripAdvisor, however had we been informed of these issues during your stay we would have looked to find a solution. Normally our apartments get high praise and we... More 

Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Honestly my son and I had a very positive experience. We arrived too early for check in...so they gave us parking pass so we could at least park our car in secure parking...then we just had a short walk to Grass market... We had a 2 bedroom apartment on ground floor....it was clean...spacious....well laid out with the 2 bedrooms...dining area...living... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edmund F
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team. at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. it is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful. We shall look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015 via mobile

For the price it was bearable (£400 for four people for two nights the last weekend of the Edinburgh Fringe) but the two bedroom apartment we stayed in was grimy and in real need of a clean up and decoration. The floor boards creaked really loudly and the beds were really uncomfortable. Only one dodgy foam pillow each was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
Fountain_Court, Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am sorry that your apartment was not to our usual high standard. I have since discussed your feedback with our Housekeeping and Facilities team to address your comments. We do have an ongoing bed replacement program and additional pillows are available on request from Housekeeping. I am glad that you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our short stay at Fountain Court. The accommodation is cute and clean and conveniently located to the attractions in Edinburgh. Had to pay 10 pounds extra a day for the use of the car park though but I guess it's cheaper than parking elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ghulam A
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us and found the location to be convenient for exploring the city. We do offer secure parking at a competitive rate for the city. We shall look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Colin... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

All staff were very pleasant and went above and beyond. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom in particular was modern and clean. Would definitely stay again, particularly because of how easy the staff made it to check in, check out, keep bags for us etc.

Helpful?
Thank Varmstrong056
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court Team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and how easy check in was made for you. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh. Best regards, Colin Mackay, Fountain Court Team. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

I will not be staying here again, nor will I be recommending this place to anyone either! Shoddy service from the word go! Charged a further £10 parking fee to park within the grounds of the appartments, and also a further £100 taken from bank account during our stay as a deposit (which takes 10 days to be refunded!!)- yet... More 

Helpful?
Thank shannon g
Fountain_Court, Fountain_Court at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The rate booked was the non-refundable rate which does require to be paid on booking. We do take a pre-authorisation during check-in which is standard procedure throughout the industry and is for any telephone calls made during your stay, lost keys,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Morrison
West End
Staycity Serviced Apartments West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay